Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Inlay, pearl : Tools and supplies for: Inlay, pearl cutting : Precision Router Base : Precision Router Base Complete Set

Precision Router Base Complete Set


Read 130 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Designed especially for stringed instrument work. Our exclusive design provides excellent control when routing for binding and inlays.

See details below

Email a friend
Precision Router Base Complete Set

Play video

 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5263 Precision Router Base Complete Set SAVE $11.82 Yes
$107.49


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Precision Router Base



Precision Router Edge Guide



Mini Air Pump



Router Bit for Binding



Saddle Routing Jig



Precision Router Base
Precision Router Edge Guide
Mini Air Pump
Router Bit for Binding
Saddle Routing Jig



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Instructions
SAVE when you buy this complete set including:
  • Precision Router Base
  • Edge Guide
  • 5/16" router bit for binding
  • Air pump with hose

Our sturdy, compact base is the best way to hold a Dremel for freehand routing, inlaying, widening fret slots, and more. Made of machined steel, brass and aluminum, it features precision cutting depth adjustment with large thumbwheels to eliminate guesswork.

  • Excellent control
  • Easy installation
  • Accurate freehand routing

Sturdy, compact, and adjustable
Each turn of the large knurled thumbwheels adjusts your Dremel's cutting depth by .035" (.889mm). You can rout an inlay cavity that's precisely compensated for the thickness of the pearl and glue, for less sanding later.

Tall twin handles give you excellent control for freehand routing, and you get a good view of your work. There's even a built-in nozzle for attaching a mini air pump to continuously blow away the dust—you'll rout inlay cavities more precisely, for a better fit requiring less filler.

Complete set includes:

Precision Router Base
For sturdy, accurate freehand routing
Binding Edge Guide
To cut smooth, clean binding channels up to 3/8" thick
Router Bit for Binding
Small diameter is ideal for tight curves
Mini Air Pump
Keeps the cutting area free of dust


And here's a tip from Dan Erlewine: clamp the Dremel and router base upside-down on your workbench, and use the bottom of the router base as a mini drum sander, as Dan Erlewine did for a Gibson L-1 archtop bridge in this issue of our Trade Secrets Newsletter.

Installation is easy.
Simply unscrew the threaded plastic collar on the nose of the Dremel, and screw on the Precision Router Base. Its 3/4-12 thread fits:
Dremel 4000, 400XPR, Professional, MultiPro and most corded models made since 1986
Black & Decker Wizard and RTX
Our Foredom custom handpiece

Make your Dremel a more versatile guitar shop tool.
The Precision Router Base is a direct fit on our attachments:

Attachments for
Saddle slotting
Bridge Saddle Routing Jig
Attachments for
Routing
Soundhole/Rosette Routing Jig
Purfling/Soundhole Router Guide


"Which binding tools should I choose?"
"Which binding tools should I choose?"
"Which binding tools should I choose?" Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman answers a frequent question from customers: Which tools to use for routing channels for instrument bindings?
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Precision Router Base Complete Set
Precision Router Base Complete Set
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 130 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  ...  13 >
5 4-05-2014
A satisfied customer

It is easy to use, easy to set up, it runs perfect, what more can I ask for. PERFECT THANKs.

Bjarne Christensen  Løgstør Denmark Read my reviews (8)
1 10-19-2013
Worst STEWMAC purchase ever!

This tool didn't work out so well for me. I had used the other, simpler binding router guide for a previous Tele style build, and I thought the precision base would provide more control. I was wrong! I took a lot of time setting the proper routing depth, testing each adjustment on scrap wood. I had it adjusted perfectly, with all fittings tight. About halfway around the body, this thing literally vibrated itself loose, ruining the binding channel. I know the "pros" here will say that I didn't have it tight enough, etc., but I DID. This contraption literally fell apart in my hands.

Mandojam  Charleston SC USA
5 8-17-2013
Best tool for route bindings and other fine jobs.

Best tool I ever have got for make the bindings with my Dremel. Only the air pump is not a version for the european power. But I got the money back for this part and so I sold one in Europe extra.

Musikskorpion  Zolling, Bavaria, Germany Read my reviews (3)
5 7-12-2013
Very Happy

I am building my first guitar and used the router base with edge guide to cut my binding and purfling channels. I am amazed at how easy this was. I highly recommend this for all who use a Dremel 4000.

David F. White, III  Orangeburg, SC
5 6-30-2013
Binding router

This is the best purchase I have made in a long time. Routing binding channels is a breeze now. I have not done purfling rings yet because rings in a banjo resonator are a several inches from the edge.

Mark Harper  Lexington KY Read my reviews (44)
5 5-18-2013
Don't use your home made ones!!

I have done a lot of inlay work with a base that I had made. Finally I bought this base from Stew Mac. Wow I should have had this a long time ago. It saves time and is extremely accurate. Sure saves me time, money and headaches. Great device. Get one and the attachments you will love it. Larry Threet, Luthier Lexington SC

Larry Threet  Lexington, SC Read my reviews (10)
5 4-24-2013
Dremel Precision Base and guide

Just got my precision router base and guide and did my first solid body route. I had previously bought the smaller dremel binding tool, and found it was just too awkward for doing solid body guitars. To use that tool the dremel needs to be held in some sort of jig to keep it perfectly upright to the job, I found it too easy to tilt and end up with a route that was too deep. The precision base is a much better tool to use as it is much easier to hold it flat to the body of the guitar. I did find that I had to be very diligent in holding the plate firm when doing the horns on a solid body, to this end I would sugest that instead of the large V cut in the guide plate, a simple 3/4 inch hole in the centre would suffice. this would allow a larger contact area to the guitar body and ensure a perfect binding route no matter what.

Paul Kelly  Melbourne Australia
5 4-13-2013
Precision Router Set

This is a fantastic tool. I used it to remove 2,5 mm material from the heel of the neck and it did a wonderful job in no time. It is very precise and great to use ! I didn't use the air pump this first time.

Wiemer  Ghent Read my reviews (3)
5 4-04-2013
That is working !

Every thing is good in this tool. You try, you save it. For Europe (220v), pump need 110v transformer, otherwise, nice.

ATELIER D WURTZ  france Read my reviews (2)
4 3-27-2013
High quality . . . . but expensive

The precision router base is an excellent tool - no doubt about it. The tool is well made with obvious attention to detail. No wobble,slump, rattle, etc. 5 stars for quality 3 for $$ . .. .

GAS Buddy  Lakefield, ON, Canadia
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  ...  13 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 30 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce