Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Fretting supplies : Shaping and crowning : Three-in-one Fret File

Three-in-one Fret File


Read 58 Reviews   |   Write a Review

This wooden-handled file features three interchangeable 1-7/8" hollow burrs for recrowning a wide range of fret widths, from basses and guitars to mandolins.

See details below

Email a friend
Three-in-one Fret File
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0685 File handle with 3 burrs Yes
$49.11

0679-N Narrow replacement burr only Yes
$14.56

0679-M Medium replacement burr only Yes
$14.56

0679-W Wide replacement burr only Yes
$14.56


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

StewMac Wide Fretwire



Double-edge Fret File



Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files



Fretting Hammer



Fret Cutter



StewMac Wide Fretwire
Double-edge Fret File
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
Fretting Hammer
Fret Cutter



Details
 Pictures
The 4-1/2" long steel shank is angled for efficiency and clearance over the guitar body. Useful for a wide range of fret widths, from basses and guitars to mandolins.

#0685 Includes 1 wooden-handled file and 3 burrs in these sizes:
- Narrow, 3/32"
- Medium, 1/8"
- Wide, 3/16"

Replacement burrs sold separately.

Works on stainless frets, too!
All of our tools are suitable for use on stainless-steel fretwire, with the exception of our Fret Tang Nippers and Fret Cutters. Modern stainless-steel fretwire is known to be harder than the traditional nickel-silver blends, but our own shop experience indicates the wire does not cause premature wear of files or sandpapers.
How to choose a fret-crowning file
Too many fret files! Here's how to choose the right files for you.
How to choose a fret-crowning file Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman answers an important tech-support question: What's the best fret-crowning file?
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Three-in-one Fret File
Three-in-one Fret File
 
4 out of 5 stars
Based on 58 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  6 >
4 8-08-2012
Occassional Use

If you only do fret work once in a while then this might be the tool for you, especially when working up near the body. Otherwise the diamond fret files have taken over !! But it is still good value for the money for the occassional user.

Patrick Patten, Patten Guitars  Fredericton, NB Canada Read my reviews (6)
5 6-29-2012
quality tools

StewMac has been awesome to offer tools for the pro down to the novice like me. Keep it up StewMac

Jerry Moore  Newnan GA Read my reviews (2)
1 6-07-2012
Don't Like

Used this tool about five times, the files wouldn't stay in tight. not easy to get accurate results. sits in the bottom drawer of my tool box, ( would throw away but I'm a pack rat)

thrash50  Read my reviews (5)
2 5-29-2012
Save up for the Diamond Versions!

These don't cut anywhere near as good as the regular double-edged crowning-file.

If you need this shape handle for clearance, save up for the diamond ones!

Middleton Guitars  Southern California Read my reviews (51)
3 5-27-2012
A fair tool

It does the job as described. Put that aside, for the price you pay the shaft should be stainless hardened steel, glued to the handle and coated with a clear finish at least, come on guys, mine had patina out of the box and I had to glue the handle. I know the actual burrs are the most expensive to manufacture and I really hope they are HSS. And instead of encouraging people to buy awfully expensive diamond files for SS jobs, I'd encourage good folks at Stew Mac to redesign the Gurian file and make something like tungsten burrs in extra fine single-cut grit. All in all, thank you for the deal, I must admist it's a bit pricey, but then again the Gurian is rather rare. Thanks.

Tadej  Slovenia
4 5-19-2012
Nice, but a bit pricey

Good file but a bit pricey

Big Rand  Traverse City MI Read my reviews (16)
5 4-30-2012
Found these to be a breeze to use.

My first time doing a crowning job and took a chance to use this product. The job came out great and the files were easy to use ( along with the gaurds of coarse ).

Will Laturno  Prospect, CT. USA Read my reviews (9)
4 4-16-2012
I like it very much

Yes, i like it, but can't use it very often cause i usually do refrets with very wide wire that oversizes the file, but in normal wire, i love it.

Mario Gabinho Cárdenas Vega  México Read my reviews (17)
3 4-05-2012
An OK Tool

I bought this to do the frets on a cheap classical guitar just to see what would happen. I didn't want to spend too much in case I turned out to be lousy at it. The tool worked OK kind of a rough feel in use. I think it left the frets a little flat. But the job turned out pretty good. after leveling,using the fret file, and polishing the action on the guitar was actually pretty amazing. I would say this is a good tool to try to see if you can do a fair job and then buy some better files if it turns out good. Which is what I'm going to do before I tackle my "good" instruments.

Bill in GB  WI
4 3-22-2012
Best tool in town

Despite this tool being a little bit expensive, it does a great job. Thanks.

Carlos  Portugal
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  6 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 6 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce