Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Kits : Mandolin Kits : Campfire Mandolin Kit

Campfire Mandolin Kit


Read 18 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Easy to build and fun to play! Building the Campfire mandolin requires only basic hand tools, so it's perfect for beginners.

See details below

Email a friend
Campfire Mandolin Kit
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5160 Campfire Mandolin Kit 1+ month
$158.00
This item cannot be
ordered at this time.

Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Titebond Wood Glue



Scalloped Mandolin Tailpiece



Stewart-MacDonald Mandolin Strings



GHS Mandolin Strings



ColorTone Waterbase Brushing Varnish



Titebond Wood Glue
Scalloped Mandolin Tailpiece
Stewart-MacDonald Mandolin Strings
GHS Mandolin Strings
ColorTone Waterbase Brushing Varnish



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
Veteran instrument makers will enjoy it too, because it's a quality instrument in the vintage Army-Navy style. The parts are made to fit together correctly, to save you time and work.

Great sound, great price, fun to build and fun to play!

The Campfire mandolin kit features a traditional flat solid Sitka spruce top, bent sides and flat back of mahogany, machined mahogany bolt-on neck with steel reinforcement bar and slotted rosewood fingerboard, spruce braces, mahogany body blocks, and an ebony bridge. Fretwire, fingerboard inlays and side dot material, nut blank, and strap buttons are included. Order the A-style tuners and tailpiece of your choice separately.

Patterns and complete photo-illustrated instructions help make assembly easy.

Easy finishing options
Builders love to get creative with Campfire mandolin finishes! ColorTone Aerosol Guitar Lacquer is an economical way to apply a finish without elaborate setup or equipment. Only a few cans are needed to completely finish your mandolin. Or try brush-on application with Brushing Varnish.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Campfire Mandolin Kit
Campfire Mandolin Kit
 
4 out of 5 stars
Based on 18 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 18 < 1  2
5 10-28-2012
Great kit for starters

This is a great kit. I'm only 13 and just got into lutherie and and I could not have found a better kit for that price to start acoustic building. The only problem I had was the tuning holes did not match the tuning pegs, so a little adjusting was necessary. Other then that graet kit and great experience.

Blaikie guitars  NS Read my reviews (4)
3 3-05-2012
Campfire Mandolin Kit

The neck block and caul were not fitting at all. I had to do a lot of extra work to make it fit. I had also to do a lot of work to make fit the neck to the body. The fret slots were to deep and to wide. I had to glue in the frets. I'm a little bit disapointed about the poor quality of these Items. I managed to complete the work. The mandolin looks great and souds good.

Antoine  Switzerland Read my reviews (2)
4 1-05-2012
Excellent sound!!

This mando was my first project, and I'm amazed how well the kit turned out! This instrument is very loud and bright and plays excellent if you take your time to make final adjustments. Fitting the neck was the most difficult part, the concave on the neck did not match the convex of my body. Also spend the extra and buy decent tuners, I opted for the economy tuners and they do not stay in tune, I will be replacing. But overall the quality of this kit is very good and I would highly recommend for first timers.

bpurch  Kingston, Ontario
Customer supplied image for review
2 9-22-2011
Campfire Mandolin Kit

i bought the kit this summer and i just open the box to start working on it this week. at first i check the neck block and the caul and they were not fitting good.i was able to make it fit with a bit of work. today i check the neck and i will have to work on it too to make it fit on the body but its not to bad. but i was really disapointing when i saw that the tuner i bought (economie) didnt fit at all. i dont know how i will make it fit because i dont have press drill(its off by 1/8)and the fret slot are way too deep for the fret i got with the kit. i will have to put super glue but i will always see the slot on the edge of the neck. there is another piece of wood in the box that doesnt appear on the plan. i think it goes inside under the bridge i will have to figure out where exacly. the big deal is the neck. hope i will be able to make something out of it. all that put me trought more problem solving then i was expecthing from a kit.

david allard  canada
StewMac responds

david allard,
We're sorry to hear about the defective components you received in you Campfire Kit. Rest assured we'll replace any components that do not meet the standards we promised. We hate that we let you down, but appreciate your candid feedback

4 9-22-2011
Great little Kit

Great kit, easy to assemble, the only complaint would be that they used Sapele in place of Maple.
Otherwise this is a great kit.
I subsittuted real Maple for this build. And the sound is much more pleasing.
Good quality

John Mitchell  Port Ludlow, Washington Read my reviews (4)
3 7-14-2011
Campfire Kit

Currently working on this kit. Wood seems to be of good quality, however many of the parts in my kit seem to be a bit off. The neck block was quite asymmetrical and the contour of the neck heel was not even close to the contour of the neck block. I figured, that's ok, I'll make it work and it'll be a learning experience.

Despite the problematic neck block, the body went together fine and the neck fits somewhat closely with some coaxing. But then when I went to fret the fretboard, I discovered that the fret slots are about three times deeper than necessary, making it difficult to seat the frets securely. The fretboard worked out ok too with a bit of superglue and finess.

Now, however, I am perturbed by the fact that the tuning machine holes are not even close to the right spacing (off by 1/8") and without a drill press, I'm not sure what to do. I have learned a lot while building this kit, however, I have also been significantly slowed down and, frankly, annoyed when dealing with the parts which were supposed to "fit together correctly, to save you time and work."

Doug D  Ann Arbor, MI
StewMac responds

Doug,
We're sorry to hear some of the components of the kit were not up to the quality you expected. We'll have our technicians send out a replacement neck with accurate mounting hole spacing. We hate that we let you down, but we appreciate you speaking up.

5 6-18-2011
Great kit and good training for Acoustic Guitar

Just finished and very happy with result, instructions great and timber components great quality. Easily converted to left hand by making new bridge and with binding it came up very well. Have completed two ukes, now this, so I guess the next step is the big one!

Ian Verner  Sydney, Australia Read my reviews (20)
Customer supplied image for review
5 5-16-2010
Perfect Introduction

I was very sad to see these kits go away and extremely happy to see them back. They are a perfect way to introduce yourself into instrument making. The most difficult parts are already done (neck, sound hole, bending the sides) but you do get to do your inlay, dots, bracing, kerfing, fitting, gluing, etc. Pay good attention to the nut and bridge to get that action right. The result was a nice playing that I've been using for over a year now.

Thanks to Stew Mac for bringing it back!

WalkingWhidbey  Oak Harbor, WA
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 11 – 18 < 1  2 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 95 of our latest catalog.


ColorTone® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce