Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Hardware, parts : Acoustic guitar: Pickguards : Acoustic Guitar Pickguard

Acoustic Guitar Pickguard


Read 33 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Protect and beautify your instrument with our shaped high-gloss self-adhesive plastic and abalone pickguards for Dreadnought guitar.

See details below

Email a friend
Acoustic Guitar Pickguard
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5860 Tortoise Yes
$8.92
3 or more $7.98  

5861 Black Yes
$3.99
3 or more $3.59  

5862 Clear Yes
$3.59
3 or more $3.23  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Tortoloid Acoustic Dreadnought Pickguard



Spruce Patching Wood



Guitar Player Repair Guide



Acoustic Pickguard Blanks



Tortoloid Pickguard Material



Tortoloid Acoustic Dreadnought Pickguard
Spruce Patching Wood
Guitar Player Repair Guide
Acoustic Pickguard Blanks
Tortoloid Pickguard Material



Details
 Pictures
Our PVC plastic pickguards have the sought-after authentic 1930s Dreadnought shape. They're available in distinctive brown tortoise, black and clear.

Item# Color Dimensions Radius at soundhole edge
5860 Tortoise* 0.025" x 7" x 3-13/16"
(0.64mm x 177.80mm x 80.96mm)
2-3/8" (60.32mm)
5861 Black 0.025" x 7" x 3-13/16"
(0.64mm x 177.80mm x 80.96mm)
2-3/8" (60.32mm)
5862 Clear 0.011" x 7" x 3-13/16"
(0.28mm x 177.80mm x 80.96mm)
2-3/8" (60.32mm)

Need to cut other pickguard sizes? See our Acoustic Pickguard Blanks.

*The tortoise pattern is printed.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Acoustic Guitar Pickguard
Acoustic Guitar Pickguard
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 33 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4 >
4 11-13-2011
Clear pick guard

I wanted a clear stick-on pick guard for my Takemine EAN40C12. This guitar has a beautiful but soft cedar top, and is easily dented or marked. Also the finish is satin;other attempts at stick on pick guards, left ugly bubbles as the surface is not smooth as a gloss finish. The StewMac supplied pick guard was thin and flexible and the adhesive seemed to adhere well with minimal air pockets.
The radius was easy to align around the soundhole. This is a good value product.

PhilOCanada  Canada
5 9-01-2011
Tortoise Pickguard Review

I ordered Item # 5860 - Tortoise Pickguard from Stew-Mac, after discussing my interests by phone. It replaced the basic black Martin Pickguard that came standard with my otherwise attractive but understated new Martin DC-E1 Acoustic Electric Dread guitar.

The new replacement pickguard was pretty much the exact same size and shape. I had cautiously removed the old pickguard with no problem. Peeled off the back of the new pickguard from Stew-Mac and applied carefully, and it was that easy. The new pickguard is much more attractive than shown even! I had previously replaced the rather plain-looking white Tusq bridge pins with Martin ebony and abalone ones, and now the entire guitar looks so much better.

The entire "effect" on the appearance is like night and day! Yet, it still stays within the spirit of how I wanted my guitar to look - elegant and not overly flashy. I was most pleased with the entire purchase process, info provided prior to sale, and then the actual product, itself. NO offense to Martin, and everyone has different preferences. The guitar sounds really great - no matter what.

I would also caution anyone reading this or considering replacement of a pickguard to use extreme caution and common sense in removing their old pickguard. If you have never done this before, please read up on it first. I believe there is info available through Stew-Mac that will help you out. Regardless, it's great to have your favorite instrument better reflect your tastes, too. Same great tone, much better look in my own personal opinion. I continually receive compliments on this guitar.

Don Patrick  Milwaukee, WI
4 8-03-2011
Clear pickguard is deceiving

When I first received my clear pickguard, I was disappointed that it wasn't clear, but had a frosted appearance. Only after much examination did I realize there was a protective film applied over the guard; it's not obvious that it's there. The film is quite uniformly applied and tightly adhering. Once removed, there was a glossy clear guard underneath. I wish the guard was a bit thicker, but it does protect against pick marks and looks good.

ras1500  Queen Creek, AZ Read my reviews (3)
5 6-01-2011
excellent

I always wanted to try a clear pick guard and this was a great choice. Perfectly shaped, professionally packaged, and a snap to install. Thanks!

nickton  San Pablo, CA Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
3 5-13-2011
Tortoise good - clear disappointing

I purchased a tortoise pickguard a while back for use on an old acoustic guitar. The guard looked good, was of decent quality and adhered well. I recently purchased a clear guard for my new acoustic guitar. As noted in other reviews, the guard material is very thin. But most disappointing is that the clear guard was not clear, but has a frosted appearance. I decided not to install it on my nice tiger eye maple guitar.

ras1500  Queen Creek, AZ Read my reviews (3)
2 1-21-2011
WHAT WILL I GET???

I ordered two of these clear pickguards in the Summer of 2010--both for gloss guitars. When they arrived, I found that they have a matte finish. I went back and revisited the listing on StewMac, and realized it doesn't say either glossy or matte. So I used them anyway. More recently, in December 2010, I ordered two more, because I'd picked up two new guitars, both with satin finish, one of which was a Seagull S6 (pictured). I assumed that when I received the pickguards, they would again be matte finish, but they were glossy finish. I'm not sure that StewMac knows what they actually have and would be concerned about ordering again without some clarification on their site. I am reluctant to reorder now not knowing whether I'll get glossy or matte finish clear pickguards.

VintageGuitars  Brownsburg, Indiana, USA
StewMac responds

VintageGuitars,
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We have checked stock and confirmed that all of these acoustic pickguards are glossy. We apologize for the inconvenience this caused you. When you are ready to reorder, feel free to call us 800-848-2273 and we will gladly verify our stock at that time.

Customer supplied image for review
4 10-25-2010
fulfills its function

It's very thin .. but as an alternative for low-end, fulfills its function.
Not good for quality guitars ..

BHSLuthier  Argentina Read my reviews (17)
1 9-26-2010
Not up to Stew Mac Standards

I recently purchases a few tortoise, black and clear pickguards. The Tortoise guards are nice, but the black and clear guards are junk. Save your money. I threw mine away. They're clearly not up to standards. They're soft, scratch easily, and they're thin. But what do you expect for less than $4?

xmptle  NY
4 9-22-2010
Clear Pickguard

Over the years I have purchased three of the clear pickguards. They are very easy to apply. You can customize them to fit various guitars from a parlor to a dreadnought. They provide the right amount of protection for the top without hiding the beauty of the wood or the finish. They are a great value for the outlay.

S. McCombs  Delta Jct., AK
5 9-20-2010
Great Find/Excellent Choice

I installed the tortoise pick guard on my two most recently constructed D Model guitars. They look great!!!! I had searched for tortoise pick guards and most that looked decent were pricey. These are very reasonably priced and look great which inturn add to the value of my guitars but keep the price down so more people can afford to purchase and play them. Thanks Stemac. I can always count on you to find and supply the right products.

Gary Clardy  Burns, TN Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 37 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce