Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Inlay, pearl : Tools and supplies for: Inlay, pearl cutting : Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits

Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits


Read 87 Reviews   |   Write a Review

The best for inlay work and saddle slotting! Solid carbide lasts far longer than steel, and reverse spiral flutes cut downward for cleaner, "no fuzz" edges in routed cavities.

See details below

Email a friend
Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5155 Set of all 5 sizes SAVE $10.00 3-4 weeks
$82.75

5154 1/8" dia. Yes
$18.55
3 or more $17.05  

5153 3/32" dia. Yes
$18.55
3 or more $17.05  

5152 1/16" dia. 3-4 weeks
$18.55
3 or more $17.05  

5151 3/64" dia. 3-4 weeks
$18.55
3 or more $17.05  

5150 1/32" dia. Yes
$18.55
3 or more $17.05  


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Precision Router Base



Binding Router Guide



Purfling/Soundhole Router Guide



Dremel 4000 Rotary Tool Outfit



Soundhole and Rosette Routing Jig



Precision Router Base
Binding Router Guide
Purfling/Soundhole Router Guide
Dremel 4000 Rotary Tool Outfit
Soundhole and Rosette Routing Jig



Details
 Pictures
To use our 1/8"-shank bits in your laminate trimmer's 1/4" collet, see our #5246 Adapter Collet.

Length 1-1/2" (38.10mm)
Shank diameter 1/8" (3.18mm)

Use the larger bits for removing wood in the middle of your inlay work, and save the fine bits for the fine details. The fine detail bits are fragile, for routing intricate details only.

Item Primary use Width of cut Depth of cut
5154 For inlay routing and bridge saddle slots 1/8" (0.1250", 3.18mm) 1/2" (0.375", 9.53mm)
5153 For inlay routing and bridge saddle slots 3/32" (0.0938", 2.38mm) 1/4" (0.250", 6.35mm)
5152 For fine detail inlay routing 1/16" (0.0625", 1.59mm) 3/16" (0.188", 4.78mm)
5151 For fine detail inlay routing 3/64" (0.0469", 1.19mm) 1/8" (0.125", 3.18mm)
5150 For fine detail inlay routing 1/32" (0.0313", 0.79mm) 1/8" (0.125", 3.18mm)


/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits
Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 87 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  9 >
5 9-18-2013
Very good

I use the eighth inch diameter bit to do acoustic saddle slot routing, and it works perfectly. An accurate setup and an accurate bit leaves a clean channel and a sharp edge. Will buy again.

Jon Anderson  Saint Paul, MN Read my reviews (9)
5 8-29-2013
downcut bits and precision router base

I was introduced to stewmac by a gentleman in burlington, ontario and was informed about your down cut bits. On opening your site, i also discovered your precision router base for dremel. I couldn't believe it. Its exactly what i was looking for. I bought it and a few bits and when it came, i tried it on some cocobolo wood and was totally blown away. It is not often that i have found such good quality at such an affordable price. Thank you so much for offering such a valuable tool that is also affordable. My only regret was not buying the entire set of downcut bits all at once.

woodmeister3  canada
5 8-24-2013
Under saddle pickup installation a breeze

I use your Spiral Downcut bits and the precision router base for pickup installs and saddle slot touchups/leveling. And these tools have made these critical jobs very easy! Thanks for always having the right tools for the job!!

Dave Feder  Islamorada Fl
5 8-16-2013
Great bits!

Have only used to rout one ebony fretboard so far. They worked great, very sharp clean cuts. I bought the full set which might be more then necessary. Very pleased with the product.

George H.  Mesick, Michigan USA Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
5 6-24-2013
Excellent for inlay work and narrow binding

Does exactly what the ad says, cuts a clean channel with minimal fuzz on the edge. Especially good when routing soundhole inlays in spruce (much less tearout than with other bits) and I find that the 1/8" size works pretty well for routing top and back purfling and binding. The fine sizes are brittle, of course, so you can't push them too hard through ebony and rosewood. Hold an edge surprisingly long.

Fred Hocker  Stockholm, Sweden Read my reviews (9)
5 6-21-2013
great for CNC

I've been using the 1/32 and 3/64 bits for labeling plastic parts. The two-fluted design and downcut make it possible to cut the plastic with minimal deburring. Fantastic!

Jacob Hawkins  Columbus, OH Read my reviews (5)
5 5-16-2013
very nice bit

This is my first inlay/routing work, and I am very pleased with the quality of this bit. I am using the 3/32" to rout a Gibson rosewood fretboard and while I have not attempted it yet, the practice runs I've been doing on wood are excellent. I was able to practically remove one layer at a time of finish!

adamstivala  Miami, FL
5 5-15-2013
inlay bits

These small, hard to find, downcut bits work very well. So well a person needs to use care not to cut way more than needed. Guess how I know this... I needed very clean cuts and these bits performed that task nicely. Thanks, Stew-mac.

Tom Askins  Bradenton, Fl Read my reviews (3)
5 4-10-2013
Perfect bits, especially for inlay

They cut fast, quick and chip less. If you're low on cash, try at least #2 and #5

Marcio Costa  Brasil Read my reviews (37)
5 4-03-2013
Like a hot knife through butter

I was using a router bit that came with a 200 piece tool kit and when I switched to one of these bits I could tell there was no comparison. The router didn't "pull" itself and allowed me to effortlessly make clean cuts.

Brazos Pirate  TX Read my reviews (10)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  9 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 30 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce