Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Fretting supplies : Shaping and crowning : Double-edge Fret File

Double-edge Fret File


Read 111 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Our best-selling fret crowning file!
Precision-cut teeth for accurate fret shaping.

See details below

Email a friend
Double-edge Fret File
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4490 Narrow/Medium Yes
$38.79

4491 Medium/Wide Yes
$38.79

4492 Set of both files SAVE $10.00 Yes
$67.58


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Radius Gauges



Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files



Fretting Hammer



Fret Cutter



Fret Dressing Stick



Radius Gauges
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
Fretting Hammer
Fret Cutter
Fret Dressing Stick



Details
 Pictures
Each of our popular traditional 7-3/8" x 5/8" tool-steel files has two different 4" hollow-ground cutting edges, for recrowning a variety of fretwire sizes. These files were designed by luthiers for luthiers and are an economical way to get your fretting kit started. The handle is rubber-coated for comfort.

Sold individually or SAVE when you buy the set of both fret files.

How to choose a fret-crowning file
Too many fret files! Here's how to choose the right files for you.
How to choose a fret-crowning file Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman answers an important tech-support question: What's the best fret-crowning file?
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Double-edge Fret File
Double-edge Fret File
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 111 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  ...  12 >
5 11-29-2012
Excellent!

The best fret file ever. Period!

Celso Freire, Luthier  São Paulo, Brazil Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
3 10-15-2012
Decent File

Has a tendency to chatter and is a little more aggressive then I like.

J C S  Read my reviews (6)
4 10-10-2012
Good Files

Nice files, get both of them.

Spencer Acoustics  Dallas, TX Read my reviews (6)
4 10-10-2012
Ibanez S770FM ATF fret leveling recrowning.

I bought this fret file after I recognized that I'm not able to made fret crowning work using self made tool (from some internet project). With this tool I finished fret crowning in 2 hours. This was my first fret levelling work and I strongly recommend buying this tool!

Sylwek  Kraków, Poland
5 10-08-2012
Very good tool

A big help in doing a fret job, It is of a very high quality.

Kroeber  Japan Read my reviews (6)
4 9-19-2012
Fret files work good on small fretwire; better on large

The small fret wire on the Vita-guitar necessitated careful control of the fret file. A smaller radius would be easier to use.

Fred Gosbee  Round Pond, ME Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
5 9-16-2012
Great tool!!

Fast and easy to crowning!

Gyu Young  Korea Read my reviews (2)
5 9-07-2012
Nice File

handy little fret file easy to use
two sides two sizes.fits in tool box
i'm happy i bought it.

tony clarke  arkansas Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-30-2012
Wonder tool

This is a wonderful tool Just what I needed and works as advertised. It beats trying to use the old standart flat files.

preetcher  Beaufort, NC Read my reviews (48)
5 8-30-2012
Great product

I have bought about three of these in the past year or so and every one of them are performing just as advertised. The latest I used for my home built 7 string and it fit perfectly. String height was perfect too.

preetcher  Beaufort, NC Read my reviews (48)
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  ...  12 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 6 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce