Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Nuts, saddles : Special tools for: Nuts and saddles : Gauged Nut Slotting Files

Gauged Nut Slotting Files


Read 186 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Our tempered edge-cut nut files produce round-bottom slots, to ensure that the strings seat properly in the nut without buzzing.

See details below

Email a friend
Gauged Nut Slotting Files

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0821 0.010" width Yes
$12.95

0823 0.013" width Yes
$12.95

0827 0.016" width Yes
$12.95

0828 0.020" width Yes
$12.95

0829 0.024" width Yes
$12.95

0830 0.028" width Yes
$12.95

0831 0.032" width Yes
$12.95

0832 0.035" width Yes
$12.95

0833 0.042" width Yes
$12.95

5313 0.046" width Yes
$12.95

0834 0.050" width Yes
$12.95

0835 0.056" width Yes
$12.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Gauged Nut Slotting Files for Bass



Nut Slotting Gauge



Dan Erlewines Nut Making Step-By-Step



String Spacing Rule



Bleached White Bone Nuts



Gauged Nut Slotting Files for Bass
Nut Slotting Gauge
Dan Erlewine's Nut Making Step-By-Step
String Spacing Rule
Bleached White Bone Nuts



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Articles
Each chrome-alloy steel file has twin 4" cutting edges. Among our most popular tools, these professional files help you get the job done quickly and correctly.

What files do I need?
Choose nut slotting files that are the same size or no more that a few thousands larger than your individual string gauges. A smaller file can also be rocked side-to-side to widen a slot to the desired size. For example, you can cut a .043" slot with a .042" file by moving it around a bit.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 186 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  ...  19 >
5 7-26-2013
Gets the job done right!

How did I ever live without these?

tracer03  Minnesota
5 7-24-2013
Nut & Saddle files

Easy work with these files...

Aris  Athens, GREECE Read my reviews (2)
4 7-12-2013
Nice cuts

I ordered a set of these, which they don't seem to offer anymore. It's a good set, though I did snap one off on the very first use. It is still useable, though. With the thinner ones, you have to be very careful not to focus all your cutting force on a small area of the file. Use the whole length. That's what I've learned. Anyway, a nice set to have. They cut quickly and make nice round bottoms. Widening the Slot can be a bit tricky.

Joshua Allen  Urbana, IL Read my reviews (6)
5 7-12-2013
Nut files

They cut a perfectly shaped string slot every time!
Much more accurate and repeatable than the small diamond files I was using before.

Rick Gunn  Cumming, Ga Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
2 6-30-2013
Nut files

files were a little flimsy,hard to manage,,,not worth the money I paid

Dick Fox  Clifty Ar. Read my reviews (2)
StewMac responds

Dick Fox,
Thank you for your order. We're sorry you were unhappy with the Gauged Nut Slotting Files. We offer a 100% guarantee; if any item fails to meet your expectations, you may return it, unaltered, for a refund or exchange.

5 6-21-2013
Great Product

If you are thinking about making your own nut or modifying a "finished" nut, don't even bother using anything else. Ruined several trying a variety standard wood working tools. Ordered the gauged nut slotting files and got it perfect the first time!

STLong  Cleveland, Oh
5 6-14-2013
Excellent Files..

Works perfect and cut very well.. Not to aggressive that they cut to fast.. Followed the tips from here about using feeler gauges as depth stop it worked perfect...

T Jones  Chester, MT Read my reviews (39)
Customer supplied image for review
4 6-07-2013
nut &Saddle Files

very nice files look well made the only thing is I wish there were more string diameters to choose from

ROGER BARRETT  SAN MARTIN, CA. Read my reviews (9)
4 5-25-2013
The Best files you can get.

I got this new set of files. While the teeth of these files seems a little rough at first, I believe they will break in nicely and hopefully last as long as my old set.

toothinahnd  Santa Fe, New Mexico Read my reviews (2)
5 5-18-2013
Great tools

Great tools; do exactly what they are designed for. Tried using rotary tools in the past for this job. Don't even try. These files do the job perfectly, with much more control and precision.

oneofthejonesboys  Nebraska
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  ...  19 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 16 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce