Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Nuts, saddles : Acoustic bridge saddles : Micarta Saddle

Micarta Saddle


Read 14 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Softer than bone, and files easily. Micarta is an excellent synthetic bone substitute.

See details below

Email a friend
Micarta Saddle
 

Acoustic guitar saddle
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Micarta Saddle  0211  Blank
4-1/8" x 15/32" x 1/8"
(104.78mm x 11.91mm x 3.18mm)
Yes
$3.67
12 or more $3.05  
24 or more $2.60  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Micarta Nuts



Bleached White Bone Saddles



Unbleached Bone Saddles



TUSQ Saddles



Radius Gauges



Micarta Nuts
Bleached White Bone Saddles
Unbleached Bone Saddles
TUSQ Saddles
Radius Gauges



Details
 Pictures
Specified by Martin for nuts and saddles since the 1960s. Ivory in color and a bit softer than bone, it files and sands easily and gives a uniform tone. Its uniform density is ideal for use with undersaddle transducer pickups. Each blank has a flat bottom surface; shaping and slotting required.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Micarta Saddle
Micarta Saddle
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 14 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 >
5 11-08-2013
What a difference a nut makes

Curious as to how much difference a saddle makes, I used a Micarta saddle to replace the broken original plastic one on an old Silvertone acoustic. I didn't think it was worth all the extra work of making a saddle for this guitar...until I played it. Very dramatic improvement in tone.

SRW  Burleson, TX Read my reviews (8)
2 4-24-2013
Back to bone for me.

Not great. Its tough, hard to file. Clogs up the files way too much. Didn't like it at all. Ho hum. Back to bone next time.

srb-guitars  France Read my reviews (4)
5 3-27-2013
Fantastic product

I find these easy to cut and file yet durable. String sustain is excellent. This size also works for Fender Strat nuts because of its 1/8 inch thickness. Each saddle can yield 4 nuts.

Superdave123  Summerville, SC
5 1-09-2012
Worked great

I got this to make and replace the plastic saddle on a learner guitar for a friend. You want to talk about a difference! It was easy to work with and defiantly improved the sound of the guitar. Thanks!

KeepinBusy  Manassas, VA
5 12-17-2011
Quality Supplies!

Micarta is some interesting stuff! Hard as all get out and works well for most players. I use bone for the real heavy hitters though because it wears less.

Wilmer Gingerich  Jamesport MO Read my reviews (76)
4 11-22-2011
Saddle Sizes

This material is great for saddles, however a ukulele builder has to waste much of it. The ideal size for us would be 3 X 0.125 X 0.25 inches.

ChrisG  Winnipeg, MB Canada Read my reviews (6)
5 11-18-2011
Micarta Saddle

Excellent

p gaudreau  canada Read my reviews (43)
5 11-11-2011
Micarta is a great choice for saddles

I really like the micarta for saddles. It is so uniform and easy to work. Thanks for offering the quantity discounts!

justinarts  West Texas, USA Read my reviews (35)
5 10-20-2011
My several purchases

All of the purchases of the past several years have been very pleasing. The best has been the high quality of every purchase. Also, your response when I ask for your help on a guitar problem. Your staff is really helpful. I am so proud to have found Stewmac, which, now was several years ago. Robert (Bob) Hardison.

Robert (Bob) Hardison  Columbia, Tn. Read my reviews (5)
5 9-01-2011
Micarta Saddle

picked these up for some nylon string basses I'm making and they work GREAT. The first went on a 41.5 scale slap bass and it's easy to shape and resonates really well. Perfect for my purpose. The saddle has a piezo pickup under it in the homemade wooden bridge and it really transmits the sound nicely to the eq system. Nice clear tone for days. Next up is a 25" short scale bass and I can't wait to hear that one. A+++

benderb9  St Petersburg,FL Read my reviews (19)
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 17 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce