Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Gotoh Aluminum 'Stop' Tailpiece

Gotoh Aluminum 'Stop' Tailpiece


Read 38 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Lightweight vintage design. Just like the original 1950s aluminum alloy model, this reproduction is 2-3 ounces lighter than familiar standard versions.

See details below

Email a friend
Gotoh Aluminum Stop Tailpiece
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5851 Chrome, 5/16-24 Yes
$33.64
3 or more $28.74  

5851-N Nickel, 5/16-24 Yes
$33.64
3 or more $28.74  

5740 Chrome, M8 x 1.25 Yes
$33.64
3 or more $28.74  

5740-N Nickel, M8 x 1.25 Yes
$33.64
3 or more $28.74  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Gotoh Stop Tailpiece



Nashville Tune-o-matic Bridge



Tune-o-Medic Bridge and Tailpiece Tools



Golden Age Roller Bridge



Pigtail 50s Stud Bushings



Gotoh 'Stop' Tailpiece
Nashville Tune-o-matic Bridge
Tune-o-Medic Bridge and Tailpiece Tools
Golden Age Roller Bridge
Pigtail '50s Stud Bushings



Details
 Pictures
Specs
The strings can be installed from the front or rear. Height-adjustable U.S. (5/16-24) or metric (M8 x 1.25) threaded mounting studs and knurled bushings are included. 3-1/4" post spacing.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Gotoh Aluminum Stop Tailpiece
Gotoh Aluminum 'Stop' Tailpiece
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 38 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  4 >
5 11-24-2012
A Noticeable Improvement

Added this tailpiece in combination with the Gotoh bridge, and my Epi '56 Gold Top really came alive! Clear, sweet tone, sustain for days. Worth every penny!

Curmudgeon  Shorewood, IL Read my reviews (3)
4 11-08-2012
Great quality, but tone is subjective

I decided to try this tailpiece on my modded Epi Dot that has Seth Lovers, Mojotone 335 wiring harness and Gotoh replacement tune-o-matic. All those mods were improvements, but with the Gotoh aluminum tailpiece, this guitar exhibits a harshness in the upper mids that I don't like. It looks like I'm the only one here that doesn't like the tone change. Went back to the stock Epi LockTone zinc tail, and the sweetness is back. harshness gone. Great quality and price though.

Chicago Matt  Woodstock, GA Read my reviews (2)
5 10-25-2012
Light tailpiece and nylon nuts

With this Gotoh lightweight stop, you then add the second part of the restoration---make the proper nylon nut that Gibson used throughout the 50's until the early/mid 60's---you will achieve the vintage Gibson sound,with these two parts---the lightweight Gotoh tailpiece is the perfect retro tailpiece--with the nylon nut, you'll get "The Sound"------Skip Goez

Skip Goez  Maplewood, Missouri
5 8-29-2012
Gotoh quality is great!

The addition of this fine product to my LP Junior DC rewarded me with a very noticeable increase in body resonance in the range of the open G string. This pitch and the octave above were somewhat soft on this guitar, but I was surprised the Gotoh aluminum tailpiece helped even these out. Even switched back to double-check! Add in that it is beautifully made and is a painless upgrade and it's tough to name a better upgrade for the dollar.

Blimpus  Chicagoland, USA Read my reviews (2)
5 5-17-2012
bueno, bonito y barato

Lo compré para un proyecto de guitarra, así que no sabría decirles la diferencia en cuestión de sonido respecto a un tiracuerdas de metal. A pesar de ello, puedo decir que es un muy buen producto, pesa muy poco y se ve bien.

Gabriel  Peru Read my reviews (11)
5 5-12-2012
Incredible improvement

I was shocked at the improvement in tone after installing the Gotoh aluminum tailpiece on my Crook LP. I was expecting "subtle" and what I got was way beyond expectations: focused, chimey and musical!

Don D  Georgetown, TX
5 4-22-2012
Gotoh Aluminum Stop Tailpiece

A lot lighter than stock Epi tailpiece and finish is looks more durable. Solid and well made.

Woodman  Honolulu,HI Read my reviews (2)
5 4-05-2012
Nice and Light

I have a chambered Les Paul 50s Tribute (BTW the baked maple fingerboard looks fine and survived a dry winter on a guitar stand with no sharp fret ends!) that weighs in at just over 7 lbs. It now weighs in at just under 7 lbs. Sounds the same to me and every little step to lighten the load is a plus. Also installed is the Schaller roller bridge widening the string spacing to 2 3/26"; matching my dreadnought.

Jon F  Allentown, PA Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-18-2012
Gotoh tailpiece

Bought this for my epi les paul, improvement in sustain and tone. money well spent.

dannnny  FL Read my reviews (3)
5 1-12-2012
Some Serious Tail

Holy Frakin Mother Of Tone. I did not know a tailpiece could do so much for a guitar. Do yourself a favor. the price is well worth the constant erection you will have after installing this bad boy.

Frakin_sid  Nobama Land Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 65 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce