Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Natural Wood Bindings

Natural Wood Bindings


Read 80 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Beautiful hardwood bindings are a natural accent preferred by many contemporary luthiers.

See details below

Email a friend
Natural Wood Bindings
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
2018 Cocobolo Yes
$3.93
12 or more $3.14  

2019 Cocobolo with b/w/b trim Yes
$6.13
12 or more $4.90  

2020 Rosewood Yes
$3.78
12 or more $2.94  

2021 Rosewood with w/b/w trim Yes
$5.59
12 or more $4.46  

2022 Curly maple Yes
$3.50
12 or more $2.73  

2023 Curly maple with b/w/b trim Yes
$6.24
12 or more $4.97  

2024 Ebony 1+ month
$5.86
12 or more $4.68  
This item cannot be
ordered at this time.
2025 Ebony with w/b/w trim Yes
$8.18
12 or more $6.54  

2026 Curly koa Yes
$8.18
12 or more $6.54  

2027 Curly koa with b/w/b trim Yes
$10.60
12 or more $8.39  

2028 Bloodwood Yes
$3.10
12 or more $2.48  

2029 Bloodwood with b/w/b trim 3-4 weeks
$5.33
12 or more $4.26  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Titebond Wood Glue



Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy



Rubber Binding Bands



Binding Router Bit Set



Scraper Blades



Titebond Wood Glue
Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy
Rubber Binding Bands
Binding Router Bit Set
Scraper Blades



Details
 Pictures
Articles
Each unbent strip is approximately .080" thick, .250" tall and 33-1/2" long (2.03mm x 6.35mm x 850.90mm). The optional triple lamination is .010"/.020"/.010" white and black fiber.

Note: Cocobolo is a naturally oily wood. For best results, clean with acetone and glue with epoxy or super glue.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Natural Wood Bindings
Natural Wood Bindings
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 80 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 71 – 80 < 1  ...  6  7  8
3 11-27-2010
Room for improvement . . .

The dimensions are very accurate and consistent. That's the good news.

Bad news is if you're planning on mitering the purflings - good luck finding 10/20/10 w/b/w material anywhere. I make my own, but it's a pain to do so. I wish they'd either change trim to 10/10/10 OR offer 10/20/10 purfling (without bindings) as a complimentary product.

Jeff Fortenbery  Cincinnati, OH Read my reviews (5)
5 11-16-2010
Natural Wood Bindings Ebony

I adore these black strips! There is no equal! Simply order them and StewMac delivers them to you, now I know it.

Andrey  Russia Urals Mountains region Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
5 11-01-2010
nice

I purchased 80 pieces of Cocobolo binding (without trim). Nearly all of them had beautiful grain and color. There were only a few pieces that I might have returned because of quality or color but not enough to make it worth shipping them back. The ones I received mostly looked very much like the ones in the picture.

James Harper  Brea, CA Read my reviews (6)
4 10-20-2010
Not perfect but consistently good

Bindings I received were consistent in color and grain, well matched. As with any wood binding, there is some short grain in places, but the overall quality is higher than I have gotten from several other suppliers.

Fred Hocker  Stockholm, Sweden Read my reviews (9)
5 9-24-2010
Nice binding

Nice binding strips. Price is a little steep, but Stew-Mac's service makes up for that. Lams were fine. All in all 5 stars.

John Mayes  Norman,OK Read my reviews (18)
Customer supplied image for review
5 9-15-2010
Natural Wood Bindings

This bindings are indeed, excellent.
I inspected them to detect if they have
diagonal grains, but when they have, I just use a metal backing when bending them and they look nice.

Jorge I Jimenez  Carolina, Puerto Rico
4 9-04-2010
Very good but

These are very good bindings!, I glued many of them, but beware that sometimes a few of them arrive with diagonal grain direction! and broke a lot and hard to bent

Yaron Naor  Bat Hefer, Israel Read my reviews (16)
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-27-2010
Natural Wood Bindings

I have used your Natural Wood Bindings for the first time on the last instrument I made , I found them very easy to work with ,and made an appreciable difference. Also, I was impressed with the short time to process and deliver my order.

Alan W.  New Zealand
5 8-08-2010
Beautiful Bindings

Have used several of these bindings and have found them to be of excellent quality and easy to work with.

LowDollar  Tulsa, OK 74135 Read my reviews (5)
2 7-31-2010
So So

I suggest doing your own laminations. By the time I leveled off the bottom of these it left very little of the last lamination left.

Kirk W.  Punxsutawney, PA Read my reviews (11)
Displaying 71 – 80 < 1  ...  6  7  8 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 34 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce