Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Nuts, saddles : Special tools for: Nuts and saddles : Gauged Saws

Gauged Saws


Read 60 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Quickly rough-in new slots with these low-profile saws, and save your nut files to refine the depth and width.

See details below

Email a friend
Gauged Saws
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3600 All 5 saws SAVE $5.00 Yes
$39.90

3594 0.030" (0.76mm) Yes
$8.98

3599 0.025" (0.64mm) Yes
$8.98

3598 0.020" (0.51mm) Yes
$8.98

3597 0.015" (0.38mm) Yes
$8.98

3596 0.010" (0.25mm) Yes
$8.98


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Nut Slotting Gauge



Essential Nut Making Tool Kit



Bleached White Bone Nuts



String Spacing Rule



Mitchell Abrasive Cord



Nut Slotting Gauge
Essential Nut Making Tool Kit
Bleached White Bone Nuts
String Spacing Rule
Mitchell Abrasive Cord



Details
 Pictures
Articles
Handy for trimming nuts, saddles, bridge blanks, violin pegs and other small parts, too.

Each saw has a 5" x 7/16" (127mm x 11.11mm) steel blade with 22 teeth per inch, and a comfortable turned wooden handle.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Gauged Saws
Gauged Saws
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 60 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 51 – 60 < 1  ...  4  5  6
5 1-28-2011
High Quality

Very high quality tool. Well worth the price.

Quiet Bear  Hillsboro, OR Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-04-2011
A Winner

Why didn't I invent these saws? Makes the job of nut replacement fast and easy. A pleasure to use.

GOA Guitars  Bris Australia Read my reviews (10)
5 11-26-2010
perfect

Exactly what I needed. Works for more than just nut slotting. awesome tool

Johnny Star  Napa, CA Read my reviews (4)
5 11-24-2010
Made quick work of my nut

This was my first nut job, these tools made it flawless & easy.

Jake M  Long Beach, NY Read my reviews (2)
5 10-30-2010
Good value saws

If you keep'em oiled, and reserved to lightweight jobs, as they're intended to, they'll last a lifetime. I like these saws for nut and saddle work. I can cut gauged notches for each string.
Veneer cutting and straight precision cuts, like neck joints are easily done with these saws.

Marcio Costa  Brasil Read my reviews (37)
5 10-13-2010
Best saws I ever used

These saws are the best I have ever used. They have made my work of restoring Violins a bit easier and a lot more fun. I truly enjoy using them in my work.

MultipleViolinOwner  Broomfield, Colorado
5 9-21-2010
Gauged Saws

A really handy set of gauged saws which allows for accurate initial cutting of nut slots and more! Highly recommended.

Alex Earle  Hebburn, UK. Read my reviews (4)
4 9-09-2010
Ok but the teeth are pretty deep...

Works well to make the initial slot if I use a guard of some sort like stacked feller gauges so I don't go too deep.

Joe Dowd  Edwall, WA Read my reviews (8)
5 8-28-2010
.020" saw is a must-have

I use the .020 saw to cut fret slots, it is my favorite saw for cutting my own fret slots by hand. I've tried other saws, and they made a slot too wide. I also use this saw to clean slots out after using a radius sanding block on the fretboard.

Mudbug765  Hartford City, IN Read my reviews (13)
5 7-30-2010
Wow

I bought the 0.010" (0.25mm) one because i needed a saw with the thinnest blade possible to make fine cuts. I do not use it for the nuts but I use it for all the cuts where I don't want to remove too much material. You must have it

Capu  Switzerland Read my reviews (33)
Displaying 51 – 60 < 1  ...  4  5  6 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 16 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce