Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Hardware, parts : Acoustic guitar: Bridge and endpins : Bone Bridge Pins

Bone Bridge Pins


Read 47 Reviews   |   Write a Review

High quality old-style lathe-turned bridge pins in genuine bone. All pins have a 5-degree taper.

See details below

Email a friend
Bone Bridge Pins
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4970 Unslotted, no dot, set of 6 Yes
$26.02
6 or more $22.24  

4971 Unslotted, with black dot, set of 6 Yes
$27.78
6 or more $23.96  

4970-S Slotted, set of 6 Yes
$27.40
6 or more $21.92  

4971-S Slotted, with black dot, set of 6 Yes
$28.40
6 or more $22.72  

4973-S Slotted, oversized with no dot, set of 6 Yes
$27.40
6 or more $21.92  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Bone Bridge Pins with Abalone Inlay



Bridge Pin Hole Reamer



Bridge Pin Hole Slotting Saws & Files



StewMacs Guitar Strap Button



L.R. Baggs Anthem SL System



Bone Bridge Pins with Abalone Inlay
Bridge Pin Hole Reamer
Bridge Pin Hole Slotting Saws & Files
StewMac Guitar Strap Button
L.R. Baggs Anthem SL System



Details
 Pictures
Specs
Slotted pins have a 0.070" (1.78mm) string slot. Oversized pins are thicker for worn bridge pin holes. Sold in packages of 6.

These bridge pins match our endpins and strap buttons.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Bone Bridge Pins
Bone Bridge Pins
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 47 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  5 >
4 4-24-2013
two shaded bone bridge pins

i would have given this a five star if only i received 6pins of the same shade. unfortunately, i got 3pcs of a darker shade and 3 pcs of a whiter shade. Looks wrong!
I understand this is bone, but the guy who packed this set should atleast selected roughly the same shade. doesnt matter which shade to me though.
Aside from the aesthetic issue, fits perfectly on my acoustic guitar!

qwixzh  Philippines Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 4-02-2013
beautiful pins

These pins come with beautiful pearl white color. I'm regretted not to ask stewmac to pick up those with yellow stain. I prefer those uneven color than pearl white. But it is okay since I can dye it. I had dye my set with coffee so it give it a little bit of vintage look.

CenseSence  Perak, Malaysia Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
4 3-05-2013
Again Bridge pins too long

Shame beacause the pins are very nice and do sound nice but they're sticking out like so many others have mentionned.... Would have expected a better fit for standard Dreadnaught.

Frank L  Montreal Quebec Canada
5 2-27-2013
Bone Bridge Pins

Just received my new bone bridge pins. Replaced the plastic ones in my new Gibson J45 Custom Shop(why Gibson persists in putting plastic pins on a guitar of this caliber is still beyond me...but I digress). Because the J45 is a 1960's re-issue it has a great vintage vibe and these pins were just what the Dr. ordered. Fast and efficient delivery from Stewmac. Believe this is the beginning of a long and expensive relationship...maybe a set of Waverly's next?

Chris W Graham  Ottawa, Ont
3 12-08-2012
Irregular sizes

I recently acquired a cool Recording King Troubadour Limited Edition guitar with a bone saddle and nut but plastic bridge pins. I ordered this set to dress up the guitar and bring the pins up to the quality of the saddle and nut. The new pins are beautiful but I had to sand four out of the six to make them fit properly. I love the look but I don't know if the tone changed much. These are pretty expensive for bridge pins and I expected the size to be consistent.

SoniC ox  San Diego Read my reviews (9)
5 11-02-2012
Great Pins

These were an excellent upgrade to my Martin HD-28. I needed to widen the holes a little to make them fit as others have said, but the outcome was great. The 6 I received were all even, smooth, and perfectly made. What others don't know on here is that their isn't a perfect standardized system to bridge pins (even from the best guitar builders) some degree of sizing is necessary no matter what.

Dustin D  Long Beach, CA
2 10-05-2012
Slotted Bridge pins

Nice Material but they are way too big and they end up sticking out too high out of the saddle.

Larry R  USA
5 10-04-2012
Beautiful!

These bone pins are beautifully polished and they fit well into a Martin bridge with just a very slight reaming necessary. Great way to give an extra touch of class!

Freddy Gabrsek  Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada Read my reviews (4)
4 8-22-2012
Bone Bridge Pins Look and Feel Great

I purchased bone bridge pins for my Gibson J-200 after I had swapped out the original (plastic) pins with brass pins. The brass pins seemed to eliminate some of the overtones of the instrument and since they were already showing corrosion after less than a year, I decided to go with the bone pins to see if they would make a difference. Also, I chose bone over ebony or rosewood (or Tusq) because the nut on my J-200 is made of bone - so the new pins match. Anyway, while the difference is subtle (from the original pins), the bone pins certainly haven't hurt the tone of the guitar. And even if the tone isn't greatly improved (not that I expected it, or needed it to be), I purchased these for aesthetic reasons as well. They look like they belong in a $3000 guitar and they just feel much more substantial than the original pins.

It's a minor technicality, but when you spend that much on a guitar, why not pull out all the stops? So I give them 4 stars because they're pretty and of obvious high quality but not 5 stars because they didn't significantly improve the tone of the guitar. Again, they didn't necessarily need to improve the tone, but it would have been nice. And, at any rate, the J-200 sounds great anyway, so what little improvement might be had is probably not going to matter anyway. Since these pins are expensive, I don't recommend them for cheaper guitars (like guitars that have a plastic nut) - you're probably better off getting rosewood, ebony or Tusq pins for such a guitar (I particularly like rosewood pins as well), but for a high-end instrument, why not? It's like buying a diamond necklace for your supermodel girlfriend - sure she's gorgeous without it but the diamonds really make her better features "pop". It's not a perfect analogy but it works for me.

kayen  Mesa, AZ
5 8-10-2012
Bone 4 Tone

These pins are perfect I don't believe there is any better.One pin was bright white and the others more marbled;Stew-Mac replaced it no questions and I had it in 2 days.Killer sustain and clarity;much better than stock Gibson plastic.Thank you Stew-Mac I give you "Gold".

lapdog  florida Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 61 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce