Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Fretting supplies : Shaping and crowning : Double-edge Fret File

Double-edge Fret File


Read 111 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Our best-selling fret crowning file!
Precision-cut teeth for accurate fret shaping.

See details below

Email a friend
Double-edge Fret File
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4490 Narrow/Medium Yes
$38.79

4491 Medium/Wide Yes
$38.79

4492 Set of both files SAVE $10.00 Yes
$67.58


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Radius Gauges



Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files



Fretting Hammer



Fret Cutter



Fret Dressing Stick



Radius Gauges
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
Fretting Hammer
Fret Cutter
Fret Dressing Stick



Details
 Pictures
Each of our popular traditional 7-3/8" x 5/8" tool-steel files has two different 4" hollow-ground cutting edges, for recrowning a variety of fretwire sizes. These files were designed by luthiers for luthiers and are an economical way to get your fretting kit started. The handle is rubber-coated for comfort.

Sold individually or SAVE when you buy the set of both fret files.

How to choose a fret-crowning file
Too many fret files! Here's how to choose the right files for you.
How to choose a fret-crowning file Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman answers an important tech-support question: What's the best fret-crowning file?
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Double-edge Fret File
Double-edge Fret File
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 111 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  12 >
4 8-24-2013
Works two sides on a row

Works two sides on a row, but is leaves some scraches on the sides. Be careful when using it. If you don't have the propper hand to work it, you might have to work teo times to get it perfect.

BrunoLobão  Brazil - Rio de Janeiro Read my reviews (15)
3 8-09-2013
Careful with these

These can carve fissures in the frets too deep to get out if you don't exercise good filing technique. Otherwise they work fine.

Bill E. Roach  Rohnert Park, CA Read my reviews (2)
5 8-08-2013
Double edge crowning file & fret leveling file

There is nothing like the right tools for any given job. This was my first complete refret, The job was apiece of cake, I have always stayed away from fret work but not anymore.

Bill O'Donnell  philadelphia pa Read my reviews (2)
5 7-09-2013
excellent

Everything about this tool is said before me. Excellent tool, a real time-saver of quality you should expect from Stewmac.

Alex D.  Saint-Petersburg, Russia Read my reviews (3)
5 5-06-2013
I was pleasantly surprised

I learned to crown frets with a triangle file and bought these several years ago when I read a few of the reviews. After several years of use I couldn't be happier. I can't imagine not having them in the shop and I haven't touched a triangle file in ages. I have found them to be real time savers. Great job StewMac

justinarts  West Texas, USA Read my reviews (35)
5 3-21-2013
great

a tool that you must have, what are you waiting to buy it!

Carlos Girón  Ny Read my reviews (28)
4 3-18-2013
Good file

I used this file on my first attempt at leveling and dressing frets. The file worked great and was much easier than a triangle file. Recommend it.

ScottyB61LP  Indianapolis, IN Read my reviews (7)
5 3-09-2013
Works like a charm

At first glance, it looks like a regular file but you work with the edges and not the flat part. It's excellent for cleaning up fret ends. Highly recommended.

FountainCity  Columbus, GA Read my reviews (5)
4 3-09-2013
Good

It did its job but it took me a long time to re-crown my leveled frets. Maybe the diamond files are better but they are very expensive.

Luís Gil  Portugal Read my reviews (7)
5 2-28-2013
Perfect for my use.

Good quality file, maybe a tad expensive, but it gets the job done!

Sander  Tromsø, Norway Read my reviews (10)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  12 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 6 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce