Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Natural Wood Bindings

Natural Wood Bindings


Read 80 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Beautiful hardwood bindings are a natural accent preferred by many contemporary luthiers.

See details below

Email a friend
Natural Wood Bindings
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
2018 Cocobolo Yes
$3.93
12 or more $3.14  

2019 Cocobolo with b/w/b trim Yes
$6.13
12 or more $4.90  

2020 Rosewood Yes
$3.78
12 or more $2.94  

2021 Rosewood with w/b/w trim Yes
$5.59
12 or more $4.46  

2022 Curly maple Yes
$3.50
12 or more $2.73  

2023 Curly maple with b/w/b trim Yes
$6.24
12 or more $4.97  

2024 Ebony 1+ month
$5.86
12 or more $4.68  
This item cannot be
ordered at this time.
2025 Ebony with w/b/w trim Yes
$8.18
12 or more $6.54  

2026 Curly koa Yes
$8.18
12 or more $6.54  

2027 Curly koa with b/w/b trim Yes
$10.60
12 or more $8.39  

2028 Bloodwood Yes
$3.10
12 or more $2.48  

2029 Bloodwood with b/w/b trim 3-4 weeks
$5.33
12 or more $4.26  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Titebond Wood Glue



Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy



Rubber Binding Bands



Binding Router Bit Set



Scraper Blades



Titebond Wood Glue
Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy
Rubber Binding Bands
Binding Router Bit Set
Scraper Blades



Details
 Pictures
Articles
Each unbent strip is approximately .080" thick, .250" tall and 33-1/2" long (2.03mm x 6.35mm x 850.90mm). The optional triple lamination is .010"/.020"/.010" white and black fiber.

Note: Cocobolo is a naturally oily wood. For best results, clean with acetone and glue with epoxy or super glue.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Natural Wood Bindings
Natural Wood Bindings
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 80 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 51 – 60 < 1  ...  5  6  7  8 >
4 8-31-2011
Ebony Binding

I just finished my first guitar. I found the binding to be the most difficult part of building the guitar. I broke several pieces of ebony before figuring out how to do it. I started out by wetting it and using Stewmac's bender. I am not sure what temperature to bend ebony at but I don't think my bender gets hot enough. From memory, only gets to about 250 degrees fahrenheit.

I made a half size classical guitar with a cutaway and the ebony kept breaking on the cutaway. I tried making the ebony thinner and tried putting pieces side by side. I then tried wetting it and using a heatgun. Finally I tried bending it dry with a heatgun. I was able to bend my ebony dry with the heatgun in only ten minutes for each side. The result looks fantastic. I found wetting the ebony, even with a damp cloth weakens it too much.

Rhys' Guitars  Australia Read my reviews (7)
5 8-12-2011
always perfect

moderately figured, consistent sizing, no blemishes. always perfect

drnavey  florence, sc Read my reviews (4)
5 8-05-2011
Wood bindings

Just finishing guitar using these bindings. They are consistent dimensionally, easy to work with. I combined 2 of the bloodwood w/BWB trim to create a slightly wider binding and they were cut square so I did not have to square them myself; a real time saver. Maybe add pic when finished. Mahogany and bloodwood look real pretty together!

Don Noonan  Easley, SC Read my reviews (9)
5 7-16-2011
As expected

I purchased the curly maple bindings and they came perfectly straight and easy to bend.

MN_Jeff  Appleton, Wi Read my reviews (9)
4 6-30-2011
Good bindings, hard to work.

I've used the plain rosewood and plain ebony bindings. If you've never used them before, be very, very patient when bending. Taking it slow will pay off with a beautiful result.

Aaron Hess  Baltimore, MD Read my reviews (13)
5 6-26-2011
Will happily buy this again

The size was very uniform and was easy to bend. Everything you need in a binding.

Fishdoctor  Montgomery, AL Read my reviews (5)
5 6-06-2011
Beautiful matching wood

I received a surprise package today: As a reply to my previous review, and without me asking. Stewmac replaced my previous order with a nice selection of handpicked and perfectly matching dark colored rosewood bindings.
Hey guys, this is excellent service ! thanks for that

Triskel Workshop  Antwerp, Belgium Read my reviews (17)
5 6-05-2011
Great Back Stripe

Excellent. The quality was so high (I purchased the plain bloodwood) that I ended up using the purchase for a back stripe. I'll be ordering other flavors in the next order.

jimsonrat  Los Osos, CA Read my reviews (4)
1 5-31-2011
Rosewood rainbow

These bindings don't reach the required standard. I ordered 6 pcs, and none of them match by color to each other, so unable to use the on the same guitar

Triskel Workshop  Antwerp, Belgium Read my reviews (17)
StewMac responds

Triskel Worskshop, We're sorry to hear your bindings arrived mismatched. We're happy to provide you with some free replacements. We'll have our technicians special pick them to make certain this doesn't happen again. We appreciate your feedback and your business.

Customer supplied image for review
2 5-09-2011
Natural Wood Bindings.

While the curly maple binding is beautiful, if its cut with the grain running vertically in the binding you won't get the bends you need with out breaking the binding. Probably works for guitars, not for mandolins.

markgrant  tennessee Read my reviews (17)
Displaying 51 – 60 < 1  ...  5  6  7  8 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 34 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce