Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Hardware, parts : Archtop fingerrest : Tortoise Pickguard Material for Archtop Instruments

Tortoise Pickguard Material for Archtop Instruments


Read 17 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Beautiful handmade solid acrylic tortoise for making an elevated guitar or mandolin pickguard.

See details below

Email a friend
Tortoise Pickguard Material for Archtop Instruments
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1700 .080-.090" (2.03-2.29mm) thick Yes
$20.95
3 or more $18.74  

1701 .120-.130" (3.05-3.30mm) thick Yes
$28.60
3 or more $25.99  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Mounting Bracket for Mandolin Pickguard



Pickguard Bracket for Gibson Les Paul



Binding Laminator



Benedetto Archtop Guitar Fingerrest



Mounting Bracket for Mandolin Pickguard
Pickguard Bracket for Gibson® Les Paul®
Binding Laminator
Benedetto Archtop Guitar Fingerrest



Details
 Pictures
The pattern is swirled throughout the gloss-surface material, not printed on a layer like many other pickguards, producing a handsome dark traditional color depth. Made of acrylic, with better stiffness and resistance to warping than celluloid when suspended over a carved-top guitar or mandolin.

Available in 6-11/16" x 11-13/16" (170mm x 300mm) sheets. Add your own edge bindings for a traditional finished look.

Note: This is a solid non-laminated material; translucency will vary with the darkness of the instrument body. Because this tortoise is handmade, individual thicknesses may vary slightly.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Tortoise Pickguard Material for Archtop Instruments
Tortoise Pickguard Material for Archtop Instruments
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 17 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 >
4 3-07-2014
My first Tortoise shell pickguard.

I have recently attempted my first second and third pickguards. One ea for a Les Paul, 335 and vintage L5. While I like the material in general, I have found that the color varied greatly between the two sheets I had bought. One very dark so that it appeared black when installed on the guitar. Also after having made a pickguard that I was proud of I peeled the protective plastic off and found a bubble in it. I too would like to see larger sheets at a more economical price. No wonder they don't put this material on low end guitars if it really costs that much. I would also like to see laminated binding offered. It's very labor intensive to make your own and hardly cost effective.

Casey with a moustache  jacksonville fl.
4 11-06-2013
tortoise pickguard material

great stuff, but I wish you could stock larger sizes!!!

jack briggs  raleigh, nc
5 10-30-2013
Tortoise Pickguard

I was looking for something a bit different as I was building my interpretation of a LP Jr/Special hybrid. The material is so much nicer than the “print” laminated stuff that is out there plus I had no interest in the white pinstripe around the perimeter. It is very easy to work and the edges polish up nicely. Highly recommended.

BE  Chesterton, IN Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-14-2013
outstanding

I used this material to make a pick guard for an old arch top Harmony that was missing one. Easy to work with & polishes up real nice in finishing. If you have a light body guitar the figuring shows up really good,but doesn't so much on a dark body.I piece is enough for two pick guards,but probably too thick for acoustic flattops. Really good price

ph  Florida Read my reviews (18)
5 5-29-2013
Perfect replacement

This Tortoise Pickguard Material was perfect to replace the warped original on my 1946 ES-125. I kept the original in a safe place (with the crumbling tuners) and the guitar is like new.

Red Arrow  Kalamazoo, MI
5 5-02-2013
Very Good

I'm about to order more after building my first two pickguards. The quality is excellent and it machines very well. Only criticism is that the resin is poured in quite a linear fashion - I'd prefer a bit of a swirl. There are some light patches which are quite transparent. I angled the template slightly to offset the 'grain' and avoid light patches. Recommended!

Moriarty Guitars  Dublin Ireland Read my reviews (12)
Customer supplied image for review
5 4-20-2013
Pickguard

Very nice piece indeed . made two pickguards out of it . One for a 49 forcillo [ very rare ] One for a 46 harmony thanks so much . Stewmac rocks

Ken S.  Canada Read my reviews (4)
3 2-27-2013
Appearance was disappointing

I'm no luthier. I was just trying to make a dupe of the pickguard on my son's Norma acoustic. It was bought by my uncle @ 1963, resembles a Hummingbird, and has a shattered p/g. The stick-ons sold today would ruin the look. Anyway, half of the piece I got was a nice (but dark) tortoise-shell, the other half was pretty much black. But even if the whole thing were the right pattern, it would be too dark for my app, screwing it directly on the guitar like the original. As an elevated finger-rest, it would probably look better, and I think you'll naturally find a variance between pieces. I'd order several and return the ones that are less than ideal.

JRodino  Gary, IN
5 11-28-2012
good quality

I should have paid more attention to thickness. way too thick for what I wanted

Marvin James  Kersey, Colorado Read my reviews (9)
5 9-22-2012
Great Material

The best I can find out there for a good looking Tortoise Shell look and feel. The sheet is small. You will be lucky to get 2 small archtop pickguards out of it. Stewart Mac I am begging you! Please offer this in a large sheet!! People want this material on Solid Bodies too. That other Laminate Tortoise shell you offer is useless.

Mike Quick  Deland, FL
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 37 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce