Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Nuts, saddles : Acoustic bridge saddles : Unbleached Bone Saddles

Unbleached Bone Saddles


Read 47 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Our unbleached bone is harder than bleached white bone, and has a mottled cream vintage look. Its hardness and density contributes to good tone, it polishes well, and it allows more precise filing.

See details below

Email a friend
Unbleached Bone Saddles
 

For Martin® and classical guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Unbleached Bone Saddles  6030-V  Blank
4-1/4" x 15/32" x 3/32"
(107.95mm x 11.91mm x 2.38mm)
Yes
$6.97
12 or more $5.57  
24 or more $4.74  

Unbleached Bone Saddles  6033-V  Pre-shaped
4-1/4" x 25/64" x 3/32"
(107.95mm x 9.92mm x 2.38mm)
20" (508mm) top radius
Yes
$12.34
12 or more $10.50  
24 or more $8.92  

Unbleached Bone Saddles  6033-VS  Compensated and Pre-shaped
4-1/4" x 13/32" x 3/32"
(107.95mm x 10.21mm x 2.38mm)
20" (508mm) top radius
Yes
$15.63
12 or more $13.69  
24 or more $11.76  


For Gibson® and classical guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Unbleached Bone Saddles  6031-V  Blank
4-1/4" x 15/32" x 9/64"
(107.95mm x 11.91mm x 3.57mm)
Yes
$8.55
12 or more $6.84  
24 or more $5.82  

Unbleached Bone Saddles  6034-V  Pre-shaped
4" x 25/64" x 1/8"
(101.60mm x 9.92mm x 3.18mm)
10" (304.8mm) top radius
Yes
$12.95
12 or more $11.00  
24 or more $9.36  

Unbleached Bone Saddles  6034-VS  Compensated and Pre-shaped
4" x 13/32" x 1/8"
(101.60mm x 10.21mm x 3.18mm)
10" (254mm) top radius
Yes
$16.92
12 or more $14.49  
24 or more $12.65  


Oversize for compensated saddles
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Unbleached Bone Saddles  6032-V  Blank
4" x 1/2" x 1/4"
(101.6mm x 12.7mm x 6.35mm)
1+ month
$10.90
12 or more $9.63  
24 or more $8.59  
This item cannot be
ordered at this time.

Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Fishman Matrix Infinity System



Bleached White Bone Saddles



TUSQ Saddles



Micarta Saddle



Radius Gauges



Fishman Matrix Infinity System
Bleached White Bone Saddles
TUSQ Saddles
Micarta Saddle
Radius Gauges



Details
 Pictures
Stewart-MacDonald is your source for quality bone!
Bone is traditionally favored for quality instruments.

Blank saddles have oversize length and height, for custom shaping in your shop. They're ready for trimming, filing, sanding and slotting.

Pre-shaped saddles will save you a LOT of work—a head start for the novice, and a timesaver for the busy shop. The sizes have been carefully researched, and accurately radiused, so that minor trimming, slotting, and sanding are usually all you'll need to do.

Good news: our super-hard vintage-look unbleached bone saddles are available with B-string compensation too, so you'll save even more time! Minor trimming and height adjustment are usually all you'll need to do.

"These pre-radiused saddles save me LOADS of shaping time. Bone is my favorite material for great tone, too."
—Erick Coleman, StewMac tech advisor

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Unbleached Bone Saddles
Unbleached Bone Saddles
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 47 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  5 >
5 5-28-2013
Best bone saddles around

Don't be cheap when your buying your blanks, you really do get what you pay for. The bone supply from stewmac has never let me down. Bone for Tone!

Mack L.  California Read my reviews (18)
4 5-27-2013
Unbleached Bone Saddles

Looks like a great saddle. I'll have to hold it for my other guitar. The one I bought it for has a bridge slot that seems to be a tiny bit too wide for this saddle. Fast delivery though.

Brad  Chandler, AZ Read my reviews (2)
5 4-03-2013
perfect for lower action

I like lowering the action on guitars I purchase. These narrower saddles work great with my Gibson's. Cut the length, radius the top and the height is perfect for me.

DaveF  KY
5 3-31-2013
Bone Saddles Rule!

Hoping to get a fuller tone with more sustain, I bought a pre-shaped bone saddle for my '58 Gibson Country Western Dreadnought. The old saddle was plastic and looked like it had been through a lot. I'd researched online for instructions on how to cut and shape the saddle to my guitar. After about an hour, I had the saddle just how I wanted it. Sounds fantastic! Great product, StewMac!!

papapearlsjam  Joliet, IL Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-31-2013
Bone Gives Great Tone!

After replacing the plastic saddle on my Gibson Country Western, I decided to do the same to my Gibson Songbird Deluxe. The existing saddle was a plastic Fishman saddle, part of the under-the-saddle pickup system. I discovered when I removed the saddle from the bridge, it had five small holes drilled through it. The saddle also was being cut by the strings and I wanted to have a harder and more resonant saddle for more sustain. Plenty of videos and articles to research online gave me the best information for trimming and sanding the saddle to the right size and shape. The new unbleached bone saddle from StewMac was exactly what I was looking for, because the guitar sounds even better than ever, unplugged or through my acoustic amp. Another very satisfied customer!

papapearlsjam  Joliet, IL Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-08-2013
Unbleached bone saddle

I bought a saddle to replace one that was too low. It was slightly different from the exact one I needed, but no problem. With a little careful fitting and sanding, it fit perfectly. The sound was clean and a vast improvement over the plastic saddle I replaced.

Gene Mothershed  Beckville, Texas Read my reviews (14)
5 1-23-2013
6030-V Unbleached Blank

This saddle did exactly what I was hoping it would do. Since placing my initial order, I've ordered more. My primary guitar, a Morgan Monroe M-10, while not terribly expensive, sounds great and is a joy to play. However, the action was set fairly low, and when the temperature and humidity started to drop this past fall, I started getting some nasty fret buzz. I looked into shimming the saddle that came with the guitar, but when I removed it, I realized that it already had two shims in place. I actually did shim it further, and while this did help (along with some tweaking of the trussrode) the shimmed saddle wasn't seated into the slot far enough and was leaning forward from the string pressure.
I'm no luthier, and I've never attempted anything similar before, but I really wanted to raise the saddle properly, with bone, and get rid of the plastic saddle and shims. I order the blank, and with some sandpaper and files I copied the general shape of the original plastic saddle. It took some time, probably more than an hour, but again I hadn't attempted this before. The blank was initially too thick for the slot, but after some tweaking, I finally had a saddle that fit properly, alleviated the fret buzz while keeping the action still relatively low, and perhaps my ears are deceiving me, but I think it sounds better too. I recommend anyone, with similar problems, not hesitate to give this a try for themselves. It wasn't particularly difficult, even for a first-timer, and I'm delighted to have taken care of the problem without having to pay someone else or having to go without my instrument while it was in the shop. I'm happy with this product, for sure.

ZB  Iowa
5 12-03-2012
Bone = Tone!

These saddles are fabulous. As others have said, they are a vast improvement over plastic. The unbleached saddles look great polished up; the bleached ones look too 'white' for my taste.

I see some folks commenting on the sizing. Seriously? This is a natural product that is meant to be shaped by hand for a custom fit. You're complaing about having to take a 64th of an inch off? Are you kidding?

Crawfish  Maryland, USA Read my reviews (6)
5 11-18-2012
Unbleached Bone Saddle for Martin Guitar

This was an amazing purchase for restoring my 40 yr old guitar. I had to do some filing and it was ready for install. When coupled with the unbleached bone nut (also from Stewart-MacDonald) the sound is HUGE. Because of the unbleached bone the sustain, volume, and bite sounds like a Martin. The Citation guitar my Dad gave me when I was 10 Is a guitar I will play to the grave and pass on to my son. The look is amazing as well. A great deal.

Ben H.  Barstow, CA Read my reviews (3)
5 11-11-2012
Bone Saddle

High quality bone with a uniform structure and density. Takes a polish really well and looks great.

Phil W  UK
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 17 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce