Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Inlay, pearl : Pre-cut inlays : Abalone Dots

Abalone Dots


Read 28 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Pre-cut paua abalone inlays are 0.050" (1.27mm) thick, flat, and ready to inlay. Sold individually.

See details below

Email a friend
Abalone Dots
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0001-A 4mm (5/32") dia.
Restricted: Cannot ship outside the U.S.
Yes
$0.70
25 or more $0.47  
100 or more $0.41  

0002-A 5mm (13/64") dia.
Restricted: Cannot ship outside the U.S.
Yes
$0.70
25 or more $0.47  
100 or more $0.41  

0003-A 6mm (15/64") dia.
Restricted: Cannot ship outside the U.S.
Yes
$0.70
25 or more $0.47  
100 or more $0.41  

0011-A 6.35mm (1/4") dia.
Restricted: Cannot ship outside the U.S.
Yes
$0.72
25 or more $0.49  
100 or more $0.42  

0004-A 7mm (17/64") dia.
Restricted: Cannot ship outside the U.S.
Yes
$0.80
25 or more $0.56  
100 or more $0.47  

0014-A 8mm (5/16") dia.
Restricted: Cannot ship outside the U.S.
Yes
$0.91
25 or more $0.64  
100 or more $0.54  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Pearl Dots



Gold Pearl Dots



Pearl Inlay Book



Essential Pearl Cutting Tool Kit



Pearl Dots
Gold Pearl Dots
Pearl Inlay Book
Essential Pearl Cutting Tool Kit



Details
 Pictures
We recommend epoxy or super glue for installing all our inlays. Inlay filler colors can be mixed with epoxy for matching ebony and rosewood.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Abalone Dots
Abalone Dots
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 28 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3 >
3 1-23-2014
Some nice, some not so nice

The good new is that these are thick, solid pieces, and some do have beautiful figure and color, but out of the 25 dots that I purchased, only about half were pretty enough to put in an instrument that I care about. The rest were either too dull or blotchy. I don't expect all of them to be first-quality, but this was a little disappointing since I've had such a good experience with SM's other products, including white pearl and gold pearl dots. Maybe this is a fact of life with Paua, but I've done better buying elsewhere. Still, these met my needs, and the good ones do look nice.

Geetah Hackah  California Read my reviews (3)
5 11-03-2013
Abalone Dots

The quality of this products is very good. It is the first time I have ever worked with any inlay and it was nice to get exactly what you asked for. I ordered both the 5mm and also the 6.35mm they were all there and were perfect. I will be buying more.

lplocations  Burbank, Ca
Customer supplied image for review
5 9-04-2013
Abalone Pre-cut inlays

These abalone position markers are beautiful. Easy to install. Thay give the guitar an elegant look. I removed the clay dots from my strat, darkened the wood with StewMac Black Fingerboard Stain. I laid a base of 20-X super glue. The next day I put in the abalone dots. This baby's pretty.

Sig's Guitar Repair  Pennsylvania Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
5 9-04-2013
What Big Dots you Got Granma!

I have gotten other dots of different materials from Stew-Mac and I was happy with them. I was the most pleased with these. They had lots of color contrast and the swirl patterns were great even on the smaller sizes (4mm) used for side dots. Brad Point bits and side face of tweezers with a little wood glue gets you a flawless,flush fit.

Bama Hound  Alabama
5 8-29-2013
Abalone Dots

I didn't know if I should try installing inlays on my first instrument build but these Abalone dots really set the instrument off and were easy to install. I'll be doing more of these.

BubbaD  Bassett, VA Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
5 7-20-2013
Beautiful abalone dots!

I used these abalone dots on a custom maple neck I built for a Telecaster. Outstanding color and brightness, really made the neck stand out. Some of the nicest color abalone I've ever seen.

Billy M  Baker, LA Read my reviews (10)
5 6-18-2013
Perfect.

Always good quality, very happy with these.

rich.chaffins  Morgantown, WV Read my reviews (11)
5 6-05-2013
Great Color!

I just ordered a bunch of these (1/4") for a custom build. I haven't measured or installed them yet, but they look pretty consistent. The best part is the color. I was hoping for some exceptional color, rather than the greyish abalone from the images on the site. All of the ones I received were very striking blues and greens with black striping. Very impressed and worth not buying 100 online and sorting to find the 10 or so actually worth using.

Andrew H.  South Carolina, USA Read my reviews (44)
5 6-01-2013
Great product!

I am rebuilding a cheap pawn shop guitar and I decided to upgrade the plain white inlays with these nice abalone ones. Really happy I did! It took me about 8 hours of work but it was well worth it.

Riley  Tulsa
Customer supplied image for review
4 12-22-2012
very nice

I would recommend buying 5-6 more dots than you need. This way you can choose similar dots. I had a few that were way darker then the rest.They could have been better matched.Yes, I realize thay are random but a closer match would have been nice.

Bein55  Geneseo, IL Read my reviews (6)
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 35 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce