Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Nuts, saddles : Special tools for: Nuts and saddles : Gauged Nut Slotting Files

Gauged Nut Slotting Files


Read 187 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Our tempered edge-cut nut files produce round-bottom slots, to ensure that the strings seat properly in the nut without buzzing.

See details below

Email a friend
Gauged Nut Slotting Files

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0821 0.010" width Yes
$12.95

0823 0.013" width Yes
$12.95

0827 0.016" width Yes
$12.95

0828 0.020" width Yes
$12.95

0829 0.024" width Yes
$12.95

0830 0.028" width Yes
$12.95

0831 0.032" width Yes
$12.95

0832 0.035" width Yes
$12.95

0833 0.042" width Yes
$12.95

5313 0.046" width Yes
$12.95

0834 0.050" width Yes
$12.95

0835 0.056" width Yes
$12.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Gauged Nut Slotting Files for Bass



Nut Slotting Gauge



Dan Erlewines Nut Making Step-By-Step



String Spacing Rule



Bleached White Bone Nuts



Gauged Nut Slotting Files for Bass
Nut Slotting Gauge
Dan Erlewine's Nut Making Step-By-Step
String Spacing Rule
Bleached White Bone Nuts



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Articles
Each chrome-alloy steel file has twin 4" cutting edges. Among our most popular tools, these professional files help you get the job done quickly and correctly.

What files do I need?
Choose nut slotting files that are the same size or no more that a few thousands larger than your individual string gauges. A smaller file can also be rocked side-to-side to widen a slot to the desired size. For example, you can cut a .043" slot with a .042" file by moving it around a bit.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 187 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 121 – 130 < 1  ...  12  13  14  ...  19 >
5 11-04-2011
Glad I Got These Files

I have a $100 acoustic guitar, and I didn't want to spend a fortune on tools, but I also wanted the job to go well, so I followed Dan Erlewine's advice in Guitar Player Repair Guide and got the .016", .024" and .035" size nut slotting files, along with a .012" X-Acto saw. I used feeler gauges to keep from filing too deep. The files worked great but I did put a scratch the peghead, so make sure the round end of the file is the one closest to the peghead.

Also, in spite of all my precautions, I filed too deep on a few slots, so have super glue handy. I didn't have any bone dust or baking powder, so instead I used a powdered white vitamin pill along with the super glue. When the filing was done, I rubbed some pencil graphite in the slot.

Slip'ry Dan Weisberg  San Jose, CA Read my reviews (6)
4 11-04-2011
Fret Files

Pretty good files. They are made out of spring steel simular to hack saw blades, so that are nore like saw blades then files. You need to be careful with the thin ones so you dont bend or snap the thin ones.

They do very good cuts cuts on nuts or saddles though. They do cut fast so definately use feeler gauges in front of the nut to limit the depth of the cut.

I used primative file and converted feeler gauges for cutting nuts for many decades. Its nice having some pro files for doing pro work.

Will Roger Gary  Houston
5 11-02-2011
Great for a luthier's tool box

Excellent files for bass nut work. Makes setup a breeze.

praisegig  Texas Read my reviews (2)
4 10-31-2011
Good files!

These files do a very fine job! I suggest you score your string locations with a fine saw (.010 gauge works for me) before applying the files to slot work. It will keep them from slipping when starting. I checked their thicknesses with a micrometer and they were pretty spot on! (give or take a thousandth, not enough to make a difference) My only complaint is that they are fragile (I snapped a .013) due to their semi brittle material (that is why they stay sharp!) and they are pricey for such a small piece of metal.

J C S  Read my reviews (6)
5 10-29-2011
Best Tool For The job

I only ordered these gauged nut files on the 20/10/2011 and they arrived today, top marks for service. I purchased these files to complete a setup on my 1973 American Strat that had a split nut, after a great deal of contemplation I decided to replace the standard nut with an Earvana compensated nut. As was to be expected when I fitted the Earvana nut the action was far too high, although this was disappointing it was far better being too high than too low. I have now very accurately re-cut the nut and I am pleased to say that with the aid of these very high quality files my strat is now playing in tune for the first time since I purchased it in 1973.

I will still reserve judgment until I have played it long term, but initial results on my Peterson tuner indicate that the guitar is playing in tune right up to the twelfth fret apart from some 6 positions of minor -1% flats. Prior to changing the nut there was hardly a place below the 8th fret where the strings were in tune as they were mostly all sharp, so as I say the nut is doing what it is supposed to do. I only wish that when I ordered the files I had also ordered the “Nut Slotting Gauge” at the same time as I had forgotten how time consuming it was to set up a nut with the standard feeler gauge method. I could have saved a lot of time and been more accurate with the Nut Slotting Gauge, I will have to put it on my wish list. The nut files that I purchased are as near as possible to my preferred string gauge i.e. 0010, 0013, 0016, 0024, 0035 and 0046”, they are very fast at removing the required material and are a precision tool of excellent quality and very good value.

M Dawes  South Shields, England Read my reviews (13)
Customer supplied image for review
5 10-21-2011
Great tools, but I need ONE more . . .

These are fantastic. Good length, cut quickly & cleanly, just a perfect, simple tool. Now how about a .125 (it's an eighth!) so I can cut some low B slots on a 5-string bass nut?

Steve Combs  Littleton, Colorado Read my reviews (6)
4 10-01-2011
gotta have em

wouldnt do a nut job without them,but how about bringing out some more thicknesses to choose from so any size string can have that perfect slot size?

sherman stockton  indiana Read my reviews (19)
5 9-27-2011
Nut files

These are a necessity for anyone who sets up guitars.

carlton wilkinson  victoria, tx Read my reviews (27)
5 9-26-2011
A must have for notching saddles.

These nut slotting files are precise, durable, and efficient. Having these files made the job of custom notching tune-o-magic bridge saddles a breeze!

Velvet bulldozer  Seattle, wa Read my reviews (2)
4 9-24-2011
Nut files, nutcase

Nutcase because I could have saved myself a lot of effort and frustration if I had simply purchased these years ago instead of fluffing around with needle files!
Needle(es) to say that these work great for E A D G on 4 string bass, but one for the low B would be helpful in the future.

Tonemannz  Auckland New Zealand Read my reviews (5)
Displaying 121 – 130 < 1  ...  12  13  14  ...  19 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 16 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce