Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Glues, adhesives : Stewart-MacDonald Epoxies : Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy

Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy


Read 30 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Gap-filling epoxies for permanent bonds. Our high-strength 2-part adhesives are activated when their resin and hardener components are mixed in equal parts.

See details below

Email a friend
Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5173 Fast setting, clear
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$9.83

5174 Slow setting, clear
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$9.83

5179-B Slow setting, black
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$15.49


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Inlay Filler Colors



Pearl Inlay Book



Carbon Fiber Neck Rods



Mixing/Sanding Spatula



ColorTone Mixing Sheets

Inlay Filler Colors
Pearl Inlay Book
Carbon Fiber Neck Rods
Mixing/Sanding Spatula
ColorTone Mixing Sheets



Details
 Pictures
Each 4-ounce set has two 2-ounce bottles, ready for mixing.

Fast-setting mixture has 5-minute working time. Full bond strength in one hour.

Slow-setting mixture allows 20 minute working time. Full bond strength in 8 hours, for a rigid waterproof joint.

Slow-setting black mixture is great for inlaying ebony fingerboards. 20 minute working time. Wait 3 days before sanding.

Note: With all epoxies, the slower the setting time, the stronger the bond.

Use adequate ventilation and avoid skin and eye contact.

Keep out of the reach of children.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy
Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 30 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 >
5 10-07-2011
Black Epoxy for Inlays

I routed out the cavities for the delicate inlays with a hand-held Dremel, and I must say it looked like rats had chewed out the wood! I used this epoxy to glue the inlays in and by the time I had sanded them level, and sprayed on the clear-coat, I literally could not see any ragged edges.

Denton Specialties  Chappell Hill, TX Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 9-27-2011
Great product.

It dries quickly, and it's very stout. It works really well for fixing stripped threads on softer guitars and repairing damages.

carlton wilkinson  victoria, tx Read my reviews (27)
5 9-07-2011
good stuff

I like this epoxy.The slow set time is a real plus because it don't force me to hurry with the application & mutiple inlays can be set at the same time. I got the black & used it on a dark fretboard for inlays & it blends in real well.It also works well as a filler for dings or flaws.Doesn't seem to shrink as it cures.

ph  Florida Read my reviews (18)
1 9-05-2011
Not so sure for bone....

I bought the fast setting clear epoxy for joining bone to oud bridges. And I have to say, I think I would get more strength with Elmers kiddie glue. I've tried many types of joins for bone and none work. Maybe this works good for wood on wood, but that's why I have hyde and wood glues.

John Vergara  Beacon, NY US
5 8-23-2011
Easy Peasy

Easy to mix and work with. Don't over do it,... just use what you need and don't glob it all over or else you have a lot more material to sand/file down once it sets up.

agnusguitars  champaign, il Read my reviews (28)
5 8-12-2011
Awesome

This stuff is great. It holds very well and looks beautiful. Do be careful in the mixing. A definite must have.

Nate Meadows  Janesville, Ca Read my reviews (4)
5 7-26-2011
slow setting black

Its great for pretty much anything, and it bonds very strong. I really like having the 90 minutes of working time with it. Its about as black as anyone could ask for. The only thing I don't like its smell *haha*, but I can deal with that for this great of quality!

Nolan Peach  Colorado Read my reviews (10)
4 7-17-2011
Black Epoxy

I am no great inlay artist so I found the black epoxy to be a great help in filling in the gaps around my work. I would have preferred that it come with instructions for a first-timer.

Mark Harper  Lexington KY Read my reviews (44)
5 6-28-2011
As Strong As Cement

This stuff holds up very well, the black epoxy is very useful for covering mistakes in ebony.

Andrew M  Kansas Read my reviews (8)
3 6-17-2011
soft

This epoxy doesn't set up as hard as some others I have used. After even, thorough mixing, applying, and a couple of days of set up, it still feels a little spongy.

Johno  Leon, WV Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 42 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce