Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Fretting supplies : Shaping and crowning : Fret End Dressing File

Fret End Dressing File


Read 128 Reviews   |   Write a Review

The first thing a player feels is the fret ends, so always shape them with this file. Smooth, non-marring edges glide on the fingerboard while the fine-toothed sides deburr and round the fret.

See details below

Email a friend
Fret End Dressing File

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1175 Fret End Dressing File Yes
$12.64


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

StewMac Wide Fretwire



Fret Dressing Stick



Dan Erlewines Fretting Series



Concave Fret End Files



StewMac Wide Fretwire
Fret Dressing Stick
Dan Erlewine's Fretting Series
Concave Fret End Files



Details
 Pictures
 Video
For rounding, shaping and deburring.
This specialized file dresses the ends of the frets after they've been installed, trimmed flush and beveled.

One thin edge is ground "safe" to help protect the fretboard, and the other rounded over. This file cuts only where it needs to: on both sharp corners of the unground thin edge, and on both of the wider toothed cutting surfaces.

The cutting surfaces smooth the fret end bevel, and the sharp corners nip off the sharp burrs at the edge of the fret bevel where it meets the edge of the neck. With the safe edge facing down, the cutting surfaces of this little file do a good job of rounding over and shaping the fret ends.

File dimensions are .062" x .125" x 6", with 3" cutting surfaces.


Essential for fretting
The Fret End Dressing File is one of seven tools included in our Essential Fretting Tool Kit, a compilation of tools you'll need for the fundamentals of fret work. Kit also includes our book, Fretwork Step By Step by Erick Coleman with Dan Erlewine.

Works on stainless frets, too!
All of our tools are suitable for use on stainless-steel fretwire, with the exception of our Fret Tang Nippers and Fret Cutters. Modern stainless-steel fretwire is known to be harder than the traditional nickel-silver blends, but our own shop experience indicates the wire does not cause premature wear of files or sandpapers.
Fixing fret ends that stick out in dry weather
Ouch! Dry weather makes fret ends stick out. Here's the fix.
Fixing fret ends that stick out in dry weather Read more

In this issue:
This week, Erick Coleman answers a wintertime question: What to do about fret ends that stick out of the sides of the neck?
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fret End Dressing File
Fret End Dressing File
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 128 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 111 – 120 < 1  ...  11  12  13 >
5 3-04-2011
fret end dressing file

Great tool, rounded edge great idea. Cleaned up a couple of basses, a strat and a tele, and no more rough "necks" for me.

leezbass  USA
5 2-20-2011
Fret End Dressing File

Simply put, the best file available for delicate hand dressing fret ends. Very well designed. The size and shape is just right; with a fine cut on both sides.

Lenny C  Blanchardville, WI
5 2-16-2011
huge improvement

Put it to work the minute I got. Well made, well priced, and great results

Ben  Brisbane Australia Read my reviews (6)
5 2-09-2011
Good file

As far as I can tell this is a pretty good file. I'm not an expert ,but it works for me.

Tom F  VA Read my reviews (3)
5 2-04-2011
Fret End Dressing File

Does the job to perfection and easy to use.

Vito A Ninivaggi  Redding, CT
5 2-03-2011
Awesome file!

I recently bought a new Charvel Pro-Mod and it was shipped from the east coast to my home. After a few weeks when the neck settled into the dry midwest winter air, the fret ends became drastically exposed. Humidification didn't seem to help so I looked into getting the fret ends filed professionally. My local store said they would basically take a Dremel tool to the fret ends!!! What??? So, I looked here at STEW MAC and bought the fret end file for a fraction of the cost of what the music store was going to charge me for the "Dremel hack-job." After spending about an hour with the Stew Mac fret-end file, my neck feels as smooth as silk! This file is definitely worth every penny and very easy to use (I'm a novice and figured it out). Kudos to Stew Mac for supplying a great product and for all the different instructional videos which gave me the confidence to try this product! I will be back for more!!!

CoffeeDrinker71  Indianapolis, IN
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-02-2011
Fantastic file!

This little file is possibly the best tool in my collection. Perfect for shaping fret ends into any number of different styles as well as attacking other issues in tight places.

James Finnerty  ROCKville, MD Read my reviews (13)
Customer supplied image for review
4 1-18-2011
Very good tool

Great bang for the buck, does the job.

Fabien  Canada Read my reviews (5)
5 1-15-2011
My new favorite

This file rocks! I used it for the first time today, and I have to say that it makes the fret ends feel very professional and the smoothest I have ever felt. This is a high quality tool that I recommend to anyone who does lots of fret work.

Elias Preston  St. Louis, Missouri Read my reviews (5)
5 1-10-2011
Great file

After using a small three corner file on the upper sides of the fret ends, I use the non-rounded end of this file to round the lower sides of the fret end. It works better than any other file I have used for this. I may make a bigger handle but I am getting used to the small size and may not need to. Also good for removing marks on the bevel. Great little file.

Jeremy C  Denver, CO Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 111 – 120 < 1  ...  11  12  13 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 5 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce