Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Glues, adhesives : Stewart-MacDonald Epoxies : Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy

Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy


Read 30 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Gap-filling epoxies for permanent bonds. Our high-strength 2-part adhesives are activated when their resin and hardener components are mixed in equal parts.

See details below

Email a friend
Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5173 Fast setting, clear
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$9.83

5174 Slow setting, clear
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$9.83

5179-B Slow setting, black
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$15.49


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Inlay Filler Colors



Pearl Inlay Book



Carbon Fiber Neck Rods



Mixing/Sanding Spatula



ColorTone Mixing Sheets

Inlay Filler Colors
Pearl Inlay Book
Carbon Fiber Neck Rods
Mixing/Sanding Spatula
ColorTone Mixing Sheets



Details
 Pictures
Each 4-ounce set has two 2-ounce bottles, ready for mixing.

Fast-setting mixture has 5-minute working time. Full bond strength in one hour.

Slow-setting mixture allows 20 minute working time. Full bond strength in 8 hours, for a rigid waterproof joint.

Slow-setting black mixture is great for inlaying ebony fingerboards. 20 minute working time. Wait 3 days before sanding.

Note: With all epoxies, the slower the setting time, the stronger the bond.

Use adequate ventilation and avoid skin and eye contact.

Keep out of the reach of children.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy
Stewart-MacDonald Epoxy
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 30 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3 >
4 2-02-2014
Clear Epoxy

Wait up to 3 days before you start sanding or grinding away at it. I found out the hard way, then accidentally found a little "info box" in one of the previous catalogs saying to give it a few days to harden up. The bottle says 8 hours, so I gave it 24 and that wasn't enough. Somebody needs to get there directions straight, but the product works if you give it time and it really doesn't take much. I will buy more when my supply is gone.

Red Fox Guitars  Albert Lea, MN Read my reviews (15)
5 1-04-2014
Repeat user

I buy ths stuff every year for my inlay work. Never have a problem when following the procedure. I always use clear ,addng black powder, with predictibly good results.

Hosner Guitars  Science Hill, KY Read my reviews (9)
5 10-15-2013
Slow Setting Black Epoxy for inlay work

I purchased the Slow Setting Back epoxy on the chance it would work against a light colored wood. I was inlaying some abalone into some yellow heart. I tested it first on a scrap of wood. I was very pleased with the results so I proceeded to use it to fill the voids once the abalone was glued in place. This product will black out the background when used where it is less then .050 thick. I would highly recommend this product for this use.

Dan Selchow  Norman, OK. USA
5 9-04-2013
Epoxy works wonders

I was very satisfied with this product. It set up very fast and was very workable.

Rick B.  Hesperia Mi. Read my reviews (2)
1 12-13-2012
Use only for fill

This glue is not a good choice for anything but using as fill. I have tried several times unsuccessfully to use it for other purposes, I.E. gluing wood joints, and it has failed miserably every time. I would recommend staying away from this product.

brhsr60  florida
2 1-21-2012
Meh...

Works well, but the black part has turned into a paste, making it impossible to squeeze out. still mixes with clear part so I don't plan on purchasing more.

Nick Gedra  Stillwater, OK Read my reviews (5)
5 12-17-2011
Essential for the shop!

High quality epoxy!

Wilmer Gingerich  Jamesport MO Read my reviews (76)
5 11-19-2011
Fast setting epoxy.

I glued the nut on my banjo with this product and it held exceptionally well.

Glenn L  Petaluma,CA U.S.A. Read my reviews (4)
5 11-07-2011
handy fix it

used with black or brown powder coloring, this fast setting epoxy makes a good filler for small areas as well as a strong adhesive for some situations Has a very long shelf life.

banjoworks  Sandwich, MA Read my reviews (3)
1 10-12-2011
think again for slow-setting

I've tried the slow setting epoxy a few times in both Southern California and New York (different climates!) and I can't seem to get this epoxy to hold a permanent and strong bond, regardless of it being right when it's opened or when the shelf life has dropped off a little. I've (carefully) tried changing the ratios slightly from exact 50/50 and mixing in various quantities and I just don't trust it.

Most things from StewMac really measure up but this one product doesn't. I would definitely recommend something else for jobs that call for this sort of adhesive.

emily sablosky  san diego, CA
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 42 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce