Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Fretting supplies : Shaping and crowning : Double-edge Fret File

Double-edge Fret File


Read 111 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Our best-selling fret crowning file!
Precision-cut teeth for accurate fret shaping.

See details below

Email a friend
Double-edge Fret File
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4490 Narrow/Medium Yes
$38.79

4491 Medium/Wide Yes
$38.79

4492 Set of both files SAVE $10.00 Yes
$67.58


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Radius Gauges



Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files



Fretting Hammer



Fret Cutter



Fret Dressing Stick



Radius Gauges
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
Fretting Hammer
Fret Cutter
Fret Dressing Stick



Details
 Pictures
Each of our popular traditional 7-3/8" x 5/8" tool-steel files has two different 4" hollow-ground cutting edges, for recrowning a variety of fretwire sizes. These files were designed by luthiers for luthiers and are an economical way to get your fretting kit started. The handle is rubber-coated for comfort.

Sold individually or SAVE when you buy the set of both fret files.

How to choose a fret-crowning file
Too many fret files! Here's how to choose the right files for you.
How to choose a fret-crowning file Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman answers an important tech-support question: What's the best fret-crowning file?
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Double-edge Fret File
Double-edge Fret File
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 111 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 101 – 110 < 1  ...  10  11  12 >
5 12-22-2010
Great for old divots.

We used this tool after the radius sanding block showed us where the highs and lows of the frets were. This file, while is not instantaneous, removed some bad divots and leveled the frets to a good position.

The neck we used was on an old blank that had been used on an old electric Hagstrom (fretted, of course,) and this is a great tool. I also highly recommend the Dan Erlewine Nut Making and Fretting and Advanced Fretting Videos.

James M. Powers  USA Read my reviews (5)
4 12-16-2010
Best selling for a reason.

Unless you go to diamond at much greater price, I cannot imagine a more effective file than this for removing fret material to a good profile.

KL  Christchurch, New Zealand Read my reviews (33)
5 11-15-2010
This is the right tool for this job.

There is only one way to get the frets rounded after you level them off.

Erick Hanson  Ontario, Canada Read my reviews (5)
5 10-26-2010
Double-edge Fret File Medium/Wide

Don't let the price scare you away because this file worth the money you are paying for it. The teeth are spaced very nicely together giving you a smooth cut unlike some other files. I like the handle very much it doesn't slip from my sweaty hands. Handle could be a tad longer but its no big issue

mike2036  Australia Read my reviews (5)
5 10-15-2010
Double-edge crowning file

Great file. Maybe the handle could be bigger and the corners of the file beneath the handle not so sharp. It's a little painful.

Edie  Koper, Slovenia Read my reviews (4)
4 10-04-2010
Nice tool

I have used a few fret files, This one cuts nicely, but not overly aggressive. Worth the price.

Mike1968  Washington, PA Read my reviews (2)
5 10-03-2010
Very good

OK. I bought the medium/wide file for my recent job, since i didn't want to spend money for fret dressing. The file works great. Only downside is that there is no mark for which side is which.

Aleksander  NJ, USA Read my reviews (4)
5 10-02-2010
4491 and 4490 Fret Files

The single most important tool that I have from Stewmac for fretted instrument work. This is the one - I tried the one with 3 interchangeable burrs and it does not compare. You must have this file to do fret work the right way.

ed dowling  sedona Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-20-2010
Files

The files work well and create the proper radius. the right tool for the job.

love customs  Mississippi Delta Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-05-2010
Fret file

These fret files make life a lot eaiser when replacing a crown after leveling or fixing a flat fret. You can use 3000 grit and higher with them as well to polish frets for a "better than factory" look and feel.

Jason Roberts  Orient, Ohio
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 101 – 110 < 1  ...  10  11  12 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 6 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce