Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Glues, adhesives : Supplies: Applicators, syringes : Teflon Fret Dam

Teflon Fret Dam


Read 25 Reviews   |   Write a Review

For cleaner refret jobs!
Pulling old frets can chip a fretboard: keep the slots clean and glue-free for repairs.

See details below

Email a friend
Teflon Fret Dam
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0487 Teflon Fret Dam Yes
$4.98
3 or more $4.24  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

StewMac Super Glue



Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy



Fret Puller



Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam



Chip Stoppers



StewMac Super Glue
Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy
Fret Puller
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam
Chip Stoppers



Details
 Pictures
It's hard to avoid a few fingerboard chips when pulling out old frets. A piece of this .020" non-stick Teflon® in the fret slot will help keep your epoxy or super glue out of the slot as you replace or fill the chips. It pulls out easily after the glue is dry. You'll do a cleaner job, save work, and make refretting easier. The .020" x 6" x 6" (.508mm x 152.4mm x 152.4mm) sheet can be trimmed with scissors to the re-usable sizes you need.

A word from Grit Laskin, the King of Inlay:
“My inlay work frequently necessitates large cavities shockingly near to fret slots. In the past, I had no choice but to let epoxy spill over into the slot, requiring me to melt it out, afterward, with a heated saw tip. Then, along came my new best friend, StewMac’s Fret Dam. This saves me so much work and completely eliminates the potential for accidental damage of the fret slots, the inlay or the fretboard binding. Now, I won’t do a single inlay project without it!”

Teflon® is a registered trademark of DuPont.

Cleaning up after sloppy fretwork: fixing chips in the fingerboard
Cleaning up after sloppy fretwork: fixing chips in the fingerboard
Cleaning up after sloppy fretwork: fixing chips in the fingerboard Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman's got a neck to fix, including a broken peghead. One thing leads to another, and it turns out the toughest job is hiding the fretboard chips left by the last repairman to work on this guitar.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Teflon Fret Dam
Teflon Fret Dam
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 25 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 >
5 7-11-2012
Cool!

The right tool for repairing fretting chip out.

Chris Thomas  Elizabeth, PA Read my reviews (19)
4 7-06-2012
Quality products

Quality products

Gusty  Ro Read my reviews (91)
5 5-23-2012
teflon

muito bom e util tambem

Gilton ss  Brazil Read my reviews (18)
5 3-06-2012
JUST GET IT!

I was trying to find an alternative way to keep fretboard chip repair out of the fret slots... couldn't think of any so I ordered this 5 buck plastic sheet... glad I did! It works perfectly... none of the dust/glue mixture made it in to any slots, it pulled out really easily, makes a really clean & neat repair and I there is enough (and its reusable) to keep me set for life!

Danny Clayburn  Albuquerque, NM Read my reviews (15)
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-29-2012
The Perfect Solution

I am doing a fret job on one of my Tom Anderson's and needed it to be perfect. Unfortunately here in Colorado fretboards are dry and even with heat and proper removal technique the chipouts can be ugly. Well, this Teflon material is amazing - using super glue and file dust to fill is simple and the strips (you cut to size) just slide away from the dried filler. The perfect solution.

The Perfect Solution  Lafayette, Colorado
5 1-09-2012
Does the job.

No need to make long sentences, this item does the trick, and does it well.

P.A. Roiron (Guitares-Roiron)  Lyon, France Read my reviews (8)
5 9-15-2011
Work Cleaner

As stated before this stuff has many uses, but all in all if you use glue this can make your work cleaner.

Mike T.  North Carolina, USA Read my reviews (24)
5 9-03-2011
I use this stuff for so many other things

This stuff is great for sticking in the fret slot to dam up sawdust and super glue but I find myself grabbing a sheet or two out of my tool box all the time. Protecting/shimming clamping cauls from glue, sliding magnets, slippery shims sanding block spacers…????? I can’t remember all of the uses but I have several sheets handy at all times

Norman Letendre  Newington, CT Read my reviews (6)
3 8-31-2011
Mixed Feelings

It fits the slot well and cleans up nice after use, but I'm having a real problem with this material carrying a serious static-charge. Half of the time it removes the dust I just carefully placed into a divot for repair! I have better luck using the "fret slot depth gauge" as the spacer.

Middleton Guitars  Southern California Read my reviews (51)
5 7-25-2011
Handy stuff for fretwork

Great for filling chips, also when patching steam holes left after resets. Given you can reuse the stuff - because the CA won't stick to it - the sheet Stewmac sends will get you through countless fret jobs. Inexpensive time-saver.

Rick J  Powhatan, VA Read my reviews (9)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 9 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce