Gotoh Aluminum 'Stop' Tailpiece

  • 34 Reviews
  • Write a review

Lightweight vintage design. Just like the original 1950s aluminum alloy model, this reproduction is 2-3 ounces lighter than familiar standard versions.

Read more
Gotoh Aluminum 'Stop' Tailpiece Chrome, 5/16-24

Chrome, 5/16-24

Item # 5851
In stock, ready to ship!

$35.35

3 or more $30.05
+
Gotoh Aluminum 'Stop' Tailpiece Nickel, 5/16-24

Nickel, 5/16-24

Item # 5851-N
In stock, ready to ship!

$35.35

3 or more $30.05
+

Chrome, M8 x 1.25

Item # 5740
In stock, ready to ship!

$35.35

3 or more $30.05
+

Nickel, M8 x 1.25

Item # 5740-N
In stock, ready to ship!

$35.35

3 or more $30.05
+
Quantity Discount Prices apply when you buy multiples of the same item number.
Currency:
Total: $0.00
Quantity: 20

Product Details

Lightweight vintage design. Just like the original 1950s aluminum alloy model, this reproduction is 2-3 ounces lighter than familiar standard versions.

The mounting studs are spaced 3-1/4" (82.55mm) center-to-center. Position the studs 1-1/2" (38.10mm) behind the center of the bass side bridge mounting post. Drill 7/16" (11.11mm) diameter holes for the bushings. The strings can be installed from the front or rear.


    • Item #
    • Weight
    • 5740
    • 0.174
    • 5740-N
    • 0.177
    • 5851
    • 0.200
    • 5851-N
    • 0.200

Ratings & Reviews

Gotoh Aluminum 'Stop' Tailpiece

  • EXCELLENT PRODUCT
  • GOOD PRODUCT
  • AVERAGE PRODUCT
  • FAIR PRODUCT
  • POOR PRODUCT
  • Based on 34 Reviews
Displaying 2 of 4 1 2 3 4
Write a review

Solid tailpiece 

By R26_1999 from Hawaii
(Customer's Reviews) Wednesday, January 02, 2013


It holds the strings so i cant ask for more

A Noticeable Improvement

By Curmudgeon from Shorewood, IL
(Customer's Reviews) Saturday, November 24, 2012


Added this tailpiece in combination with the Gotoh bridge, and my Epi '56 Gold Top really came alive! Clear, sweet tone, sustain for days. Worth every penny!

Great quality, but tone is subjective

By Chicago Matt from Woodstock, GA
(Customer's Reviews) Thursday, November 08, 2012


I decided to try this tailpiece on my modded Epi Dot that has Seth Lovers, Mojotone 335 wiring harness and Gotoh replacement tune-o-matic. All those mods were improvements, but with the Gotoh aluminum tailpiece, this guitar exhibits a harshness in the upper mids that I don't like. It looks like I'm the only one here that doesn't like the tone change. Went back to the stock Epi LockTone zinc tail, and the sweetness is back. harshness gone. Great quality and price though.

Gotoh quality is great!

By Blimpus from Chicagoland, USA
(Customer's Reviews) Wednesday, August 29, 2012


The addition of this fine product to my LP Junior DC rewarded me with a very noticeable increase in body resonance in the range of the open G string. This pitch and the octave above were somewhat soft on this guitar, but I was surprised the Gotoh aluminum tailpiece helped even these out. Even switched back to double-check! Add in that it is beautifully made and is a painless upgrade and it's tough to name a better upgrade for the dollar.

bueno, bonito y barato

By Gabriel from Peru
(Customer's Reviews) Thursday, May 17, 2012


Lo comprT para un proyecto de guitarra, asf que no sabrfa decirles la diferencia en cuesti=n de sonido respecto a un tiracuerdas de metal.

A pesar de ello, puedo decir que es un muy buen producto, pesa muy poco y se ve bien.

Gotoh Aluminum Stop Tailpiece

By Woodman from Honolulu,HI
(Customer's Reviews) Sunday, April 22, 2012


A lot lighter than stock Epi tailpiece and finish is looks more durable. Solid and well made.

Nice and Light

By Jon F from Allentown, PA
(Customer's Reviews) Thursday, April 05, 2012


I have a chambered Les Paul 50s Tribute (BTW the baked maple fingerboard looks fine and survived a dry winter on a guitar stand with no sharp fret ends!) that weighs in at just over 7 lbs. It now weighs in at just under 7 lbs. Sounds the same to me and every little step to lighten the load is a plus. Also installed is the Schaller roller bridge widening the string spacing to 2 3/26"; matching my dreadnought.

Gotoh tailpiece

By dannnny from FL
(Customer's Reviews) Saturday, February 18, 2012


Bought this for my epi les paul, improvement in sustain and tone. money well spent.

Some Serious Tail

By Frakin_sid from Nobama Land
(Customer's Reviews) Thursday, January 12, 2012


Holy Frakin Mother Of Tone. I did not know a tailpiece could do so much for a guitar. Do yourself a favor. the price is well worth the constant erection you will have after installing this bad boy.

5740 - Chrome: Epiphone 58 Explorer

By Eric Clark from Mt Dora, FL
(Customer's Reviews) Sunday, January 08, 2012


I read a ton of reviews and forums about this tailpiece and the non-aluminum versions before purchasing. I was a little skeptical about how much improvement in tone and sustain that most reviews were claiming. However, I was surprised after I replaced the stock tailpiece on my Epiphone Explorer.

There was a boost in acoustic quality, resonance, and sustain. I could feel more string vibration in the neck and body like a previous reviewer had stated. I did notice a subtle change in the brightness of the overall tone (not enough to need to adjust my amp). To test the changes I played both with/without an amp and I used the same strings (only 2 weeks old) before and after switching the tailpiece. I will purchase another one for my Epiphone Les Paul.

Displaying 2 of 4
1 2 3 4


Shown on page 65 of our latest catalog.