Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Kits : Ukulele Kits : Soprano Ukulele Kit

Soprano Ukulele Kit


Read 21 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Perfect for beginners! Here's a fine sounding uke you can build with basic hand tools — just follow the illustrated instructions and apply a finish.

See details below

Email a friend
Soprano Ukulele Kit
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5347 Soprano Ukulele Kit Yes
$118.00

5347-DVD Soprano Ukulele Kit with DVD SAVE $20.00 Yes
$137.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

GHS Ukulele Strings



ColorTone Aerosol Finishing Kit



Grover Ukulele Tuning Machines



Waverly Ukulele Tuners



Tenor Ukulele Kit



GHS Ukulele Strings
ColorTone Aerosol Finishing Kit
Grover Ukulele Tuning Machines
Waverly Ukulele Tuners
Tenor Ukulele Kit



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
Assembly is simple, the neck has already been shaped, and all parts are included (strings, too). This kit features solid traditional woods for great tone.

SAVE! Order your kit with our 109-minute DVD, How To Build a Ukulele Kit. Gordon and Char Mayer of Mya-Moé Ukuleles guide you step-by-step through assembly. Great tips from pro luthiers!

The kit includes:
Solid mahogany soundboard and back
Bent solid mahogany sides
Shaped neck
Slotted inlaid rosewood fingerboard
Shaped rosewood bridge
Spruce braces and linings
Traditional tuning pegs
Nut, saddle and soundhole purflings
Fretwire and strings
Detailed instructions

This soprano ukulele has 13-3/4" scale length. Larger Tenor Ukulele Kit also available.

Easy finishing options
ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer is an economical way for the beginner to apply a finish without elaborate setup or equipment. Only a few cans are needed to completely finish your ukulele. Or try brush-on application with Brushing Varnish.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Soprano Ukulele Kit
Soprano Ukulele Kit
 
4 out of 5 stars
Based on 21 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3 >
5 2-23-2014
Soprano Uke

I don't know what everyone else is complaining about, I thought this was a great kit. Instructions were easy to follow, parts and wood was milled okay. Everything lined up. It wasn't rocket science to put it all together. I did change a few things, like the fretboard, added cream binding and a better set of tuners. All in all, the uke is an awesome kit. Worth the money.

Wayne's Guitars  Amherst, NY Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
4 2-17-2014
Nicely done!

This is a finely executed kit including mostly-excellent materials cut and shaped to fine tolerances. Though a few items seemed oddly cheesy to me, it's easy and inexpensive to upgrade components. Parts such as braces can be readily worked to lighter, finer forms if you want (I did) and have the experience and judgment not to compromise the integrity of the uke. I've made guitars from scratch and so know what I'm doing, and found this uke kit to be a sure, easy build, resulting is a really excellent instrument.

twanger  CA
4 11-20-2013
Uke No 3

This is my third build. Gradually acquiring more tools to make each one a little easier. I laminated the neck this time with Huon pine (As are the bindings and neck trims). I also built my own bridge to add a bit of style. How much fun can you have with these inexpensive kits? Each one you build you increase your skill level. Great work Stewmac. The quality of these finished ukes deserve a decent set of strings though.

myuke  Melbourne, Australia Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
5 5-17-2013
A great kit

As many have stated here, it's a great kit. I agree. I also agree that you should take it slow. And do buy the video, it's money well spent. I built my kit in about 4 months, but it was my first time and I had never built an instrument before. Now I'm building from scratch and the things I learned during the building of the kit are serving me well.

Lawrence Bullock  Mendocino, CA Read my reviews (2)
4 5-06-2013
needs 2 upgrades

I had a lot of fun, but highly recommend getting the video. The tension tuners were awful, and the strings not so good. Replaced these with geared tuners and real strings and it really improved the sound and playability. Had to lower the strings quite a bit. Great way to learn how to build a uke.

houndsound  Washington
5 10-20-2012
exelente todo

todo perfecto llego a tiempo en perfecto estado, como lo acordado. un placer a ver comprado acá

Luthier Violini  Buenos Aires, Argentina
5 9-13-2012
Blinged Up Soprano Uke Kit

Just finished my first music instrument which is the soprano kit with a bit of added bling and I'm thrilled with it. I used the kit for the complicated bits (that scare a first time builder like me ) such as the fret board and sides but customised it with a spruce sound board, paua purfling, mineritchi (Aussie Acacia) headstock overlay and bone nut and bridge. It is finished with truoil which was great to use. Very happy with how it turned out and am itching to get started on a scratch build but can't make up my mind if to make the sides and back out of wenge or mulga. A friend made the basic kit and the spruce adds a little bit of resonance and volume especially with Martin fluorocarbon strings. The DVD is worth the money. Go on, make one, you will love it.

Paul H  Jarrahdale, Australia
Customer supplied image for review
5 6-21-2012
Now this is what I call fun

I ordered and the kit arrived much faster than I thought it would. I started building the fixture (tool) to alighn the sides. I could not put it down. This was the most fun project to build. It has just the right amount of challenge to build a great Uke. I have since ordered parts to do a repair on an old Mandolin that got stored in an attic in Texas for many years. I love the fact that you can get the parts you want and they get them to you fast.
I make a suggestion (from one of my errors) check square of the blade on table saw before making the fixture. It needs to be real square, not 3 degrees off. (my oops)

Jim Hall  Denver Colorado
4 5-09-2012
Ukulele Kit-DVD

Good kit. The DVD did not show finishing steps and also used a different method than one described in instructions.

Umberto Spalloni  El Paso, TX
5 4-03-2012
Soprano Ukulele Kit

Gday. Some little time ago I was having a ploinkle with my uke and decided I wanted something in mahogany or koa. One thing led to another and a mate of mine, John Copley, suggested I make one from a StewMac kit. He figured if I could make a longbow for hunting I could make a uke. He got me onto StewMac and I was really impressed with the value for money proposition and the quick turnaround - bearing in mind I am downunder. When the kit arrived I was really excited and I went round to John's place (he is a luthier with a full workshop that is full of StewMac stuff). In no time at all we had the sides in the jig and the neck and tail blocks gluing and the bracing on the top and the back. We also did the fingerboard and fretting. This was quickly followed by the kerfing (I used mandolin kerf not the stuff from the kit as I get around a lot to Festivals, including overseas and the mando kerfing from StewMac assures a stronger bond for travelling), then all the rest of the process. The instructions in the book were clear and easy to follow although I did have the advantage of the assistance of a full time luthier - so we did at times depart from the script. If you don't have access to a luthier who has made ukes - do what any good cook does and follow the recipe to the letter. Working a couple of nights per week I now have a great sounding and beautiful looking uke. This is a testament to the high quality materials provided by StewMac. I am definitely going to do another - a tenor and then have a crack at a mandolin.

Thelooseplucker  Canberra Australia
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 97 of our latest catalog.


ColorTone® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce