Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Fretting supplies : Shaping and crowning : Double-edge Fret File

Double-edge Fret File


Read 111 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Our best-selling fret crowning file!
Precision-cut teeth for accurate fret shaping.

See details below

Email a friend
Double-edge Fret File
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4490 Narrow/Medium Yes
$38.79

4491 Medium/Wide Yes
$38.79

4492 Set of both files SAVE $10.00 Yes
$67.58


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Radius Gauges



Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files



Fretting Hammer



Fret Cutter



Fret Dressing Stick



Radius Gauges
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
Fretting Hammer
Fret Cutter
Fret Dressing Stick



Details
 Pictures
Each of our popular traditional 7-3/8" x 5/8" tool-steel files has two different 4" hollow-ground cutting edges, for recrowning a variety of fretwire sizes. These files were designed by luthiers for luthiers and are an economical way to get your fretting kit started. The handle is rubber-coated for comfort.

Sold individually or SAVE when you buy the set of both fret files.

How to choose a fret-crowning file
Too many fret files! Here's how to choose the right files for you.
How to choose a fret-crowning file Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman answers an important tech-support question: What's the best fret-crowning file?
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Double-edge Fret File
Double-edge Fret File
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 111 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 71 – 80 < 1  ...  7  8  9  ...  12 >
5 11-05-2011
Must have

This file is a must have to finish the fretwire off. I tried to use several others and they did not work. Used this file to repair what I had done.

Fishdoctor  Montgomery, AL Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
4 10-27-2011
Double edge fret file

This file works great. It cuts smoother than I expected, but sometimes I wish it were a slightly finer cut.

T. Roy  Santa Cruz, CA
5 10-06-2011
Great tool!

This is a sturdy file, and is extremely easy to use. Plus, I had great results using it!

Bruce Lyons  Wichita Falls, TX Read my reviews (11)
5 10-06-2011
Worked for Me

I wanted a file to do my own occasional, amateur fretwork. I carefully filed down the few frets in question, then lightly sanded the surfaces with grits from 220 up to 1500 to smooth them out, and polished with chrome polish (I use Simichrome). My guitar is now back in business.

Paramusia  Boston Read my reviews (2)
4 10-01-2011
go the extra mile

works good but next time ill probably get one of the diamond files to speed up the process and give a better finished look

sherman stockton  indiana Read my reviews (19)
5 9-08-2011
Great.

Bought the set. I have a lot of fretwork lately. Very happy with it, does a great job. Couldn't do without them anymore..!

Artios Music  Belgium Read my reviews (4)
5 7-08-2011
Essential, Great Value

I don't do much neck work so my tool set is sparse for that to say the least. I do however have these files on hand and they are invaluable for the work I actually do. I have tried the diamond ones and while really good, they are not worth the extra money to me. These files work very well and don't break the bank.

Billy Stephens  Fountain Valley, CA. Read my reviews (16)
5 7-07-2011
Hace el trabajo facil y rápido

De excelente calidad y acabado. Solo limpiala constantemente (con un cepillo de cerdas de acero) y no tendrás problema para obtener un trabajo limpio.

La he usado en guitarras Fender, Cort y Aria Pro y solo he necesitado el lado ancho (wide)

J_R  Guadalajara, Mexico Read my reviews (2)
5 6-30-2011
Double-edge fret file

Very useful tool for refretting job in the "first cut". Sturdy and affordable. I´ve got a one Narrow/medium last week and I´ve already done 2 refret jobs. It pays alone.

Julio-Luthier  Sao Paulo-Brazil Read my reviews (2)
5 6-25-2011
wonder

optimal file. comfortable. well built. great tool. perfect

Gilton ss  Brazil Read my reviews (18)
Displaying 71 – 80 < 1  ...  7  8  9  ...  12 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 6 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce