Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Fretting supplies : Shaping and crowning : Fret Beveling File

Fret Beveling File


Read 55 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Low-friction files for fret ends.
Sold individually or SAVE when you buy the set of both files.

See details below

Email a friend
Fret Beveling File

Play video

 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3760 3-3/4" length Yes
$48.52

3775 7-1/2" length Yes
$65.49

3759 Set of 2 SAVE $5.56 Yes
$108.45

3760-FILE 3-3/4" replacement file Yes
$14.00

3775-FILE 7-1/2" replacement file Yes
$20.00


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Double-edge Fret File



Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files



Fretting Hammer



Fret Cutter



Fret Dressing Stick



Double-edge Fret File
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
Fretting Hammer
Fret Cutter
Fret Dressing Stick



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Instructions
The Fret Beveling File is the fast, accurate way to put a uniform 35° bevel on fret ends after installing new frets. With a quick, smooth motion, this file angles the fret ends and makes them ready for fret dressing and polishing. Available in either 3-3/4" or 7-1/2" filing lengths.

This 1-1/2" x 1-3/4" block (two lengths are available) holds a removable fine-tooth flat file at the proper 35° angle to bevel all the fret ends along the edge of the fingerboard. The block is made of low-friction material for smooth, easy filing. The 3-3/4" model is for short fingerboards (mandolins, for example), and for spot-filing partial refrets. It's also useful for working on used instruments with necks that aren't straight.
Works on stainless frets, too!
All of our tools are suitable for use on stainless-steel fretwire, with the exception of our Fret Tang Nippers and Fret Cutters. Modern stainless-steel fretwire is known to be harder than the traditional nickel-silver blends, but our own shop experience indicates the wire does not cause premature wear of files or sandpapers.
This product is made exclusively for Stewart-MacDonald by
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fret Beveling File
Fret Beveling File
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 55 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6 >
5 9-03-2011
Speed up your fret beveling

This file works like a charm…for years I was beveling the fret ends with out the guide and doing a good job…”heck I don’t need this fancy file guide”. Well, I finally broke down and purchased one. OH MY! Now I bevel the fret ends in half the time and more accurately too. The biggest benefit is that it takes the worry out of slipping or filling the wrong angle

Thanks Stemac…

Norman Letendre  Newington, CT Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-04-2011
Fret Beveling File

Professional results every time.

Raven  Australia Read my reviews (4)
5 7-10-2011
Fret Beveling File

I'm not a luthier but I can say without hesitation that this is one great tool. In spite of all my humidification efforts, my 12 string's neck had shrunk from living in the desert and the top 9 frets were beginning to hang over the edge of the neck. This file took care of the problem in about two minutes. An indispensable tool for desert dwelling guitar players!

Photojeep  Las Vegas
5 6-29-2011
the ultimate accuracy

just with this file,with less time,the result is professional.i really thank Stew-mac.

theodoropoulos  Heraklion,Greece
Customer supplied image for review
3 4-19-2011
nice to have

The Fret beveling file is really handy and does save time. But it's not really a necessary tool. If you're just starting your workshop, there are other, more important tools to spend your money on. And if you've been in the business for a while, you won't really need this anymore.
But if you just feel like buying something for your workshop, then this is certainly not the dumbest thing to invest in.

MoorMusic  Switzerland Read my reviews (44)
5 3-25-2011
7-1/2" fret beveling file: excellent tool

I was already accustomed to bevel my frets holding a flat file at the correct angle and did a pretty good job doing so. But with this tool the job is done in a much shorter time. It only takes a couple of minutes to bevel both sides without the risk of scratching the top. Excellent!

DhaenensGuitars  Aarschot, Belgium, Europe Read my reviews (10)
5 3-10-2011
fret beveling file

I used this on a kit neck and the results were excellent

Bruce K  Beatrice Nebraska
5 2-27-2011
Perfect Fret End Bevels!

I love the ease of using this tool. My fret ends look perfect after a simple steel wool polish once I have used this excellent tool.

Old Man of Cotati  Cotati, Ca Read my reviews (4)
5 2-16-2011
Over priced a bit don't you think.

I was very happy how fast the 7-1/2" fret beveling file got the job done. But $63 with $8 shipping for a plastic block with a file attached. Man you got my arm behind my back.

Mr.Schroeder  S.D. Read my reviews (6)
5 2-05-2011
7 1/2" Fret Beveler, definite time saver

I am no expert but I know that beveling the frets one at a time takes forever and is nowhere near as accurate as this tool. I waited almost a year to buy it and I wished I had not waited that long. Great tool to have in the shop if you are doing fret work.. two thumbs up..

Ed Kramer  Limerick, Pa
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 8 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce