Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Kits : Ukulele Kits : Tenor Ukulele Kit

Tenor Ukulele Kit


Read 37 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Meet the big brother of our popular Soprano Ukulele Kit! It's just as easy and rewarding to assemble, and the finished instrument delivers a bigger, warmer sound.

See details below

Email a friend
Tenor Ukulele Kit
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5348 Tenor Ukulele Kit Yes
$165.65

5348-DVD Tenor Ukulele Kit with DVD SAVE $20.00 Yes
$185.60


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Waverly Ukulele Tuners



Grover Ukulele Tuners with Long String Posts



GHS Ukulele Strings



Titebond Wood Glue



ColorTone Aerosol Finishing Kit



Waverly Ukulele Tuners
Grover Ukulele Tuners with Long String Posts
GHS Ukulele Strings
Titebond Wood Glue
ColorTone Aerosol Finishing Kit



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
The Tenor Ukulele kit is a great kit for beginners: the neck has already been shaped, and all parts are included, even the strings. No plywood! This kit features solid traditional woods for great tone.

SAVE! Order your kit with our 109-minute DVD, How To Build a Ukulele Kit. Gordon and Char Mayer of Mya-Moé Ukuleles guide you step-by-step through assembly. Great tips from pro luthiers!

The kit includes:
Solid mahogany soundboard and back
Bent solid mahogany sides
Shaped neck
Slotted inlaid rosewood fingerboard
Shaped rosewood bridge
Spruce braces and linings
Geared tuning machines
Nut, saddle and soundhole purflings
Fretwire and strings
Detailed instructions

This tenor ukulele has 17-3/32" scale length.

Easy finishing options
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer is an economical way to apply a finish without complicated setup or equipment. Only a few cans are needed to completely finish your ukulele. Or try brush-on application with Brushing Varnish.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Tenor Ukulele Kit
Tenor Ukulele Kit
 
4 out of 5 stars
Based on 37 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  4 >
5 10-30-2012
tenor ukulele kit build

I purchased my tenor kit along with the DVD in October. As I built the uke, I often referred to the DVD, which I considered a great help. The directions were very straightforward. I completed it in two weeks. I applied 10 coats of spray laquer and rubbed it out with pumice and rottenstone and gave it a final polish with paste wax. The finish turned out beautiful. The sound is as good or better than my $300.00 concert. I will definitely be building more in the future.

Mikuke  Milford, OH
Customer supplied image for review
5 6-28-2012
Easy to build kit

You can build this kit with hand tools and sand paper but I wound up buying a lot of tools (fret hammer, nippers, sanding station, router, cam clamps, very accurate ruler) to help with the job. It might have been the extra tools, but the ukulele I built with this kit is far better than anything I have bought for double the cost of the kit. It makes a very nice instrument. I bought another kit and look forward to my next project.

Tim Terry  Alberta, Canada Read my reviews (2)
4 5-07-2012
My first ululele

This is the first ukulele. I have add a binding .

Antonio Cariddi Giuseppe  Bari Italy
Customer supplied image for review
4 4-27-2012
Nice Project

I have made a few acoustic guitars from scratch and my 11 year old son wanted to try building an instrument with me for a school project, so we chose the Tenor Ukulele kit. We had a great time together and built a lovely, nice sounding instrument that he is very, very proud of.

Concerns: The top and back blanks were cut at a angle to the grain direction (~15 deg). They are oversized a bit, so we were able to adjust a bit, but things are still not quite lined up. I'm sure if we had called StewMac, they would have shipped us new parts, but we had no time.

Overall, I would recommend this kit and would build another one.

Peter O  Portland, OR
5 4-18-2012
Fantastic Uke that you can take pride in playing

This is a great sounding uke! The components are top quality and the service from StewMac is second to none. Tech support answered ALL of my questions during the build and when I had an issue with a "cupped" fretboard, the StewMac crew sent me a replacement immediately without any hassles at all.
If you are an intermediate woodworker, you should not have any troubles building a great sounding uke.

BryanC  IL
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-16-2012
Tenor with customized headstock

Ever since I was a kid I've wanted to build a stringed musical instrument. You helped me fulfill that dream. I had a great time building the Tenor Ukulele Kit. The wood was every bit as nice as I was hoping it would be and the instructions were very helpful.

I've read some of the other reviewers comments about needing to buy a lot of expensive equipment. While it would certainly be faster to build with a lot of gadgets, I think I could build this kit with clamps,sanding blocks, a utility knife and a coping saw. In fact, I may just give that a try someday.

Until then, thank you stewmac for a great kit.

Jon

Jon Clay  Berkshire County, MA
Customer supplied image for review
4 3-08-2012
Tenor Uke with inlay

This is my second build after a soprano kit. Went crazy with inlay. Extra tools I added to my kit this time were the Dremell precision router base and the Optivisor with LED lights both made the fine work a dream. Also got the Deadblow hammer which made the fretting less fretful. (Sorry about that) Tha inlay is Huon Pine and Ivory on the headstock which I salvaged from a derelict piano 35 years ago.

myuke  Melbourne, Australia Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-19-2012
Tenor Ukulele Kit

Finished the Uke a couple weeks ago - looks and sounds great! DVD and manual were very helpful, nice job guys.

Paul D.  Mssachusetts
5 1-05-2012
Tenor Ukulele Kit is Awesome!

The first thing you'll notice when you open the box is the first-class quality of all the parts. I took my time and followed the instruction booklet. It also helps to review on-line posts on youtube and other sources. You should have some basic woodworking skills and yes, you will need some woodworking tools. There are easier, cheaper kits for those without the skill set or the tools. I'd say this kit is not meant for a rank beginner. Though I'm sure newbies have built a nice ukulele from this kit. My finished ukulele looks terrific and sounds awesome. I'm very pleased with this product and am seriously thinking of getting another one to build because I enjoyed it so much the first time.

Joe Loverti Sr.  Miamisburg, Ohio Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
1 10-30-2011
Our very expensive ukulele project

When we received our tenor ukulele kit,we were pleased with the quality of all the parts and with the instructional DVD that we ordered as well. We became increasingly discouraged by all the very expensive equipment that we have had to purchase to build our single ukulele.
We are now stuck on the "fret seating" step...it's not working at all. We have made sevaral phone calls to get help...luthiers want $300 to do it for us. It is only fair to inform buyers of the investment in tools they need to build your kits. And you may want to consider pre-seating frets in the kit.

Carolyn Mays  lake oswego, or
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 97 of our latest catalog.


ColorTone® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce