Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Fretting supplies : Saws and slots : Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade

Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade


Read 33 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Fast and accurate! Now you can cut fret slots on your table saw or radial arm saw.

See details below

Email a friend
Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1557 Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade Yes
$91.75


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Japanese Fret Saw



Dual Fret Scale Templates



Fret Scale Rule



StewMac Wide Fretwire



Fret Slotting Miter Box



Japanese Fret Saw
Dual Fret Scale Templates
Fret Scale Rule
StewMac Wide Fretwire
Fret Slotting Miter Box



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
Labor saver!
Slot fingerboards quickly, cleanly and precisely, for any scale length, right on your own table saw. Ideal for production work, this is the same model 100-tooth high-topped steel blade we use here at our factory.

The outer edge of the .060" blade is specially hollow-ground to cut .023"-wide slots for our fretwire. This custom shape cuts more smoothly, and eliminates the need for an additional blade stiffener. 5/8"-diameter arbor required.

Blade dimensions
Diameter6"(152.40mm)
Thickness.060"(1.52mm)
Width of cut.023"(0.58mm) on the outer 1/4" (6.35mm) edge

Slot your own fingerboards quickly and precisely with our Fret Scale Templates and this saw blade.


Need help calculating your fret locations?
Our online fret scale calculator can calculate any scale length you want to use. It will also give you accurate measurements for locating the bridge on your instrument.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade
Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 33 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  4 >
5 11-14-2013
Excellent!!!

I thought long and hard about purchasing this blade. Now that I have used it I will say that it is money very well spent. The resulting fret slots are absolutely perfect. Thanks Stewmac

Dave M P  DeWitt Michigan Read my reviews (2)
3 11-07-2013
It is alright.

I used it to slot 2 boards and the slots were a little bigger than the fret wire so I had to buy the fret crimping tool in order to make my frets seat properly. I run a couple of test slots on scrap and they were a little big so I checked my saw and it was perfect. Not wobbly or anything like that so I went ahead and used it anyway knowing I could use the fret crimping tool to make my frets seat properly. It is really not a big deal but for the money you would expect something a little better.

preetcher  Beaufort, NC Read my reviews (48)
3 6-03-2013
Good tool,but...

If this blade had made of cemented carbide,I could have cut more fretboards.

Japan
5 3-18-2013
Works great!

I've been making stick dulcimers (strum-sticks,dulcitars) and was looking for a better way to cut frets. I found the blade, hesitated when I saw the price, then pulled the trigger. It's worth every penny. Build yourself a little table saw sled and start fretting.

EJ  NW Ohio
5 3-06-2013
worth it.

good quality, clean cuts. Time is money. Unless you enjoy the process of manually slotting frets pick up one of these and a Fret Scale Template. It's so easy it's almost magic.

handerson  rochester,mn
5 1-29-2013
fret saw blade

Great tool. Can slot a fret board in about 5 minutes. Very accurate.

jwd  calgary
5 1-16-2013
Great product

Good tool, good service. Thank you, TW Felty

TW  Grand Rapids MI 49525 Read my reviews (3)
5 11-03-2012
Excellent time saver!!!

I love this blade and have cut a lot of fret boards with it. The only down sides to this would be the cost and no additional kerf sizes available. If you use this blade with stew mac wire you tend to end up with too much fret board compression which makes it necessary to use a double action truss rod to dial in the neck properly for fret leveling or you have to use a fret barber to shave the fret barbs.
These are not complaints, just observations. :)

Paul Stratton  Westerville OH
Customer supplied image for review
4 10-10-2012
A little expensive.....

A bit pricy for a saw blade but the quality is good. It would get 5 stars if it was carbide tipped or lower in price.

Spencer Acoustics  Dallas, TX Read my reviews (6)
4 9-28-2012
wish it lasted longer

In a production setting, the stewmac fret slotting blade does not last as long as I would like it to...typically 200-300 fretboards. Extremely hard woods like bloodwood and ipe dull the blade within about a dozen fretboards. It works great when it is sharp, there are few other items like it available anywhere. I have about 8 or 9 dull blades collected over the last few years. I would be interested in a same-size carbide blade made for slotting.

Mudbug765  Hartford City, IN Read my reviews (13)
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 9 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce