Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Fretting supplies : Saws and slots : Fret Slotting Miter Box

Fret Slotting Miter Box


Read 42 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Improved and smoother than ever! Big improvements in smoothness and efficiency make this exclusive StewMac tool the ideal fret slotting solution for small shops.

See details below

Email a friend
Fret Slotting Miter Box
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
2230 Miter Box only Yes
$165.25

2231 Miter Box and #5744 Fret Saw SAVE $10.40 Yes
$183.21

2232 Miter Box and #5755 Japanese Fret Saw SAVE $11.00 Yes
$195.64


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw



Japanese Fret Saw



Dual Fret Scale Templates



Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade



Fret Work Step-By-Step



Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw
Japanese Fret Saw
Dual Fret Scale Templates
Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade
Fret Work Step-By-Step



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
Our R&D luthiers have added ball-bearing guides that make sawing impressively easier and a lot faster. No more binding or jamming: cutting fret slots is a pleasure instead of a chore!

SAVE when you order the miter box with our Fret Slotting Saw or Japanese Fret Saw.

"You won't believe how smoothly our improved fret slotting system works!"
—Don MacRostie, StewMac R&D

The ball-bearing guides hold your fret saw perpendicular to the fingerboard, and can be adjusted to match the blade precisely. You can quickly slot any board up to 3" (76.2mm) wide, with adjustable depth of cut for any fretwire. You always have an unobstructed view of your work, too—a feature you'll appreciate. Made of rugged aluminum and 12" (304.8mm) long, our miter box has convenient mounting holes for firm attachment to your workbench.

Note: Since the Miter Box only accommodates fingerboards up to 1/2" thick, it will not work for traditional Fender style one-piece necks, or one-piece cigar box guitar necks.


Saw precise fret scales without measuring. A special indexing pin in the side of the miter box is for use with our Dual Fret Scale Templates. They enable fast, easy and accurate fret slotting for common scales. No guesswork, no tedious measuring—a tremendous time-saver!


/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fret Slotting Miter Box
Fret Slotting Miter Box
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 42 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  5 >
5 5-21-2013
Mitre caja única

Exelente artículo, de mucho valor.

zudaka  Argentina Read my reviews (17)
5 5-17-2013
What An Improvement!

Stew Mac hit a home run with this well designed tool. The roller bearing and easy adjustability make this tool a joy to use.

M.J. Franks Guitars

MJ Franks  Rochester Hills, MI Read my reviews (8)
5 4-28-2013
Should have gotten years ago

This tool does fret slots exactly. Very very easy to use. Expect perfect results because that's what you will get. Expensive but worth every penny. Get the Japanese saw.

John L  Kalamazoo, MI Read my reviews (15)
5 4-23-2013
WOW!!!

"Hummed and hahhed" as to getting one of these and decided to "bite the bullet" and order it with the Japanese saw and a couple of fret scale templates.(got the new Tenor/ Baritone Uke & Banjo/Mandolin ones) I'm gobsmacked by the quality of it all. No regrets. Thank you,Stew Mac,for a wonderful addition to my workshop. AA++ Fast service too.

Barebones Folk Instruments  Auckland, New Zealand
5 4-17-2013
Fret Slotting Miter Box

This is a fine tool. This has ball bearing guides for the saw and is thus an improvement over the old one. The depth setting for this miter box is much improved using knurled screws to raise and lower the guides. That feature is very nice. Stew Mac sells two saws that work with it and with minor work a number of others would likely work just fine. Stew Mac fingerboards are fine and reasonably priced but I enjoy this as I can make fingerboards out of any wood I like. Also to any scale as one could draw out a scale on a fingerboard and cut on the lines without using a template; that is something that would be hard to do on a table saw rig. One of our local luthiers has decided to make “sustainable guitars” and uses his jig to experiment with local woods. I have a Persimmon log that will become fingerboards for the same reason. I also have some Snake wood which is on the other end of the availability spectrum. Expect to do a little work to get this mounted on a bench ready holder. The first one that Stew Mac shipped had a minor problem with the machining and they immediately shipped a replacement which was fine. I rate it excellent especially if you want to experiment.

Tom Schmitt  Atlanta, Georgia
5 3-06-2013
save time and a lot of guest work

after fretting a few guitars the old way i got this with the fret saw and a template it was very ease to set up and use but the saw did not come with a guide so i made one it work very well i have also uesd a japanese saw with this too and and it works well to

higgins guitar's  down n ireland Read my reviews (2)
5 11-09-2012
miter box

This is a must have if you are a builder. Although a bit pricey, properly set up it works great and will save you time and effort.

POPPY DOUGLAS  LA. Read my reviews (6)
5 10-24-2012
Great piece of equipment

The jig with Japanese saw and fret template is well made, infinitely adjustable and easy to use. Recommended highly.
Delivery to U.K. was amazingly fast in under 48 hours.

Geoff Needham  England
5 9-30-2012
Fret Slotting Jig

Great service and great material, but these things are expensive in Italy. I am sorry for this. (Too high customs charges) This is' the price of globalization, a saw Japanese bought in USA and used in Italy!

carlo  Roma
Customer supplied image for review
5 9-18-2012
Only the Best!

I set this fret slotting jig up on my work bench (after fiddling around with the older version of this tool SM offered) and let me say I was blown away with how quick, accurate and efficient this tool is! In ten minutes, I was done with perfect fret slots cut into the maple fretboard! Do buy the Dual FB Scale template and Japanese Saw that goes with it. 10 Stars!

Archtop  USA Read my reviews (9)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 11 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce