Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Fretting supplies : Shaping and crowning : Three-in-one Fret File

Three-in-one Fret File


Read 58 Reviews   |   Write a Review

This wooden-handled file features three interchangeable 1-7/8" hollow burrs for recrowning a wide range of fret widths, from basses and guitars to mandolins.

See details below

Email a friend
Three-in-one Fret File
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0685 File handle with 3 burrs Yes
$49.11

0679-N Narrow replacement burr only Yes
$14.56

0679-M Medium replacement burr only Yes
$14.56

0679-W Wide replacement burr only Yes
$14.56


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

StewMac Wide Fretwire



Double-edge Fret File



Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files



Fretting Hammer



Fret Cutter



StewMac Wide Fretwire
Double-edge Fret File
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
Fretting Hammer
Fret Cutter



Details
 Pictures
The 4-1/2" long steel shank is angled for efficiency and clearance over the guitar body. Useful for a wide range of fret widths, from basses and guitars to mandolins.

#0685 Includes 1 wooden-handled file and 3 burrs in these sizes:
- Narrow, 3/32"
- Medium, 1/8"
- Wide, 3/16"

Replacement burrs sold separately.

Works on stainless frets, too!
All of our tools are suitable for use on stainless-steel fretwire, with the exception of our Fret Tang Nippers and Fret Cutters. Modern stainless-steel fretwire is known to be harder than the traditional nickel-silver blends, but our own shop experience indicates the wire does not cause premature wear of files or sandpapers.
How to choose a fret-crowning file
Too many fret files! Here's how to choose the right files for you.
How to choose a fret-crowning file Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman answers an important tech-support question: What's the best fret-crowning file?
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Three-in-one Fret File
Three-in-one Fret File
 
4 out of 5 stars
Based on 58 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6 >
4 9-06-2011
Great tool

First thing want to commend your attitude and professional advising. Excellent tool I purchased, it covers a wide range of my work, and there are some guitarists now smiling
Thanks

Dovi.S  Israel
4 8-28-2011
a bit of rust, but a great tool.

My first impression, I must admit, was not positive. When the file arrived it had a thin coating of rust on the shaft. I was surprised to receive it in that condition from S-Mc.

The rust was very superficial and came off easily with 600 grit sandpaper and WD40. With that said, the file worked perfectly and I am very satisfied. I would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to buy just one tool for filing frets. I would have given 5 stars but for the rust.

Juan Perales  Canada
1 8-24-2011
Really, really bad

To be honest, I don't see how this file got so many good reviews. It is so rough and leaves teeth marks that I gave up on crowning and went with my old one which was not purchased from StewMac but was getting pretty blunt. I have experience with these things so my lack of knowledge is out of the question.

Midnight Lord  Ottawa Read my reviews (18)
StewMac responds

Midnight Lord,
We're sorry to hear you were unhappy with the Three-in-one Fret File. We trust your judgement and are happy to offer a refund or replacement, just let us know. We appreciate your feedback.

5 8-09-2011
Perfect

Now fretting is easy!

Max Boderskov  Århus, Denmark Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
4 8-04-2011
It does what it says.

It works, but it does take some time getting use to. My second dressing job using this file went much faster, the trick is to use quick motions with light pressure.

I've only used the medium burr, but the kit is a good price.

If i did more then the occasional fret work I would invest in the diamond files.

Patrick, M  Delaware
1 7-05-2011
Slow and painful

Terrible file. Buy the offset diamond file instead. This three-in-one file leaves strong chatter marks. Inconsistent file. Caused me to have to re-level and re-crown my telecaster.

MidnightGuitarRepair  Rochester NY Read my reviews (4)
5 6-23-2011
Excelent...

A well fretboard setting does not make a excellent guitar player... but it helps...

oskkar73  Bogotá D.C. Colombia
Customer supplied image for review
4 3-31-2011
cost effective fret file

I bought one of these in 1984 and used it on dozens and dozens of fret jobs over the years. It isn't perfect and takes some finesse to use well but the 3 file sizes cover most instruments quite well and for a semi-pro like myself who also owns several guitars, basses, and other fretted instruments which need fret jobs on a regular basis it is a good choice.

I would love a set of diamond files but can't justify the cost for the amount of fret work that I do. I would have just ordered new files for my old handle (another feature) but I lost track of it when I moved back to the midwest from San Francisco.

El Kabong  Manistee, MI
5 3-26-2011
3in1 file

very easy to use and cuts a nice rounded shape to flat frets. easy to change cutterheads and good variety for different height frets. will not damage fretboard if used properly. nice tool.

stevem  foxboro, ma
4 1-07-2011
Works for me

I've been using this file since 1985, and it still works fine, just have to buy new burrs once in a while. I slipped on one of those foam cushion things from a ball point pen over the shaft in front of the handle. I usually put my index finger there and it makes it more comfortable. Someone should make diamond burrs for these. Hint, hint...

Dave Paetow  Minnesota, USA Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 6 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce