Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Nuts, saddles : Special tools for: Nuts and saddles : Nut Slotting Gauge

Nut Slotting Gauge


Read 69 Reviews   |   Write a Review

A revolution in guitar setup! Precisely measures string heights, so you can cut accurate nut slots for consistent playability.

See details below

Email a friend
Nut Slotting Gauge

Play video

 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
2003 For guitar and most instruments Yes
$59.94

2006 For bass Yes
$68.47


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Neck Relief Gauge and Nut Slotting Gauge Set



String Lifter



Double-edge Nut Files



String Action Gauge



String Spacing Rule



Neck Relief Gauge and Nut Slotting Gauge Set
String Lifter
Double-edge Nut Files
String Action Gauge
String Spacing Rule



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Instructions
This device that will revolutionize the way you set up a guitar.
The Nut Slotting Gauge quickly and precisely measures string heights over the first fret. When filing nut slot depths, you see your results more accurately than ever before. No more guesswork or "eyeballing" the string heights, and no more searching for elusive combinations of feeler gauges. You can custom-tailor the playability with consistent, repeatable results.

At last! A precision tool for establishing string heights!


The Nut Slotting Gauge was designed by Don MacRostie here in our R & D shop. It features an easy to read dial indicator with adjustable zero point, and it's super accurate to .001". The machined brass base fits over the strings to rest on the fingerboard, and it works with most acoustic and electric guitars, mandolins and banjos. A larger brass base is machined to fit bass string spacings. Both have gently arched bottoms to follow most any fretboard radius. Instructions are included.

The Nut Slotting Gauge is included in this money-saving set:
Nut Slotting Gauge and Neck Relief Gauge Set


Putting the new Nut Slotting Gauge to work on a "burn victim" guitar
A new nut on a "burn victim" guitar
Putting the new Nut Slotting Gauge to work on a "burn victim" guitar Read more

In this issue:
Dan Erlewine shows a before and after of a 1958 Gibson that’s (barely) survived a house fire. It needs a new nut, and he’s using the Nut Slotting Gauge to get it right the first time.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Nut Slotting Gauge
Nut Slotting Gauge
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 69 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  ...  7 >
4 2-15-2014
Good idea!

Boy, does this rig save a lot of time. Not only is it good for slotting nuts, I use it over the whole neck to see what's going on. Now if only it would work with the guitar in the playing position for a little more accuracy.

Cadillac Al  Manitoba
5 2-12-2014
Essential Must Have

Love this gauge and I've gotten to the point I would hate to be without it. Use it for not only nut measurements, but relief, string height, etc. Seems like they should be more durable, or at least fixable. But again, this is my go-to for setups and adjustments. Love it!

Tim Nolte  Chesapeake Beach, MD
5 1-17-2014
Nut slotting gauge

This gauge makes the job so much easier. I have found that pushing down on the stem works well with repeatable results.

Jas  Florida
5 1-12-2014
Easy enough, even for a Novice

I'm a Novice repairman, not in any way a professional repairman, that I know comes with years of experience, but this device makes it easy enough that even I can set the nut the way I want it..with more accuracy,, a lot easier than feeler guages.. Good Product

Tmc  Trinity Ala Read my reviews (5)
5 1-11-2014
Multi tasker must have

I saw a tech using this tool at my local guitar shop (Quinns Music) and I immediately knew I needed one in my tool kit.. I use it for setup as well and I can now duplicate my fav on all my strats.. Great tool

ZD  Big Rapids, Mi Read my reviews (2)
4 11-22-2013
Good tool

It's a good tool

Fredpistacchio  Sparks, NV Read my reviews (2)
2 11-15-2013
Nut Slotting Guage

I tried to use my nut slotting gauge to file the nut slots on my Strat to the correct depth, one thing I noticed was that the accuracy was a bit out, I discovered this by using the gauge to file a string slot so that there was 0.018" clearance between the top of the first fret and the string, then I used a 0.018"-thick feeler gauge blade to check, the string clearance was actually more than the feeler gauge, as far as I knew, I was using the nut slotting gauge correctly, also the dial being marked back-to-front makes it hard to read so you need to do some mental gymnastics to interpret the reading.

Simon K  Darwin NT Australia
5 10-21-2013
Stew-Mac Nut Slotting Gauge, two thumbs up!

The Stew-Mac nut slotting gauge is an awesome tool for dialing in the exact string height your after. I run 13-56's on all my guitars, (regardless of scale length) for all my standard E & Drop D tunings. With the gauge and a set of nut files, I can set my string height exactly where I want it (15/1,000th). The gauge couldn't be easier to use. It didn't scratch, ding or leave the slightest mark on my fretboards. I highly recommend this tool for anyone who runs heavier than 10's, and enjoys doing their own work.

Rory  Youngwood, PA
4 9-03-2013
Great Tool!

Worked great! Wish I would have had this long ago. No more feeler gauges. Took the time to measure all of my instruments that played great and now I can see why. I'm now in the process of adjusting the action on my other guitars. Not sure why others have had a problem with the dial reading backwards. Just count it off as you push down on the string, 10, 20, 23. Sure the dial reads 77, but who cares, just count. And yes, if you take three readings you will get a variation of .001 to .002, but then you are not building a rocket, this is close enough.

Fred I  Virginia Read my reviews (5)
5 7-06-2013
simplified elegance

elegant , well engineered tool. No more fumbling around with feeler gauges and the fly by night, guessing game action set up. 40 years of running by "feel" is over thanks to this fine tool. I am happy!!

LJKelso  Bakersfield, Ca.
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  ...  7 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 18 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce