Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Nuts, saddles : Special tools for: Nuts and saddles : Nut Seating Files

Nut Seating Files


Read 31 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Sturdy files for cleaning and squaring nut mounting surfaces. They file only the bottom of the slot, leaving the side walls unscarred.

See details below

Email a friend
Nut Seating Files
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5055 For 1/8" wide nut Yes
$20.95

5056 For 3/16" wide nut Yes
$23.10

5057 For 1/4" wide nut Yes
$36.57

5060 Set of 3 SAVE $8.86 Yes
$71.27


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Bleached White Bone Nuts



Dan Erlewines Fretting Series



String Spacing Rule



Dan Erlewines Nut Making Step-By-Step



Pillar File

Bleached White Bone Nuts
Dan Erlewine's Fretting Series
String Spacing Rule
Dan Erlewine's Nut Making Step-By-Step
Pillar File



Details
 Pictures
Articles
These files have fine and medium cutting surfaces.

Sold individually or SAVE when you buy the set of all three files.

Each file is 7-3/8" (187.33mm) long, with 4" (101.60mm) cutting surfaces and a rubber-coated handle. To keep the file from binding in the slot, we have designed these files to be slightly narrower than the nut size specified. An undersized file also helps to prevent widening the slot width—ensuring a snug fit for your nut.

5055 For 1/8" (3.18mm) wide nut Works for Fender® guitars and basses
5056 For 3/16" (4.76mm) wide nut Works for Gibson® guitars, basses, banjos, and mandolins
5057 For 1/4" (6.35mm) wide nut Works for classical and Dobro® guitars


/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Nut Seating Files
Nut Seating Files
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 31 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  4 >
4 4-04-2012
Decent

They work great, I just feel that they are a little pricey.

Bearded Moose Guitars  Blue Ridge, SC Read my reviews (6)
5 2-10-2012
Fantasic!

Used the 1/4" nut seating file to install an LSR Roller nut in an american standard strat, the job came out so sweet it looks like it came strait from fender, the customer was blown away. Thanks Stew-Mac

Radius  Pottstown, Pa
5 1-11-2012
Perfect for the Job.

Last year I purchased a ton of tools from S.M. and so far I'm very happy with most of them including this file. Dont hesitate in buying this tool. Works great.

CJORDISON  NORWALK, CA Read my reviews (10)
5 12-25-2011
Nut Seating Files

Excellent one, thanks a lot StewartMac!

Arturo Civit  FL, Hollywood, USA
5 12-17-2011
Essential Tools!

Gotta have these if you're serious about saving time!

Wilmer Gingerich  Jamesport MO Read my reviews (76)
5 12-09-2011
New nut install

These files save time and money when replacing the low end metric plastic nuts in foreign made guitars, converting to standard size nuts that are available at Stewart Mac. Thanks for providing a great selection of high quality tools and parts.

Marksp  Harper, KS Read my reviews (6)
5 11-06-2011
5056 slightly small.

First time I felt the file is too thin, because the file is 4mm, but good size.

Delete away old glues!
Valuable tool, must have it.

drinkbarmits  Tokyo, JAPAN Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
4 10-24-2011
Fitting a nut..Nut Seating Files

These files make fitting a nut a breeze. Especially, when removing old glue of the previous nut. Also,they help to prepare fretboard wood for re-glueing. IE-- they create a nice level surface.

M. Thomas Mike's Guitar Works  Manchester,TN Read my reviews (5)
4 9-01-2011
You'll need more than patience if you dont have 'em

Those are perfect to correct others' (and yours as well) mistakes. They do a neat job on cleaning caked glue on nut slots.

David Bohorquez  Maracaibo, Venezuela Read my reviews (7)
5 8-02-2011
Très bien

Cela fait partie des outils à avoir dans son atelier!

Luthier du dimanche  La Bridoire - France Read my reviews (11)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 16 of our latest catalog.


Dobro® is a registered trademark of Gibson Guitar Corporation.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce