Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Nuts, saddles : Special tools for: Nuts and saddles : Double-edge Nut Files

Double-edge Nut Files


Read 75 Reviews   |   Write a Review

The most durable and efficient nut-slotting files available. Specially designed for nut slotting, each file cuts two different width slots.

See details below

Email a friend
Double-edge Nut Files
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4541 0.012" / 0.020" Yes
$25.45

4542 0.026" / 0.032" Yes
$25.45

4543 0.036" / 0.042" Yes
$25.45

4544 0.050" / 0.060" Yes
$25.45

4545 0.075" / 0.090" Yes
$25.45

4546 0.105" / 0.120" Yes
$25.45

4547 Set of 6 SAVE $11.72 Yes
$140.98


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Nut Slotting Gauge



String Spacing Rule



Gauged Saws



Dan Erlewines Nut Making Step-By-Step



Essential Nut Making Tool Kit



Nut Slotting Gauge
String Spacing Rule
Gauged Saws
Dan Erlewine's Nut Making Step-By-Step
Essential Nut Making Tool Kit



Details
 Pictures
Articles
Each 9/16" x 7-5/8" (14.29mm x 193.67mm) steel file cuts on the edges only, and tapers from the center to a different thickness on each cutting edge. The set of six files does the work of twelve!

Sold individually or SAVE when you buy the set of all six files.

Rubber-coated handles give firm, comfortable control for the job. The complete set includes edge widths for filing round-bottom nut slots on most stringed instruments, including basses. Each file's cutting edge is approximately 3-7/8" (98.43mm) long.

What files do I need?
Choose nut slotting files that are the same size or no more that a few thousands larger than your individual string gauges. A smaller file can also be rocked side-to-side to widen a slot to the desired size. For example, you can cut a .043" slot with a .042" file by moving it around a bit.

The most popular Double-edge Nut Files are included in the Essential Nut Making Tool Kit, which has all the basic tools you'll need for shaping, string-spacing, slotting and fitting string nuts like a pro.

Tip: Customize your files
We recommend that you mark on each side of your files so while working you can quickly tell the different gauge of cut.

Here's how: make a cut on a scrap piece of bone or wood with both sides of the nut file, then measure the width of each cut with feeler gauges to determine which side is which. Guitar strings of known gauges will also work as measuring tools in a pinch.

Once you have determined the proper edge, mark the file accordingly with a permanent marker.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Double-edge Nut Files
Double-edge Nut Files
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 75 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 61 – 70 < 1  ...  6  7  8 >
5 3-06-2011
Double edge nut files

I bought all of the nut files and they are awesome,, they do the job well and make it very easy to determine the width of the slots.

Great product,very worth the price.
They are well made, and will last a long time as long as one takes care of them by putting them away after each use.

svisio  san francisco california Read my reviews (2)
3 3-03-2011
good tools, not enough sizes

These work great, if you don't need to cut a nut slot for a .016" string. The taper is too steep on these to simply rock the .012" to get a good fit for a .016" string. You inevitably end up with a slot that's too loose. This problem would be solved if they started selling the .016" double edge file again, or made the taper a little shallower on the .012".

Nate Clark  Ithaca, NY Read my reviews (12)
Customer supplied image for review
4 2-09-2011
Double edge nut file

Works great for me on a Tenor Banjo. I can get very accurate with the two sizes I have, then very close to right for the next two by using side pressure for the wider strings.

Mitch  Nerw Berlin Read my reviews (9)
5 1-21-2011
The double edge of a nut file

I own a Stevie Ray Strat, and to get the Stevie Ray sound I changed to a heavier gauge string. I went from about a 42 for e-bass and 9 on e-treble string to a 56 e-bass and a 13 e-treble string. Changing to heavier gauge strings caused the action to be too high. The problem was, the strings were too large to sit in the nut string space. I use the nut files to enlarge the string nut space. Having a file for each string space on the nut, made the job of enlarging the nut spaces a simple straight forward process--They worked superbly

LastNote  Spanaway,WA
4 1-15-2011
Suggestion to further improve a great tool!

I simply LOVE your double-edge nut files! I use them in my shop every day. I'm a bit sorry though, that the smallest is now a .012"-.020". I really miss that .016" from before. But do you know what I would really like? That both gauges would be marked on the handle or on the file itself. You see: on some files, both sides look almost identical. This makes it hard to determine the right gauge for the slot. Now that would turn a GREAT tool into a PERFECT tool...

Marc Terreur - Marcus Guitars & Basses - luthier  Sint-Niklaas, Belgium Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
4 1-02-2011
good files, ok deal

These files work very well but like all files of this shape ie: knife files they will bind when filing some materials, especially soft metals like copper. Good technique will cure this problem. All in all a good deal. I feel like these files could be a little less expensive

nicola  ct
Customer supplied image for review
4 12-24-2010
Need ID Marks

I have items 4542 and 4543 and like them but have a hard time deciding which side goes with which size. They need arrows or something to show you which is which.

Old Tucson Jack  Seward, NE Read my reviews (3)
4 12-22-2010
Good but with a couple of issues

My first issue is they are not well marked as to which edge is which, so I spend some time examining them to make sure I have the wider or skinnier one. There is probably a pattern to the marking on the handle and the file, but I'm not sure what it is. If they stamped the numbers over one another there would be no ambiguity.

The other issue is the taper. It works fine on any six string nut or on a twelve string with a bone nut or a graphite or softer plastic nut but with really hard plastic on a 12 it will crack the nut sometimes because of the taper getting in a slight bind. These are a great way, however, to get a full set of files. I really didn't need the bass sized ones though, and would have been happier to buy a set without those and saved some money.

Michael Bush  Greenwood, NE Read my reviews (5)
5 12-15-2010
Double-edge Nut Files

Thanks again for the prompt service and a quality product. Good tools make life a whole lot easier.

John.R  Australia Read my reviews (2)
5 12-03-2010
Nice tool

Great Product, Fast shipping, thanks Stew Mac!!

Thang  Ho Chi Minh city, Vietnam Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 61 – 70 < 1  ...  6  7  8 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 16 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce