Gotoh Aluminum 'Stop' Tailpiece

  • 34 Reviews
  • Write a review

Lightweight vintage design. Just like the original 1950s aluminum alloy model, this reproduction is 2-3 ounces lighter than familiar standard versions.

Read more
Gotoh Aluminum 'Stop' Tailpiece Chrome, 5/16-24

Chrome, 5/16-24

Item # 5851
In stock, ready to ship!

$35.35

3 or more $30.05
+
Gotoh Aluminum 'Stop' Tailpiece Nickel, 5/16-24

Nickel, 5/16-24

Item # 5851-N
In stock, ready to ship!

$35.35

3 or more $30.05
+

Chrome, M8 x 1.25

Item # 5740
In stock, ready to ship!

$35.35

3 or more $30.05
+

Nickel, M8 x 1.25

Item # 5740-N
In stock, ready to ship!

$35.35

3 or more $30.05
+
Quantity Discount Prices apply when you buy multiples of the same item number.
Currency:
Total: $0.00
Quantity: 20

Details

Lightweight vintage design. Just like the original 1950s aluminum alloy model, this reproduction is 2-3 ounces lighter than familiar standard versions.

The mounting studs are spaced 3-1/4" (82.55mm) center-to-center. Position the studs 1-1/2" (38.10mm) behind the center of the bass side bridge mounting post. Drill 7/16" (11.11mm) diameter holes for the bushings. The strings can be installed from the front or rear.


    • Item #
    • Weight
    • 5740
    • 0.174
    • 5740-N
    • 0.177
    • 5851
    • 0.200
    • 5851-N
    • 0.200

Ratings & Reviews

Gotoh Aluminum 'Stop' Tailpiece

  • EXCELLENT PRODUCT
  • GOOD PRODUCT
  • AVERAGE PRODUCT
  • FAIR PRODUCT
  • POOR PRODUCT
  • Based on 34 Reviews
Displaying 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
Write a review

great product

By KrashBurn Guitars from Redding California USA
(Customer's Reviews) Wednesday, June 04, 2014


Perfect finish quality and super light. If you want what the aluminum tail piece has to offer then this is the way to go. If money is not an object and you want some flair then get the Schroeder one.

Best Bang For the Buck in Vintage Tone

By George from Hobart, IN
(Customer's Reviews) Monday, June 02, 2014


Hello. I finally Got around to putting this item on my Epiphone Les Paul, and believe me this part does make a difference in tone. Back in the day Gibson used to use Aluminum tailpieces on their Les Pauls, then they stopped in favor of pot metal, only the historics, certain reissued or certain signature models now use the aluminum tailpiece. For Epiphone, I got the nickel metric version, I swapped out the studs, put the tailpiece on strung it up, and it has a nice tone that really resonates. Thank you stew mac for having this item.

A great buy, you'll hear the difference

By Suhr3825 from CA
(Customer's Reviews) Wednesday, February 05, 2014


This is a simple and cost effective upgrade for your Les Paul. Very light weight while improving tone.

Great product

By mikrow from Huntington Beach, CA
(Customer's Reviews) Sunday, December 22, 2013


and a perfect light weight replacement, esp the nickel for top wrap jobs

Amazing tailpiece

By Erik C from Tucson, AZ
(Customer's Reviews) Friday, November 01, 2013


Great improvement over the heavy pot metal epiphone tailpiece. Greater acoustic response, and power. Awesome!

You Need Aluminum

By Steve C. from KS.
(Customer's Reviews) Friday, October 04, 2013


If you want to replace the stop tailpiece on your guitar, what could be better than going with aluminum? This is a great Gotoh product, with beautiful, flawless chrome plating. Direct replacement on my guitar. Highly recommended.

Awesome

By David Vicars from Texas
(Customer's Reviews) Tuesday, August 06, 2013


I put this on my flying v that I made, and I love the difference in the sound and feel of the guitar now. It just feels better while playing it now, I love it

Great quality

By puddytat62 from Canada
(Customer's Reviews) Friday, July 05, 2013


I actually bought an aluminum "vintage" Gibson tailpiece as well as this Gotoh. Always been a fan of the Japanese stuff in general but this is proof positive that the Gotoh is the way to go.. so to speak. Much much better casting than the Gibson one at maybe 3 times the price. I will be getting another one or two but Gotoh is better and cheaper. BUY IT!

tailpeice

By RickM from Frederick, MD
(Customer's Reviews) Sunday, April 21, 2013


Good look for a Les Paul type setup.

On par or better than Gibson

By Dustin Lane from WIlliamsburg, Va
(Customer's Reviews) Saturday, April 20, 2013


I purchased a Gotoh Aluminum tailpiece for my Gibson ES-339 (Mainly b/c my Historic Les Paul came with an aluminum TP) and found no sonic difference whatsoever between Gibson and Gotoh. The TP was a perfect retrofit (Along with Tonepros locking studs). Save some money and buy this over Gibson,

Displaying 1 of 4
1 2 3 4


Shown on page 65 of our latest catalog.