Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Fretting supplies : Shaping and crowning : Double-edge Fret File

Double-edge Fret File


Read 111 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Our best-selling fret crowning file!
Precision-cut teeth for accurate fret shaping.

See details below

Email a friend
Double-edge Fret File
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4490 Narrow/Medium Yes
$38.79

4491 Medium/Wide Yes
$38.79

4492 Set of both files SAVE $10.00 Yes
$67.58


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Radius Gauges



Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files



Fretting Hammer



Fret Cutter



Fret Dressing Stick



Radius Gauges
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
Fretting Hammer
Fret Cutter
Fret Dressing Stick



Details
 Pictures
Each of our popular traditional 7-3/8" x 5/8" tool-steel files has two different 4" hollow-ground cutting edges, for recrowning a variety of fretwire sizes. These files were designed by luthiers for luthiers and are an economical way to get your fretting kit started. The handle is rubber-coated for comfort.

Sold individually or SAVE when you buy the set of both fret files.

How to choose a fret-crowning file
Too many fret files! Here's how to choose the right files for you.
How to choose a fret-crowning file Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman answers an important tech-support question: What's the best fret-crowning file?
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Double-edge Fret File
Double-edge Fret File
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 111 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  12 >
5 2-11-2013
Love it

it gets the job done fast and easy.

HumbleGarret  Belton, Mo
5 1-29-2013
Great tool

Just received these today and the made easy work of finishing off a fret leveling job on my Stewmac Dreadnought,

mike789166  Spain
5 1-27-2013
Double-edge Fret File

Did just what l wanted great time saver.

Colinz  Auckland New Zealand Read my reviews (12)
4 1-10-2013
Works well.

Works as expected. Leaves a little chatter that is easily polished off with sand paper and steel wool.

Dude Guyman  Twin Lake, MI. Read my reviews (3)
5 1-06-2013
Why didn't I get this years ago?

If you've spent any length of time re-crowning leveled frets the old fashioned way, you'll kick yourself for not getting one of these sooner, it realy saves time and makes fret crowning MUCH easier.
TIP; Don't ride the file, use a light touch, Let the file do the work. You'll have less chatter and tool marks to polish out.

Mr.Machinist  Oregon Read my reviews (2)
5 12-26-2012
yes

Good tools saves accurate damage and saves valuable time great accuracy can be reached

dor guitsr  israel
5 12-17-2012
Good results

I bought the 4490 double edge files for my solid body guitar project. The frets were already installed just needed leveling and crowning after neck set. I used the wooden radius block and the files. I should have bought the fretting kit because it was just a little more than the radius blocks/files. Anyway they were easy to use and got excellent results was able to get 3/64 action with very little rattle.

luthiernewbie  usa Read my reviews (4)
4 12-09-2012
OK for the Money but top marks to Stewmac.

I first bought the narrow/medium file and it works fine if you clean it after every few strokes. I then bought the medium/wide jumbo fret file and the med jumbo side chattered like crazy and was a nightmare to use. I had a little winge to Stewmac about it and 3 days later there was a brand new complimentary one in the mail box! Expedited shipping USA to New Zealand. Perfect! New one works well. Thanks Stewmac; top score for customer service.

Jerome Sutton, Guitar Doctor NL  Hengelo (O), Netherlands Read my reviews (6)
2 12-02-2012
important

No helpfull tips on what size you need for your crowns so make sure you know what your getting befor you buy

JoEy roCkS 
4 11-29-2012
great fix. wish it was cheaper

this file got the flat areas out of my new fret job and the radius on the top was perfect. good file.

markgrant  tennessee Read my reviews (17)
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  12 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 6 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce