Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Nuts, saddles : Special tools for: Nuts and saddles : Gauged Nut Slotting Files

Gauged Nut Slotting Files


Read 187 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Our tempered edge-cut nut files produce round-bottom slots, to ensure that the strings seat properly in the nut without buzzing.

See details below

Email a friend
Gauged Nut Slotting Files

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0821 0.010" width Yes
$12.95

0823 0.013" width Yes
$12.95

0827 0.016" width Yes
$12.95

0828 0.020" width Yes
$12.95

0829 0.024" width Yes
$12.95

0830 0.028" width Yes
$12.95

0831 0.032" width Yes
$12.95

0832 0.035" width Yes
$12.95

0833 0.042" width Yes
$12.95

5313 0.046" width Yes
$12.95

0834 0.050" width Yes
$12.95

0835 0.056" width Yes
$12.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Gauged Nut Slotting Files for Bass



Nut Slotting Gauge



Dan Erlewines Nut Making Step-By-Step



String Spacing Rule



Bleached White Bone Nuts



Gauged Nut Slotting Files for Bass
Nut Slotting Gauge
Dan Erlewine's Nut Making Step-By-Step
String Spacing Rule
Bleached White Bone Nuts



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Articles
Each chrome-alloy steel file has twin 4" cutting edges. Among our most popular tools, these professional files help you get the job done quickly and correctly.

What files do I need?
Choose nut slotting files that are the same size or no more that a few thousands larger than your individual string gauges. A smaller file can also be rocked side-to-side to widen a slot to the desired size. For example, you can cut a .043" slot with a .042" file by moving it around a bit.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 187 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6  ...  19 >
5 5-18-2013
Great tools

Great tools; do exactly what they are designed for. Tried using rotary tools in the past for this job. Don't even try. These files do the job perfectly, with much more control and precision.

oneofthejonesboys  Nebraska
5 5-02-2013
Great tool

Stew Mac has the best tools to keep your guitar in top notch shape.

Rick W  Long Island NY Read my reviews (3)
5 4-27-2013
Great!

Cuts straight and fast. I don't like Double-edge Nut Files from Stewmac, but this is great tool.

Andrew Vaganov  Russia, Ul'yanovsk Read my reviews (3)
5 4-25-2013
Work very well

I used these to slot the saddles on my 2 Les Paul guitars. If you replace your bridge and/or saddles, you will need to order a set of these matching your string sizes. These work well on saddles also. I have even used them on titanium saddles and they worked just fine.

pdroller  USA Read my reviews (2)
5 4-17-2013
great files

I've purchased these over the years. Two files were dull quickly. Probably from bad batch and Stewmac Customer Service sent me replacements. kudos for the services and the files.

Ben B  Jakarta Read my reviews (3)
5 4-06-2013
Right tools for the job

After trying everything including a fingernail file, I bit the bullet and ordered a set. The right tools sure make a difference from the initial cutting of the slots to touch ups later. String buzzing is now a thing of the past, thanks!

Ron Brown  Rapid City, South Dakota Read my reviews (19)
5 4-05-2013
It's a file

Cuts straight and fast.

wm 
Customer supplied image for review
4 3-20-2013
Thanks

It's impossible to file a slot for an .011 gauge string with a .012 gauge file. Thanks for making all of these sizes available

Fleer  Imperial, Mo. Read my reviews (29)
5 3-19-2013
Great tool

Has helped us in the workshop with a lot of fine tuning jobs.Thanks Stewart Mac

Richard c/-Thomos Guitar&Music  Australia Read my reviews (2)
4 3-16-2013
Great but be careful

These are nice quality files and do the job great. I'm a newbie so learn from my mistake: make sure you cut a wider slot than your string. As I was filing away and checking string height, I didn't realize the string wasn't seating all the way into the new slot. I ended up filing three of my slots way too deep. I found out days later when the strings finally worked their way all the way down. I've learned to rock the file side-to-side more than I anticipated.

JT McGuire  Los Angeles Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6  ...  19 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 16 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce