Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Fretting supplies : Pullers, nippers, sizing : Fret Tang Nipper

Fret Tang Nipper


Read 60 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Undercuts fretwire so the fret ends fit over neck binding.

See details below

Email a friend
Fret Tang Nipper
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1626 For medium fretwire Yes
$51.76

1649 For wide fretwire Yes
$51.76


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

StewMac Wide Fretwire



Double-edge Fret File



Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files



Fretting Hammer



Fret Cutter



StewMac Wide Fretwire
Double-edge Fret File
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
Fretting Hammer
Fret Cutter



Details
 Pictures
Undercuts fretwire cleanly.
There's gotta be an easier way to trim the ends of the frets to fit over the neck bindings, right? Our friend Bill Collings (of Collings Guitars) had an idea that inspired us to produce this simple and precise tool. It's become a repair shop favorite. It does an outstanding job of undercutting fretwire to fit over neck bindings, speeding up fret jobs on bound necks, and helps save the lacquer finish at the edges of the fingerboard. Just insert the wire to the desired depth in the guide notch, squeeze the handle, and the wire is quickly and cleanly undercut. No bending or crimping!

The Fret Tang Nipper is useful for unbound fingerboards too. Try nipping the fret tang to length before installing the fret. Now you'll only need to cut and file the overhanging crown, and the fret will be less likely to twist and unseat.

#1626 is for medium-width fretwire, .075" to .095" (1.90mm to 2.41mm)

#1649 is for wide fretwire, .100" to .120" (2.54mm to 3.05mm)

The Fret Tang Nipper is 6" long (152.40mm), including 4" (101.60mm) rubber-sleeved handles.

Not recommended for stainless steel frets.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fret Tang Nipper
Fret Tang Nipper
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 60 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6 >
4 6-01-2011
Fret Tang Nipper

Very nice piece of equipment; minor filing and you are ready to go....4 1/2 stars!

KC  Henderson, NV Read my reviews (3)
5 5-11-2011
Fret tang nipper cuts the work down to size!

This is a great tool. I used it to re-fret an unbound neck, and I was able to use this tool to cut the tangs and fit the frets so they did not extend past the fretboard. Also, using this tool made it easier to cut the individual frets from the fret wire. It's well worth the price!

Bruce Lyons  Wichita Falls, TX Read my reviews (11)
4 5-07-2011
Tang Nipper

Works great, could be cheaper though in my opinion.

Jerhico Guitars  Altona, NY Read my reviews (51)
4 4-19-2011
wonderful tool

The reason I'm only giving this 4 stars is, that it's not absolutely foolproof. But with a bit of practice and care you can really cut off the tang nice and smooth with this. But it is easy to not hold the fret perfectly and then the cut will also not be perfect. But you'll figure that out in no time.

MoorMusic  Switzerland Read my reviews (44)
2 4-09-2011
Blunt nipper

I was dissappointed today when I went to do a re fret job on a bound fretboard (Can't be more than the 6th re fret that i've done with this tool)today and found my fret tang nipper had gone completely blunt. To the point where the cutting part has squashed down and bent into a curve. I tried to sharpen it but, after half a re fret job, i found that the same thing happened again. I think that this would be a better tool if the cutting part was made of stronger stuff. To be fair, the tool has already payed for itself but it would be so easy to make it better.

Andy Keeling  Dublin, Ireland Read my reviews (3)
StewMac responds

Andy,
We apologize for the issues you're having with our nippers. We're sending a replacement set out immediately.

5 3-30-2011
Great tool

It does exactly what it says on the tin a great idea saves a lot of messing would recommend it.

Michael Mulville  Dublin Ireland
5 2-10-2011
Great tool!

Works exactly like promised. All you have to do is check carefully where it cuts. A little filing is needed under the fret after the cutting but that's not a problem.

J Larres  Finland Read my reviews (2)
5 2-09-2011
The perfect tool!

When it comes to fret jobs this is one of the most used tools in my shop. Fretting a bound fretboard never looked so clean!

Randy, Head Guitar Tech CrossTouched Pawn  Shelbyville, TN Read my reviews (6)
5 2-02-2011
Pure HEAVEN!

I recently started binding my fingerboards and this tool shaved hours off fretting. I use it in conjunction with the fret bender and can lay 22 frets in about 30 minutes. Awesome tool!!

B. Jesson  Chandler, AZ, USA Read my reviews (4)
4 1-24-2011
Indispensable tool!

I can't imagine ding this by hand! I do wish, however, that the cutter was available as a replacement part. Makes sense to make a hardened steel version for stainless frets as well; never mind how much as I hate doing them, I'm getting more and more requests for them.

BlackMesaGuitars  Florida
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 7 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce