Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Fretting supplies : Shaping and crowning : 3-Corner Fret Dressing Files

3-Corner Fret Dressing Files


Read 34 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Specially made for traditional fret crowning and shaping.
SAVE when you buy the set of three.

See details below

Email a friend
3-Corner Fret Dressing Files

Play video

 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1600 Complete set of 3 files SAVE $5.00 Yes
$77.58

1601 Small, 7-3/8" Yes
$22.25

1602 Medium, 8" Yes
$23.88

1603 Large, 9" Yes
$36.45


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

StewMac Wide Fretwire



Radius Gauges



Fingerboard Guards



Dan Erlewines Fretting Series



Fret Erasers



StewMac Wide Fretwire
Radius Gauges
Fingerboard Guards
Dan Erlewine's Fretting Series
Fret Erasers



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Smooth corners protect the fretboard.
These special files are for those who prefer a traditional method of fret crowning. Their smooth corners won't leave scratches in the fretboard, and they're great for shaping the ends of the frets.

The small fine-cut file has 3" x 1/8" tapered cutting surfaces, and the medium-cut file has 5" x 1/4" tapered surfaces. The large file is known as a cant saw file, and is a favorite of our fret expert Dan Erlewine and many other well-known luthiers. It has a versatile flattened-triangle shape, with a 4-5/8" x 1/2" and two 4-5/8" x 5/16" cutting surfaces. All files have comfortable rubber-coated handles.

Works on stainless frets, too!
All of our tools are suitable for use on stainless-steel fretwire, with the exception of our Fret Tang Nippers and Fret Cutters. Modern stainless-steel fretwire is known to be harder than the traditional nickel-silver blends, but our own shop experience indicates the wire does not cause premature wear of files or sandpapers.
Fixing fret ends that stick out in dry weather
Ouch! Dry weather makes fret ends stick out. Here's the fix.
Fixing fret ends that stick out in dry weather Read more

In this issue:
This week, Erick Coleman answers a wintertime question: What to do about fret ends that stick out of the sides of the neck?
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
3-Corner Fret Dressing Files
3-Corner Fret Dressing Files
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 34 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  4 >
5 8-01-2012
Med Dressing file - Nice tool

The medium file fills a nice gap between too small and too big - works well for crowning after leveling, small enough to bevel fret slots, and works well on fret ends. Good multi-purpose file.

tb  Portland OR Read my reviews (50)
5 6-04-2012
Excellent!

I learned dressing with those and it took 5 frets to really get comfortable with it. I LOVE the files -- quality, size, everything. If I had to suggest something about them is just "breaking in" the safe edges which do have some very minuscule edges, just enough to leave a mark.... Those have become the go to files for a lot of tasks at my place :) ... Btw, somebody was mentioning about the handles -- I have to say that for me it's perfectly sized as it lets me rest the hand in the middle of my palm towards the wrist and get more personal with the working area :)

Tim Gospodinov  NYC Read my reviews (8)
4 5-31-2012
Old School

Some of the most highly revered repair folks these days still use a "safed" three corner file in their fret dressing routine which is what motivated me to try a three corner file.

Uses so far for me include but certainly will not be limited to dressing very low frets, taking the hard edge off that is sometimes left from dedicated crowning files, and a fast and easy way to take the bite out of sharp fret ends when you just want to add extra value for your customers.

My Stew-Mac three corner file is a great addition to my tools of the trade and as such I now use it nearly daily.

The quality of the files, like all things Stew-Mac, is excellent and pricing when one considers how very small our market is is very good and represents great value as well.

My only complaint, which is not really a complaint but I would have preferred a more substantial handle, perhaps wood, and larger too. But nothing is stopping me from retro-fitting the files on my own. The only other comment which is also not a complaint is that I spent some time, very little..., safing the edges ever further than they were to prevent making groves on the fret board. It's fast and easy and once done the files leave a very slight visible line from burnishing the board but this line disappears very quickly when freshening up the board after fret work. You do freshen up your boards after fret work don't you??? ;)

Thanks again to Stew-Mac for providing great tools that represent great value and are always very useful to those of us in the trade.

Lenawee Lutherie  Tecumseh Michigan Read my reviews (4)
5 5-09-2012
Fret Files

Just tryed out my fret dressing files and they worked great. They were very comfortable to use and made the process really speed along

Steve jazz guitar maker  canada
5 5-05-2012
3 corner fret dressing file

I bought a medium file to smooth out the corners on my frets after leveling and recrowning, does a real good job. Also have used it to recrown a high fret when I'm only dealing with 1 or 2 frets. Well worth the $

billy bee  Poughkeepsie NY Read my reviews (2)
4 4-19-2012
Takes a lot of practice

It is a good tool, but I found it difficult to use in shaping frets. You watch people in videos and they make it look effortless, but they have probably been using it for a long time. I could almost use it, but gave up and found that I could do just as well with a dressing stick, which isn't saying much. I am returning this and ordered an Offset Diamond Fret File, it's expensive for personal use, but when you have several guitars it should pay for itself.

Kris Reese  Fishers, IN Read my reviews (4)
5 3-30-2012
3 Corner Fret File

Does a great job of dressing and topping the frets with minor dings or digs. Great stuff from Stewmac.

Mike Darling  Killen, Al
5 2-11-2012
Medium 3 corner file

I'm always amazed by the quality of Stewmac tools. I'm using this file primarily to the first passes on rounding the fret ends.

Ramer  São Paulo, Brazil Read my reviews (3)
5 1-05-2012
sweet!

Worked perfectly for me dressing up some frets.

Like the handle! Very comfy!

Rob K.  Saskatchewan, Canada Read my reviews (6)
4 11-25-2011
3 corner file

High quality file. I am a home enthusiast. Bought this file to try my hand at fret shaping and tried it out on an el cheapo before I attempted it on my Strat. Went better than I thought it would. With patience I believe you can get your frets exactly how you want them with this file.

matt.t.  new zealand Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 5 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce