Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Gotoh Aluminum 'Stop' Tailpiece

Gotoh Aluminum 'Stop' Tailpiece


Read 38 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Lightweight vintage design. Just like the original 1950s aluminum alloy model, this reproduction is 2-3 ounces lighter than familiar standard versions.

See details below

Email a friend
Gotoh Aluminum Stop Tailpiece
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5851 Chrome, 5/16-24 Yes
$33.64
3 or more $28.74  

5851-N Nickel, 5/16-24 Yes
$33.64
3 or more $28.74  

5740 Chrome, M8 x 1.25 Yes
$33.64
3 or more $28.74  

5740-N Nickel, M8 x 1.25 Yes
$33.64
3 or more $28.74  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Gotoh Stop Tailpiece



Nashville Tune-o-matic Bridge



Tune-o-Medic Bridge and Tailpiece Tools



Golden Age Roller Bridge



Pigtail 50s Stud Bushings



Gotoh 'Stop' Tailpiece
Nashville Tune-o-matic Bridge
Tune-o-Medic Bridge and Tailpiece Tools
Golden Age Roller Bridge
Pigtail '50s Stud Bushings



Details
 Pictures
Specs
The strings can be installed from the front or rear. Height-adjustable U.S. (5/16-24) or metric (M8 x 1.25) threaded mounting studs and knurled bushings are included. 3-1/4" post spacing.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Gotoh Aluminum Stop Tailpiece
Gotoh Aluminum 'Stop' Tailpiece
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 38 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4 >
5 1-08-2012
5740 - Chrome: Epiphone 58 Explorer

I read a ton of reviews and forums about this tailpiece and the non-aluminum versions before purchasing. I was a little skeptical about how much improvement in tone and sustain that most reviews were claiming. However, I was surprised after I replaced the stock tailpiece on my Epiphone Explorer.

There was a boost in acoustic quality, resonance, and sustain. I could feel more string vibration in the neck and body like a previous reviewer had stated. I did notice a subtle change in the brightness of the overall tone (not enough to need to adjust my amp). To test the changes I played both with/without an amp and I used the same strings (only 2 weeks old) before and after switching the tailpiece. I will purchase another one for my Epiphone Les Paul.

Eric Clark  Mt Dora, FL Read my reviews (6)
5 1-07-2012
Awesome tone upgrade!

This little chunk of aluminum made my humbuckers cluck like p90's. I can't get over the difference in tone coming from the stock Gibson tailpiece. It can be compared to the difference between old dry wood vs new green wood. It truly opened up the tone, the guitar is so airy and articulate now.

Those who say this tailpiece made little tone difference can be only one thing...tone deaf. Honestly.

This little $34 upgrade made a difference you can't put a price on. As cheesy as it sounds, it's true.

VintageWally  Canada
5 1-05-2012
Tone tone tone..

Pair this with a bone nut and you have found where your tone mysteriously went to. I have this paired with a roller bridge and I think they make a nice couple.

Steven B  Covington, GA, USA Read my reviews (2)
5 12-20-2011
Nice

Better than the pot metal "clunker" that was on there.

Rick Harrison  South Australia Read my reviews (9)
5 12-10-2011
Excellent Replacement Bridge

After reading an opinion in TQR by a luthier I decided to try a lighter aluminum tailpiece. His premise was that the lighter tailpiece increases sustain, as the originals did. But, he felt that was only true on heavier LP's, say 9lbs. and over. In his opinion, lighter, or weight relieved models, had better results from the heavier stock tailpiece. I've installed this tailpiece on my '76 Black Beauty and my '78 Standard to good effect. They are both very heavy Pauls. And I have to say I do feel the resonance at times right in my hands. A relatively cheap upgrade for your heavier model LP's for sure. You might want to experiment if you own a weight-relieved LP of any kind. Try the aluminum vs. a standard weight tail. A fairly cheap experiment that may pay off

Count Itoff  Montverde, FL Read my reviews (2)
5 10-19-2011
Part of a huge improvement

Between this and a Gotoh bridge, the tone on an Epiphone Dot Studio became much clearer, with better sustain. The posts screwed in fine to the existing threads.

whit  Rockingham, VT Read my reviews (3)
5 8-24-2011
Incredible!!!!So light,,,,

My guitar will have a special visual...!!!

Tufoeffect  Rio Claro - SP - Brazil Read my reviews (11)
5 7-30-2011
Very very lite

I put this on my SG 61 reissue. Nice looking and very lite. Have not noticed much sound or sustain improvements but its still a nice product.

SG 61  Raleigh, NC Read my reviews (2)
5 6-16-2011
Great Piece

I was amazed when I picked this up the first time. I couldn't believe how light it was. I put it right on my Les Paul and I automatically noticed loads more sustain and resonance.

Frank B.  AZ Read my reviews (4)
5 6-07-2011
qualty

good quality tailpiece and so light

with super fast delivery to scotland

i can't wait to fit this

ruthy  scotland Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 65 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce