Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Hardware, parts : Banjo: Heads : Elite Amber Banjo Heads

Elite Amber Banjo Heads


Read 15 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Warm tone with extra clarity. Bring new tone possibilities with a sound that's a bit brighter than the original Elite, but warmer than a standard plastic head.

See details below

Email a friend
Elite Amber Banjo Heads
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0498-L 11" low crown Yes
$17.51
6 or more $14.89  
12 or more $12.64  

0498-H 11" high crown Yes
$17.51
6 or more $14.89  
12 or more $12.64  

0499-H 12" high crown Yes
$18.91
6 or more $16.09  
12 or more $13.65  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Five-Star Head



Elite Banjo Heads



Skin Banjo Head



Five-Star Banjo Strings



Bracket Hex Wrench



Five-Star Head
Elite Banjo Heads
Skin Banjo Head
Five-Star Banjo Strings
Bracket Hex Wrench



Details
 Pictures
Get more "snap" for old-time playing and more depth for bluegrass.
This modern head material is unaffected by moisture and resembles antique amber translucent calfskin. A banjo with a flathead tone ring (or a flat-topped banjo) usually requires a high crown head. The low crown version fits a banjo with an archtop tone ring.

Choosing the right size banjo head
Measure your banjo for the correct head diameter
Your banjo's rim may be slightly out of round, so take at least three diameter measurements at different points on the outside of the banjo's tone ring or rim top. Use the average diameter to the nearest 1/16" to order the correct size.

Most modern banjos use an 11"-diameter head. Modern makers of "old-time" open-back banjos usually use 11" (and sometimes 12") heads. Vintage banjos, however, may have a range of rim diameters from 10" to 12".



Choose the correct crown height
Crown height is the vertical distance from the top of the head's mounting band to the top surface of the head. A banjo with a flathead tone ring (or a flat-topped banjo) requires a medium or high crown head. A banjo with an archtop tone ring requires a low crown head. The correct crown height prevents the banjo's tension hoop from pulling down too far, and ensures the hoop won't be so high as to impede the strings.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Elite Amber Banjo Heads
Elite Amber Banjo Heads
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 15 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 >
4 3-31-2014
Not quite the Elite but okay

I got these because now they are the only thing offered in high crown. I used to use the Elite, or Fiberskyn before that, and loved the tone for my archtops. Appearance too. However I had uneven tension in making them work. So I tried the Ambers, out of curiosity and necessity, and they're okay. I get a plasticky sound from the high end, although the low end and midrange are good. Don't like the translucent look though; nobody wants to see my tone ring and tension rod. I wish the Elites would come in low crown but these are okay. I will try other heads to see if any are better.

JClay  San Fernando Valley
5 3-22-2014
banjo parts

I have been buying banjo stuff from Stew Macs for over 20 years & have nothing but praise for their super service. Congratulations for your great service. Photo is Irish tenor, using 5 star heads.

alan funk  , REYNELLA EAST, Australia Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 9-15-2013
What a Sound

I can't really explain in words the tone of these heads. It is a wonderful banjo sound that makes you want to hear more, rather than slapping you in the face. I think we will use them on all our 5 and 6 string open back banjos from now on.

jcj  Texas Read my reviews (3)
5 6-22-2013
Balance of Tone... Strength of adjustment...

It is a perfect fit for my 1920's SS Stewart tenor banjo... This surprised me... I say perfect, but time does funny things to banjo's... It took a lot of brute force to get it into the form the banjo has changed into... This head took extremely well to the contortions which at one point involved a hammer... After the tightening process was complete, everything looked like precision fit... As for the tone, I am amazed at the resonance and feel of it. It is warm and bright, but not annoying at all. If you are looking to tone down the brightness that makes most people want to smash banjos, but keep good tone, This is it...

Townsend Collection  Tahlequah Ok
Customer supplied image for review
4 3-03-2012
Great tone but not built to last.

I primarily work as a traditional jazz player but I also play old time clawhammer. I have found that the elite amber (also, apparently exactly the same as "Renaissance" heads) really are the best for getting that old, warm plunky sound you want when you are playing pre WWII genres. HOWEVER, they do not hold up to a lot of wear and tear. Before I switched to the eilte I was breaking a banjo head about once every two years, now it's about once every 4 months. That said, I play with a pick usually and play often very forcefully on a daily basis. I don't plan on ever switching from these things because the sound is just perfect without the hassle of a skin head (especially in an extremely humid climate with clubs that blast AC all the time), but I just thought it's worth the mention; these things do not last. But at 17 bucks a pop its worth it for me :)

JosephFaison  New Orleans, LA
5 2-09-2012
Very good sound

Fully satisfy

Tomlechat  France Read my reviews (6)
5 1-13-2012
Elite Banjo Head

Needed a hi-crown head to fit over the retrofit brass tone ring. When it all fit together, it fit like a glove, was really able to torque it down for maximum tone and resonance. Looks well made and the price was right, thanks!

Ron Brown  Rapid City, South Dakota Read my reviews (19)
Customer supplied image for review
4 11-18-2011
Reliable banjo heads

Nice sound & pleasant appearance. With most of the use being on old-time banjos, the fact that the head material could be a bit more firmly fixed to the flesh ring isn't that critical. Wouldn't want to use this head on a banjo that needed serious head tension - a 5-Star would be better for that job

Andybanjo  UK Read my reviews (13)
5 10-30-2011
Elite Banjo Head

I was looking for a head to replace the plastic head on my B&D Silver Bell, one that was closer to the calfskin sound. The Elite Amber head did the trick.

PHIL COOPY  LAKE WALES, FL Read my reviews (2)
5 7-05-2011
Good Head!

I will not go into great detail here but what other reviewers have said I also found to be true.

Looks : Beautiful head, made an old bean blossom look like a completely different instrument!

Tone : Warm is an understatement in my opinion. Although I loved the way it looked it did not produce the punch I wanted. So back to the old frosty for me. For anyone looking to create that older sound this is your head.

Construction : One of the better made heads I have come across. This thing is well built! I accidentally tripped and stepped on the thing during the installation process, and i'm not a little guy.... still no problems.

Trev  Charleston, SC Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 81 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce