Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Kits : Ukulele Kits : Soprano Ukulele Kit

Soprano Ukulele Kit


Read 21 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Perfect for beginners! Here's a fine sounding uke you can build with basic hand tools — just follow the illustrated instructions and apply a finish.

See details below

Email a friend
Soprano Ukulele Kit
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5347 Soprano Ukulele Kit Yes
$118.00

5347-DVD Soprano Ukulele Kit with DVD SAVE $20.00 Yes
$137.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

GHS Ukulele Strings



ColorTone Aerosol Finishing Kit



Grover Ukulele Tuning Machines



Waverly Ukulele Tuners



Tenor Ukulele Kit



GHS Ukulele Strings
ColorTone Aerosol Finishing Kit
Grover Ukulele Tuning Machines
Waverly Ukulele Tuners
Tenor Ukulele Kit



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
Assembly is simple, the neck has already been shaped, and all parts are included (strings, too). This kit features solid traditional woods for great tone.

SAVE! Order your kit with our 109-minute DVD, How To Build a Ukulele Kit. Gordon and Char Mayer of Mya-Moé Ukuleles guide you step-by-step through assembly. Great tips from pro luthiers!

The kit includes:
Solid mahogany soundboard and back
Bent solid mahogany sides
Shaped neck
Slotted inlaid rosewood fingerboard
Shaped rosewood bridge
Spruce braces and linings
Traditional tuning pegs
Nut, saddle and soundhole purflings
Fretwire and strings
Detailed instructions

This soprano ukulele has 13-3/4" scale length. Larger Tenor Ukulele Kit also available.

Easy finishing options
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer is an economical way for the beginner to apply a finish without elaborate setup or equipment. Only a few cans are needed to completely finish your ukulele. Or try brush-on application with Brushing Varnish.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Soprano Ukulele Kit
Soprano Ukulele Kit
 
4 out of 5 stars
Based on 21 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 >
2 3-13-2012
Decent kit - should be improved

I bought one for a friend that gave up after bracing back and top. So I ended up building the kit for him. It was fun even for an experienced instrument maker and - after adding some inlay and lining - it also looks good. But IMHO this uke it is somewhat overbuilt, does not sound that good as it is. It would be a good thing either to mention in the instruction book that the top and back can be made thinner before bracing or supplying thinner top and backs. It tooks a lot of sanding to fix this on the completed soundbox and it is not an easy work for the beginner. Sounds good after that. Also it would be advisable to find a better and easier way to join the neck to the body and align it. It is really too tricky getting decent results with the system suggested in the instruction manual.

Ciro Marzio  Napoli - Italy Read my reviews (12)
5 2-08-2012
This is a great instrument

This is the first instrument I have ever built. The kit comes with all the parts you need, however, as you should expect there are some tools required - there are some work arounds for suggested tools, but one luithier specific tool I recommend is a fret crowning file. After I leveled the frets a few of them were very flat and attempts at crowning with a regular file were damaging the finger board so I broke down and bought one and it did the job with ease. I had a lot of fun building this kit and learned a lot about instrument making. By the way if you take your time this uke when stringed with "aftermarket" strings has a much better and louder tone than a $99 store bought concert sized uke I bought a couple months ago. It's a fun project and you get a great instrument to play with when you are done.

Abbi Uke  Texas
Customer supplied image for review
5 7-17-2011
My 1st Uke

I received my kit about 3 weeks ago and was excited to get started on my new project. I inventoried my parts and laid everything out to make sure everything was there. Everything was good to go so I started with the first step and continued until it was completed about a week later. I purchased the video to help with the build and was glad I did, the book is helpful, but the video was in more detail.

I don't know what I'm going to build next, maybe the tenor. All in all it was a great project. I added some purple heart in the bridge instead of using the inlay provided, also changed out the nut with purple heart and some more purple heart on the heel.

Gator Joe  Cocoa, Fl
Customer supplied image for review
1 6-21-2011
So Random

This ain't at my first stringed instrument build and stewmac served me well for years and still do, but this wow !?!? There's nothing like finishing the whole thing and realize it would need 3/4 inch saddle to string it. This is NOT a fit and glue project. The neck heel is so randomly cut, mine will need at least a 1/8 inch wedge to get the neck right (after cutting the neck off the body, make the wedge, reglue, sigh...)

No name brand  Gatineau, QC, Canada Read my reviews (5)
4 4-20-2011
Fun from start to finish

The son of a friend was to perform in a fund raiser "Hawaiian" night but did not have a Uke, so I took this as my excuse to give the Stew-Mac Soprano Ukulele kit a try. As usual, the kit arrived fast, it was all inclusive and nicely prepared. The instrument went together quickly with little effort. I opted for the kit with the accompanying CD even though I have built a number of kits prior to the Uke. I managed to pick up some new tips and techniques from the CD.

Overall I been very satisfied with everything from Stew-Mac. I highly recommend this kit (with or without the CD) to anyone who wants to build a fine little, beautiful sounding instrument.

Donato  Staten Island, NY
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-12-2011
The first of many

Congratulations to Stwemac on a first class kit and service. I received my kit in Australia on a Wednesday night and completed the build at 2.30 AM on the Sunday night. IT IS ADDICTIVE. I upgraded to the Grover machine tuners which are well worth the small extra. I also added some ivory inlay on the head which came up great. I will be ordering a tenor kit immediately.

myuke  Melbourne, Australia Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
3 2-13-2011
Is a jig too much to ask

I have just now started work on the project, so I could change my mind. It was shipped quickly, all of the parts are there and in good shape. I would be further along if it was not for the huge list of things I need to do the job. All can be bought at a hardware store, I think, but I have been to two and do not have it all, yet. My big b***h is that it could have come with the jig. I lucked into a generous and not-busy guy at a hardware store who cut mine from scrap...total cost- $.51. Yep, fifty one cents. for $150 bucks they could put one in the box at that price.

David Legan  Bossier City, Louisiana
3 1-15-2011
uke

I do think the uke kit is good. Wish it came with cardboad cut outs make it a little easy for the kids

guiter hero  ma Read my reviews (4)
5 11-20-2010
Great little uke

Have just finished the kit and love the end result, great tone and sound. Prefer this to the tenor uke which I also made. As with other reviewers buy decent strings those supplied with the kit are rubbish. Also replace the friction pegs with better machine heads. Converted the kit to left handed version no problem as nut was generically slotted rather than with different gauge slots.

very good kit

Ian Verner  Sydney, Australia Read my reviews (20)
5 10-10-2010
Beginner Luthier

The kit was marvelous. Instructions were very clear (no "bad english" like other instruction manuals I have used). The quality was very high and beautiful. Parts were well manufactured and were easy to put together. I also bought the video, which was a great investment. It really went hand in hand with the written instructions.

Chad  Chicagoland
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 97 of our latest catalog.


ColorTone® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce