Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Fretting supplies : Saws and slots : Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade

Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade


Read 33 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Fast and accurate! Now you can cut fret slots on your table saw or radial arm saw.

See details below

Email a friend
Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1557 Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade Yes
$91.75


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Japanese Fret Saw



Dual Fret Scale Templates



Fret Scale Rule



StewMac Wide Fretwire



Fret Slotting Miter Box



Japanese Fret Saw
Dual Fret Scale Templates
Fret Scale Rule
StewMac Wide Fretwire
Fret Slotting Miter Box



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
Labor saver!
Slot fingerboards quickly, cleanly and precisely, for any scale length, right on your own table saw. Ideal for production work, this is the same model 100-tooth high-topped steel blade we use here at our factory.

The outer edge of the .060" blade is specially hollow-ground to cut .023"-wide slots for our fretwire. This custom shape cuts more smoothly, and eliminates the need for an additional blade stiffener. 5/8"-diameter arbor required.

Blade dimensions
Diameter6"(152.40mm)
Thickness.060"(1.52mm)
Width of cut.023"(0.58mm) on the outer 1/4" (6.35mm) edge

Slot your own fingerboards quickly and precisely with our Fret Scale Templates and this saw blade.


Need help calculating your fret locations?
Our online fret scale calculator can calculate any scale length you want to use. It will also give you accurate measurements for locating the bridge on your instrument.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade
Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 33 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4 >
5 8-10-2011
Ukulele fretboards

Bought your fret slot blade but had to go elsewhere for ukulele templates. Just cut five soprano fretboards in about fifteen minutes. It used to take ten hours to do the same with less accuracy. blade perfect, you need to recognize the need for ukulele builders with templates for all four sizes.

Griffin ukulele  Bellingham wa Read my reviews (4)
5 7-14-2011
Increased creativity

This blade has allowed the use of many more woods beyond Ebony and Rosewood for my fretboards. Bubinga, Bocote and beyond, the worlds forests are the only limit and the results are perfect.

Dan T.  Escondido, CA
5 6-23-2011
Well made and easy to use.

The first time I used this I did 6 ebony boards in less than thirty minutes. It's obviously a real time saver and therefore worth the investment. The only thing I can't speak to is it's longevity although I believe a skilled resharpener could sharpen these once they become dull.

I'm paitiently waiting for Stew Mac to add baritone and 30" bass scale templates to their matching stainless steel templates.

Bill Northwestguitar  Cottonwood, AK Read my reviews (2)
5 6-08-2011
excellent

why did i wait so long to buy this? One of the best tools I have. worth every penny and more!

gdaefiddle  washington state
Customer supplied image for review
5 5-22-2011
Saw Blade is a Godsend

I bought this saw blade with some mad money I had laying around. It is absolutely the best purchase I have made in decades. After designing and constructing a cross cut sled for my fret-boards, I was ready to try it out. The cuts are always square, the same depth and a spot on width for SM fret wire.
I build a half sized version of a dulcimer, so I can't use the templates...:-( But I'm working on some of my own design. Once I get the measuring down to a fine art, I'm good.

I highly recommend this product.

Dave

Forrest742  Shawne, KS
4 4-06-2011
Very good!!!!!

very good and very accurate work was perfect

Igor Petinatti  Americana ,São Paulo Brazil
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-04-2011
Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade

Thank you.

Very good tool. Thank you.  Palatine,IL USA Read my reviews (2)
5 12-23-2010
Best Fret slotting saw blade I've used

I have three table saw blades all from different manufacturers. Of all three, by far this one is the best. I not only use it for fretting, but I use it to cut purfling as well as it leaves a nice clean cut.

RiveraInstruments  Walkersville, MD Read my reviews (4)
5 11-21-2010
Terrific blade . . .

We use this blade in our shop to slot fretboards for all our custom guitars and basses. It is installed on our vintage 1967 Craftsman 9" radial arm saw. This is a fantastic investment as no extra "stiffeners" are needed as with the competitions blade. We've slotted many boards and it still cuts perfect slots. We recommend this blade for all serious builders and repair persons.

Vegas GuitarsCustomShop  Las Vegas, NV
5 10-28-2010
I couldn't survive without this!!

I build a bunch and I sell kits. I make a lot of fingerboards and necks and with the fretting blade I can knock out 30-40 fingerboards in a day. Then I am set and no cramps from hand cutting!!

Back Porch Mojo  Southern Illinois Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 9 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce