Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Fretting supplies : Pullers, nippers, sizing : Fret Tang Nipper

Fret Tang Nipper


Read 60 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Undercuts fretwire so the fret ends fit over neck binding.

See details below

Email a friend
Fret Tang Nipper
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1626 For medium fretwire Yes
$51.76

1649 For wide fretwire Yes
$51.76


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

StewMac Wide Fretwire



Double-edge Fret File



Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files



Fretting Hammer



Fret Cutter



StewMac Wide Fretwire
Double-edge Fret File
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
Fretting Hammer
Fret Cutter



Details
 Pictures
Undercuts fretwire cleanly.
There's gotta be an easier way to trim the ends of the frets to fit over the neck bindings, right? Our friend Bill Collings (of Collings Guitars) had an idea that inspired us to produce this simple and precise tool. It's become a repair shop favorite. It does an outstanding job of undercutting fretwire to fit over neck bindings, speeding up fret jobs on bound necks, and helps save the lacquer finish at the edges of the fingerboard. Just insert the wire to the desired depth in the guide notch, squeeze the handle, and the wire is quickly and cleanly undercut. No bending or crimping!

The Fret Tang Nipper is useful for unbound fingerboards too. Try nipping the fret tang to length before installing the fret. Now you'll only need to cut and file the overhanging crown, and the fret will be less likely to twist and unseat.

#1626 is for medium-width fretwire, .075" to .095" (1.90mm to 2.41mm)

#1649 is for wide fretwire, .100" to .120" (2.54mm to 3.05mm)

The Fret Tang Nipper is 6" long (152.40mm), including 4" (101.60mm) rubber-sleeved handles.

Not recommended for stainless steel frets.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fret Tang Nipper
Fret Tang Nipper
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 60 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  6 >
5 4-12-2013
Fret tang nipper

This is a real time saver. Very easy to use . Cool tool.

MJF  Australia Read my reviews (3)
5 1-25-2013
Essential Tool

If your fret work requires cutting back the tang then this tool is a must have. We've tried other brands and methods but for us nothing beats this tool.

Amos & Sons Guitars  Long Island, NY Read my reviews (2)
5 1-02-2013
Fret tang nipper, YEAH!

I LOVE this tool. As an artisan's prerogative, every fretboard I make is bound and purfled--I just like that look, and so do my clients. I've been using the fret tang nipper tool for over a decade, and can't imagine life without it. I can under-cut the tang to the precise width for each fret slot, and 99% of the time, no further filing or dressing is needed. Over the years, I can't imagine how much time this tool has saved me. It's so quick, precise and easy.

edwinson  Birmingham AL
5 12-05-2012
Great tool

Excellent tool, you got à nice fretboards, cut clean and fast fretwire...

Jorge Cervantes  Chihuahua Mexico
4 10-08-2012
Time saver

Nice and sturdy tool, shame it cant do all sizes of wire but if you do alot of re-frets, then this will save you so much time, clean cutting and simple to use.

Rob Hodgson, Wallash guitars  Derbyshire, England Read my reviews (3)
5 9-13-2012
Great tool!

Yes, you can buy similar tools on the Internet, but by the time it ships (more expensive and longer) and the gambling on whether you will be able to slot it properly for the fret, it makes more sense to simply order it from StewMac. The tool will not disappoint you and makes a nice, clean cut. All this coming from a guy who enjoys more to build jigs and tools than instruments. If you need it, don't think twice - simply buy it.

Midnight Lord  Ottawa Read my reviews (18)
4 9-02-2012
Nice tool. Very useful

Used this on some narrow and medium fretwire for an F-5 mandolin. It worked great even on the narrow wire( you have to be very careful and take your time to keep from bending it). I purchased the nipper for medium but it works for my wire sizes. A good tool, would like the price to be more reasonable.

markgrant  tennessee Read my reviews (17)
5 8-19-2012
Expensive...but impressive

Was reluctant to buy due to expense but works like a dream, made my first bound fret job so easy and so quick. once you get the hang of it the cut is very clean

Ian Verner  Sydney, Australia Read my reviews (20)
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-07-2012
Easier than using a file

Yes you can use a file to take off the tang under a fret end. However this tool makes it much easier. Essential for bound fret-boards but also allows fret ends to be filled with stick shellac on unbound fret-boards to give a seamless finish.

James Murphy  Plymouth England Read my reviews (12)
Customer supplied image for review
5 7-26-2012
Gotta have it for bound fingerboards

These nippers cut clean but some clean up filing still needs to be manually done. This is normal. A must have for bound fingerboards. Note- these do not work on thin (0.50"ish), mandolin or uke fret wire as it just bends it

Beau Hannam Guitars  Read my reviews (31)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  6 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 7 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce