Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Nuts, saddles : Special tools for: Nuts and saddles : Feeler Gauges

Feeler Gauges


Read 10 Reviews   |   Write a Review

A set of 6" x 1/2" steel gauges that allow precision filing of nut slot depths.

See details below

Email a friend
Feeler Gauges
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1811 Feeler Gauges Yes
$28.75


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Safe Slot Nut Guard



Nut Slotting Gauge



Double-edge Nut Files



Gauged Nut Slotting Files



Dan Erlewines Fretting Series



Safe Slot Nut Guard
Nut Slotting Gauge
Double-edge Nut Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Dan Erlewine's Fretting Series



Details
 Pictures
Articles
Instructions
Simply stack the appropriate gauges on the fingerboard, against the front edge of the string nut, and file the nut slot down to the top of the stack.

These gauges are also useful for checking string-to-fret clearances and fret slot width, for hardware installation work, and for setting up shop tools.

Gauges include .016", .018", .020", .022", .024", .026", .028", .030", .032", .034" and .040" thicknesses.

The Feeler Gauges are included in the Essential Nut Making Tool Kit, which has all the basic tools you'll need for shaping, string-spacing, slotting and fitting string nuts like a pro.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Feeler Gauges
Feeler Gauges
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 10 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10
3 7-18-2013
Needs smaller sizes

Well made and useful, but needs to have smaller sizes so it can be used to measure neck relief and action.

StephenA  NJ Read my reviews (3)
5 1-03-2013
Great Tool

i wish I purchased these years ago. They make nut work much easier!

Adams Guitars  Wisconsin Read my reviews (20)
5 12-06-2012
Feeler gauges

Very good and useful tool,but some (gauges under 0.016 should be welcom .(action ,relief measuring too)

JJ Blues  CAUVIGNY FRANCE Read my reviews (10)
5 12-17-2011
Essential Tool!

Quality feeler gauge.

Wilmer Gingerich  Jamesport MO Read my reviews (76)
5 11-09-2011
high quality gauges

Not much to say. They are well made and everything you would expect from StewMac.

dsteiner  Mechanicsburg, PA Read my reviews (9)
4 3-13-2011
Great

If only the sizes got small enough to check action and relief this would be perfect.

Not Square  Mountain View, CA Read my reviews (9)
5 1-29-2011
gauges

Absolutely the best,perfect intonation achieved, and no more buzzing cause I cut too deep! Thanks

Steve R  Spring,Tx Read my reviews (26)
5 10-17-2010
Feeler Gauges

Its e good Tool!!!

Beat Stüssi  Baar, Switzerland Read my reviews (2)
5 9-15-2010
Great quality, wish there were more sizes available

This set of feeler gauges is very well made and should last forever. The sizes are clearly marked.
I do wish there were smaller sizes available. I had to order an automotive set from another dealer because I like my relief to be around .010 and these just don't do down that far.

James Finnerty  ROCKville, MD Read my reviews (13)
5 9-01-2010
Mandatory Item for Many Applications

This is a required adjunct to a 6" steel rule with 1/64th spacing increments. It's a "must-have" for so many contexts.

Amplikat  Fresno, CA Read my reviews (4)
Displaying 1 – 10 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 19 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce