Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Glues, adhesives : Binding glue : Weld-On Cement

Weld-On Cement


Read 45 Reviews   |   Write a Review

For use with all our plastic binding products. Fast-drying, high-strength clear acrylic cement that bonds plastics to porous surfaces.

See details below

Email a friend
Weld-On Cement
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1975 Weld-On Cement
Cannot ship by air or outside the U.S.
Yes
$6.90
3 or more $5.99  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

White Plastic Binding



Binding Tape



Black Plastic Binding



Scraper Blades



White Plastic Binding
Binding Tape
Black Plastic Binding
Scraper Blades



Details
 Pictures
Articles
Clamps or binding tapes can be released from the glued bindings in an hour or less, and the bindings can be scraped flush after about 12-hours. 1.5-ounce tube.

Weld-On Cement is best for plastic bindings, or for plastic and wood bindings used together. It sets extremely quickly, so practice on scrap to get a feel for it, and don't try to glue long sections at once. It's thin enough to be worked into crevices. Clean up residue with acetone.

Contains methylene chloride, methyl ethyl ketone and acrylic resin.

California Residents: Click here for Proposition 65 information
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Weld-On Cement
Weld-On Cement
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 45 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5 >
4 3-24-2011
works but you gotta be quick...

I used this along with the stewmac cream binding to add a touch of class to a 2001 les paul special i am working on... works great, but sets up really fast!!! would recommend doing 1 side at a time.... wish is setup a little slower though...

smashedguitars  San Antonio, TX Read my reviews (18)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-06-2011
Great Stuff!

It seems to be getting harder and harder to find good adhesives and cements. I originally purchased a tube of this for binding projects, but have come across lots of uses for
Weld-On 16. I don't know of anything that works even as well, let alone any better.

Bryan C.  Owensboro, KY Read my reviews (12)
5 2-17-2011
Best used

I have used several different brands of glue for attaching bindings. Weld-On is by far the best holding of all the brands I have used. I have had bindings come loose when I used the other brands, but never with this one. Highly recommend.

Brad Windsor  Ojai, California Read my reviews (2)
5 2-16-2011
Great Binding Cement!

I've tried everything from CA glues to other Weld-On adhesive products. The #16 achieved the best results, especially with plastic bindings. If your prep is done well and you pre-bend with heat, this should work well. I use binding tape and the set time works well with my pace. C-Rocker Guitars

Mike Crocker (C-Rocker Guitars)  Capitola CA Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
4 2-16-2011
A quick drying binding cement.

This is a good cement for plastic binding when you aren't installing a complicated series of purfling along with the binding. If you are it dries too fast and you'll want to use something slower like Duco cement. If you are doing a quick easy bind or just a simple purflomg combo though it works great. It starts biting almost immediately and doesn't soften the plastic bindings as much so that the cure time is much faster than say with duco, which should be let to dry for at least 2 days before scraping.

I use this on all my vintage Gibson builds where the purfling combos are simple just bound. Daniel Roberts Stringworks.

Daniel Roberts  Read my reviews (3)
4 1-31-2011
Nice Product

I recently use Weld-on cement to bind my Les Paul project guitar. It bonded well, cleaned up easily and held up very well to scraping and sanding scrap. I will be using it again.

Manny Pavone  Newtown, CT Read my reviews (16)
3 1-20-2011
Glue

I have tried many glues including Weld-On. No glue has been satisfactory in and of itself. I have found that the gluing surface of binding needs to be roughed in order to create an additional mechanical bond with chemical bond.

Big D  BC
5 1-13-2011
Weld On works for me.

I have used Weld On cement for bindings on many guitars and banjos, and it has always worked well for me.

Vaughn Moureaux  Eastover,SC Read my reviews (2)
1 1-06-2011
Product did not perform

I used the product on an old Kay guitar that I am restoring. I had the channel freshly routed for a clean start, applied the glue, and used rubber bands (30+) to hold in place. After 48 hours - in 72 degree room with low humidity - I removed the rubber bands and the binding sprung off the guitar. There was only one area on the binding where a little bit of wood came off indicating that there was at least some adheasion in that one two inch area. Not sure why, but this was a product failure in my book.

Steve K  Dripping Springs, Tx
1 12-01-2010
Weld-On Cement, didn't work at all in my case

Tried it with a short strip of binding on a banjo, running from the nut to the 5th-string peg. I applied the cement to the surfaces of the neck and the binding, and then, to secure the binding to the neck, I used a band of inner tube rubber, about 5/8'' wide or so, wrapping it very tight like a bandage, over the neck + the binding strip. I left the bound neck overnight. When I removed the rubber band, just before noon on the other day,the biding came off as if there was no gluing effect at all - as if the cement was just water.
The amount of pressure created by the inner tube rubber band method, is quite enormous. So even if clamps provide even more pressure and should have been the way to go, some gluing effect should have been noticed. But there was none at all.

Yigal Zan  Albuquerque, NM, USA
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 37 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce