Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Knobs : Speed knobs : Speed Knob

Speed Knob


Read 48 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Speed knobs' fumble-free shape is easy to wrap a pinkie around. Found on many Gibsons, they're also called "hatbox" knobs.

See details below

Email a friend
Speed Knob
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0554-A Amber, for coarse-knurled pot shaft (Alpha) Yes
$3.37
6 or more $2.86  
12 or more $2.29  

0554-B Black, for coarse-knurled pot shaft (Alpha) Yes
$3.37
6 or more $2.86  
12 or more $2.29  

0554-G Gold, for coarse-knurled pot shaft (Alpha) Yes
$3.37
6 or more $2.86  
12 or more $2.29  

0554-FA Amber, for fine-knurled pot shaft (CTS) Yes
$3.37
6 or more $2.86  
12 or more $2.29  

0554-FB Black, for fine-knurled pot shaft (CTS) Yes
$3.37
6 or more $2.86  
12 or more $2.29  

0554-FG Gold, for fine-knurled pot shaft (CTS) Yes
$3.37
6 or more $2.86  
12 or more $2.29  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Alpha Control Pots



Knob Position Indicator



CTS Control Pots



Gotoh Tune-o-matic Bridge with Studs/Bushings



Knob Puller



Alpha Control Pots
Knob Position Indicator
CTS Control Pots
Gotoh Tune-o-matic Bridge with Studs/Bushings
Knob Puller



Details
 Pictures
Choose knobs to press-fit onto fine (CTS) or coarse (Alpha) knurled control pot shafts. Sold individually.

Check your control pot shafts before you order!

Black: Clear plastic with black painted bottom and white numerals
Gold: Clear plastic with gold painted bottom and white numerals
Amber: Amber plastic with gold painted bottom and white numerals

Check your control pot shafts before you order!
Almost all press-on knobs that fit coarse-knurled 18-spline pot shafts (such as Alpha) won't fit fine-knurled 24-spline shafts (such as CTS), and vice versa.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Speed Knob
Speed Knob
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 48 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  5 >
5 4-20-2013
perfect match

while I am a newbie, I have purchased amber knobs several times for various builds. Last time i had to mix two different product numbers, as I had 3 course shafted pots and one fine. The knobs matched perfectly. I have been happy with all merchandise I have purchased from you and your service is excellant...thanks

Campo Electric  Pollock, Louisiana Read my reviews (2)
5 2-04-2013
Just right for the CTS

Good looking knobs that go right on my CTS pots.

dbeedle  Normal IL, USA Read my reviews (3)
4 11-27-2012
Good quality, but needs modification for non-stewmac pots

The construction and numbering on the coarse splined black knobs was great, they didn't fit though. It's my fault for not buying stewmacs control pots to suit their knobs because i wanted linear tapered 500k long shaft pots, not log tapered. The pots i bought oddly enough have splines of 5.8mm, and the knobs I have, have an inner width of 5.7mm, not close to the 6mm width of the splines on the alpha pots they suit. It would seem that they would press on, but they wont. They look great though, and once i drill them out just a little they will work perfectly too! My advice, pay the extra money and buy the pots they sell to suit the knobs!

Michael S  Australia Read my reviews (4)
4 9-25-2012
Good knobs

If speed knobs are needed, these are fine.

CWaggs  Illinois Read my reviews (44)
5 8-15-2012
Great looking knobs, perfect fit

Nice looking and high quality speed knobs. Absolutely perfect fit on CTS fine-knurled pots. Not too snug, not too loose. They slid on with the right amount of resistance.

Bob  USA Read my reviews (22)
5 4-30-2012
Stewmac steps up!

OK, so I ordered speed knobs for my new-used SG according to Stewmac's criteria and they didn't fit; I checked and re-checked...thought maybe they just fit that tight. Got the first one on, then broke the next two and gave up.

I called Stewmac, explained the situation and, on my word alone, they just sent me replacements that were the other of the two choices (according to the type of splines on the pot) available. I even changed the color because I decided that the color I chose didn't look right. They didn't even want the old ones back.

I know....they're just knobs, not expensive, not a huge deal, but the fact that these guys just took care of it without giving me any grief just speaks volumes! Try getting that kind of service from Guitar Center!

BTW the new black speed knobs look just right on that cherry red SG, and are a lot easier to get a handle on than the Gibson-stock knobs.

Stewmac demonstrates excellent customer-service ethics!

YoungTurq  Oregon coast Read my reviews (6)
5 4-28-2012
Perfect fit

Replaced the "hat" style knobs on my Les Paul and they were a perfect fit and looked factory. Used Stew Mac knob removal tool to remove old knobs. Total change over time less than 10 minutes. Thanks Stew Mac.

cor57vette  Sioux Falls, SD Read my reviews (5)
5 3-16-2012
Can't go wrong with these

Perfect fit, well made. The black ones seem to scratch more noticeably.

GrahamLangdon  Four Oaks, NC Read my reviews (5)
5 3-14-2012
Excellent, fit perfectly

And look great!

Muhammad  New Zealand Read my reviews (11)
5 2-29-2012
Perfect!

Used these speed knobs on a chocolate sunburst I did, they worked great!

Davis  New Jersey Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 70 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce