Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Inlay, pearl : Tools and supplies for: Inlay, pearl cutting : Precision Router Base : Precision Router Base Complete Set

Precision Router Base Complete Set


Read 130 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Designed especially for stringed instrument work. Our exclusive design provides excellent control when routing for binding and inlays.

See details below

Email a friend
Precision Router Base Complete Set

Play video

 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5263 Precision Router Base Complete Set SAVE $11.82 Yes
$107.49


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Precision Router Base



Precision Router Edge Guide



Mini Air Pump



Router Bit for Binding



Saddle Routing Jig



Precision Router Base
Precision Router Edge Guide
Mini Air Pump
Router Bit for Binding
Saddle Routing Jig



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Instructions
SAVE when you buy this complete set including:
  • Precision Router Base
  • Edge Guide
  • 5/16" router bit for binding
  • Air pump with hose

Our sturdy, compact base is the best way to hold a Dremel for freehand routing, inlaying, widening fret slots, and more. Made of machined steel, brass and aluminum, it features precision cutting depth adjustment with large thumbwheels to eliminate guesswork.

  • Excellent control
  • Easy installation
  • Accurate freehand routing

Sturdy, compact, and adjustable
Each turn of the large knurled thumbwheels adjusts your Dremel's cutting depth by .035" (.889mm). You can rout an inlay cavity that's precisely compensated for the thickness of the pearl and glue, for less sanding later.

Tall twin handles give you excellent control for freehand routing, and you get a good view of your work. There's even a built-in nozzle for attaching a mini air pump to continuously blow away the dust—you'll rout inlay cavities more precisely, for a better fit requiring less filler.

Complete set includes:

Precision Router Base
For sturdy, accurate freehand routing
Binding Edge Guide
To cut smooth, clean binding channels up to 3/8" thick
Router Bit for Binding
Small diameter is ideal for tight curves
Mini Air Pump
Keeps the cutting area free of dust


And here's a tip from Dan Erlewine: clamp the Dremel and router base upside-down on your workbench, and use the bottom of the router base as a mini drum sander, as Dan Erlewine did for a Gibson L-1 archtop bridge in this issue of our Trade Secrets Newsletter.

Installation is easy.
Simply unscrew the threaded plastic collar on the nose of the Dremel, and screw on the Precision Router Base. Its 3/4-12 thread fits:
Dremel 4000, 400XPR, Professional, MultiPro and most corded models made since 1986
Black & Decker Wizard and RTX
Our Foredom custom handpiece

Make your Dremel a more versatile guitar shop tool.
The Precision Router Base is a direct fit on our attachments:

Attachments for
Saddle slotting
Bridge Saddle Routing Jig
Attachments for
Routing
Soundhole/Rosette Routing Jig
Purfling/Soundhole Router Guide


"Which binding tools should I choose?"
"Which binding tools should I choose?"
"Which binding tools should I choose?" Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman answers a frequent question from customers: Which tools to use for routing channels for instrument bindings?
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Precision Router Base Complete Set
Precision Router Base Complete Set
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 130 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  13 >
4 3-25-2013
Router Base

Beautifully made. It would be more useful, however, if it had a plunge capability. Everything I will use this for involves multiple passes in a tiny, critically precise space. Pretty hard to get the bit to plunge without dings after every adjustment.

fullwedge  Cornwall on Hudson, NY Read my reviews (21)
5 3-17-2013
A versatile tool

An excellent tool for any fine woodworking. I make Native American flutes and this is just the tool I need for making the precision wind way.

texbrandt  Fort Worth TX
5 3-06-2013
stewmac router base set

very nice product, nicely machined great set up for a good price router base,edge guide, air pump,binding Bit, the one thing that would make it better is plunge capabuility i highly recomend, have not found a better one on the market.

ROGER BARRETT  SAN MARTIN, CA. Read my reviews (9)
5 2-21-2013
Precise and easy to use

My favorite Dremel accessory. Does a clean work for bindings and inlays.

Jef B  France
5 12-07-2012
Well Done Stew-Mac!

I bought my precision router base kit back in 2010. and I've used it well. but recently, it was knocked off my bench and broke both studs at the base plate. (those studs could use a bit more "beef" there) but Stew mac sent me a new pair of studs with no fuss or explanation required. THANK YOU Stew-Mac for a great tool AND stellar service!

bruce bennett  chattanooga TN
5 12-02-2012
Makes routing for inlay painless

This was used on my recent F-5 mandolin. The inlay was intimidating at first but after scribing the outline the Precision base made it stable and easy to rout out the design. Also adjusting the depth was simple. Highly recommended!

markgrant  tennessee Read my reviews (17)
5 11-25-2012
Precision Router Set worked GREAT for Newbies

My cousin & I are progressing NICELY on our first guitar kit! His router slid right into a groove after just a few sample passes on scrap lumber. The Base Kit performed better / easier than we expected, with clear, precise cuts. We did NOT use for inlays...yet ... Recommend your practice cuts (for other newbies) be performed on curved scrap with the same radius as your upper bout. Both of the curves were tighter & cross grain & need some "experience" before addressing your project. (the depth of cut was a tad shallow). We were very satisfied. Gary & John

Gary Drinkwater  Baton Rouge, La Read my reviews (2)
4 11-07-2012
The tool has a small flaw...

First of, this is overseas, how much faster do you want it? Just a few days, very cool! thumbs up! The tool however has a small flaw. The baseplate has a ding in it! This will definitly leave scratches on wood and/or finish. It looks like the baseplate was not carefully handled. It was packaged fine, so it must have gotten damaged somewhere in the production process... Also the edges of the base are very sharp, again this will likely increase the risk of scratches here and there. No worries, the base is made of aluminium, a little sandpaper will do wonders. But for the price the base should have been flawless/smooth I believe. Hence the 4 stars. I purchased it with the Foreman motor and handpiece, impressive!

JHG Guitars  Apeldoorn, the Netherlands
StewMac responds

JHG Guitars,
We apologize that the router base had a ding. We've inspected our stock. If you can't sand it out or aren't getting great results with your setup, please contact us so we can send a replacement. Thank you for your order!

Customer supplied image for review
5 10-14-2012
Fine engineering!

This is so well made and so nice to look at that I was reluctant to use it! However when I got it all put together with the Dremel, the guide and the bit it all worked perfectly. Really well made, the only slight thing you have to watch is that the yolk holding the Dremel is parallel with the base when you lock it in place.

Mike Raeburn  Aberdeen, UK Read my reviews (4)
1 10-01-2012
Poor product !

I followed the instructions and tightend all the screws as instructed and after a minute of trimming (I tried to trim binding for a neck) the screws just loosened and I routed into the neck (I lost a perfectly good neck a a fingerboard). Beware !!!! I'm buying Stewmac tools since I've started building. This is by far the worst product I've encountered. Stewmac has much better quality product than this one.

Gil Solomon  Israel Read my reviews (11)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  13 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 30 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce