Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Nuts, saddles : Acoustic bridge saddles : Bleached White Bone Saddles

Bleached White Bone Saddles


Read 36 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Bone's hardness and density contributes to good tone, it polishes well, and it allows more precise filing.



See details below

Email a friend
Bleached White Bone Saddles
 

For Martin® and classical guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Bleached White Bone Saddles  6030  Blank
4-1/4" x 15/32" x 3/32"
(107.95mm x 11.91mm x 2.38mm)
1+ month
$4.99
12 or more $4.28  
24 or more $3.63  
This item cannot be
ordered at this time.
Bleached White Bone Saddles  6033  Pre-shaped
4-1/4" x 25/64" x 3/32"
(107.95mm x 9.92mm x 2.38mm)
20" (508mm) top radius
Yes
$12.34
12 or more $10.50  
24 or more $8.92  


For Gibson® and classical guitars
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Bleached White Bone Saddles  6031  Blank
4-1/4" x 15/32" x 9/64"
(107.95mm x 11.91mm x 3.57mm)
Yes
$6.17
12 or more $5.29  
24 or more $4.53  

Bleached White Bone Saddles  6034  Pre-shaped
4-1/4" x 25/64" x 1/8"
(107.95mm x 9.92mm x 3.18mm)
10" (304.8mm) top radius
Yes
$12.95
12 or more $11.00  
24 or more $9.36  


Oversize for compensated saddles
Profiles Item# Description
Length x height x thickness
In stock Price Quantity
Bleached White Bone Saddles  6032  Blank
4" x 1/2" x 1/4"
(101.6mm x 12.7mm x 6.35mm)
Yes
$8.99
12 or more $7.40  
24 or more $6.30  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Nut and Saddle Shaping Files



Understring Radius Gauges



Fishman Matrix Infinity System



Nut and Saddle Vise



Saddle Slot Files



Nut and Saddle Shaping Files
Understring Radius Gauges
Fishman Matrix Infinity System
Nut and Saddle Vise
Saddle Slot Files



Details
 Pictures
Stewart-MacDonald is your source for quality bone!
Bone is traditionally preferred for making nuts and saddles on quality instruments.

Shaped saddles will save you a LOT of work—a head start for the novice, and a timesaver for the busy shop. The sizes have been carefully researched, and accurately radiused, so that minor trimming, slotting, and sanding are usually all you'll need to do.

Blank saddles have oversize length and height, for custom shaping in your shop. They're ready for trimming, filing, sanding and slotting.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Bleached White Bone Saddles
Bleached White Bone Saddles
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 36 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  4 >
5 12-17-2011
Quality Supplies!

Quality from StewMac!

Wilmer Gingerich  Jamesport MO Read my reviews (76)
4 11-28-2011
Martin 3/32" on the thin side

I agree with an earlier reviewer, the Martin 3/32" (.094") blanks, while nominally correct, are often a bit too thin for Martin slots, which can trend closer to .100" for some reason (they may widen slightly over time from bridge shrinkage.) The Gibson blanks are thicker (a bit too much!) than the nominal 1/8", I'd like to find the Martin blanks at .100" and dress them back down a few thou as required.

brians356  Reno, NV Read my reviews (3)
4 11-24-2011
Saddle dimensions

I have noticed, particularly with the #6031 blanks, the thickness is usually quite a bit greater than the already generous 9/64" (.140"), often .150". I know the last thing you want is an undersize blank, but the normal Gibson saddle is "1/8" or .125 - .130, so having to shave off .020" is a lot. I'd prefer the blanks to be limited to .135" max, and add an "extra thick" blank of say .150" for those oddball wide slots.

brians356  Reno, NV Read my reviews (3)
5 11-21-2011
Consistent Quality

These blanks are always consistent, and the pricing is great.

Paulemersun  Wisconsin Read my reviews (2)
3 11-08-2011
Gibson style shaped bone saddle blanks

I bought these to replace the "mystery" plastic saddles on a Gibson J-45 and a Hummingbird I own. These are pretty nice quality bone blanks that should save a bit of fabrication time.

The one issue I have with them concerns the rounded top surface. This is fine for a non-compensated saddle, but all modern Gibson acoustics use saddles with a compensated "B" string. To duplicate this, I will need to grind the top of the saddle square to begin the compensation notches, and there may not be enough height to the saddle after doing this. Also, the top radius measures 10" rather than the more common 12", so be aware of this.

Uncle Gary  upstate NY Read my reviews (8)
5 9-22-2011
Consistent Quality & Solid Performance

I use a lot of these blanks for a variety of wood and carbon fiber guitars and other instruments.

They are always well packed to prevent chipping along the edges. The bone grain is super consistent. I've done a lot of independent research (blind tests) on bone vs. Tusq and bone definitely gets a bad wrap. It is warmer, with better clarity, frequency and response then Tusq, hands down.

There exists some bad bone blanks with dead spots, but they are not made from these blanks. These blanks are excellent, averaging about 99/100 for me so far. I had one break (along the grain) with a very thin slot, but made another and it worked perfect. If you want the best, this is what your looking for.

Euphony Custom Shop  USA
Customer supplied image for review
5 9-21-2011
My Guitar Kit

A few years back I bought a Martin OO kit and it sat around the house as I struggled with my lack of experience (knowledge, skill, ability and understanding) with the requisite tools. My playing partner - who has built fiddles, mandolins and harps eventually dragged me along to a class. Wiht the help of the teacher (84 years old and a fount of wisdom)I have at last built the guitar.

Theris more to do but the sound is ENORMOUS and already a lot of fun. There is no doubt the kit was way beyond my capacity to build at home but the end result is well worth the wait. What's next I ain't sure but something has started and after fify years as a player (many of them scraping/scratching a living at it) I begin to understand just what guitars actually are - thanks a bunch!

Stringtickler  Scotland
5 8-10-2011
Pre-shaped bridge blanks

With this saddle already having to right radius on them makes them quick and easy. All you have to do is cut it to length and shave it to the proper height and you're done. I used it on an under bridge pick up system and it sounds great, even tone and volume on all strings. Dad's old guitar, he would have loved it.

Tinkering picker  Pomeroy, Ohio Read my reviews (3)
5 7-27-2011
Bone Saddles

Back in the saddle again. Tall, yes!
Thickness? Perfect.

J.C. Moranville  Colorado Read my reviews (20)
4 7-23-2011
could be a little wider

I make my own nuts and saddles. I prefer the raw materiel, whether a blank or pre-fit to be a little oversized, you can make em smaller, not larger.

Stew's blanks and pre-cuts seem to be under the stated size, I feel I have to purchase items that are the next offering up in all directions.... consequently I am paying for items that are too large. Also, shop hard, I can usually find the same items for less.

jerrynashville  indiana Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 17 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce