Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Fretting supplies : Pullers, nippers, sizing : Fret Cutter

Fret Cutter


Read 86 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Spend less time filing fret ends!
This is the best tool for trimming the ends off fretwire.

See details below

Email a friend
Fret Cutter

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0619 Fret Cutter Yes
$28.98


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

StewMac Wide Fretwire



Fret Puller



Fret Beveling File



Fret End Dressing File



3-Corner Fret Dressing Files



StewMac Wide Fretwire
Fret Puller
Fret Beveling File
Fret End Dressing File
3-Corner Fret Dressing Files



Details
 Pictures
 Video
A Stewart-MacDonald exclusive, our custom-made steel cutter has improved features you won't find on hardware store nippers.

The jaws are specially hardened for fret work, and they're profiled and flush-ground to cut the wire close to the fretboard. The result is a cleaner cut without pulling the wire, so you'll need to do less filing. Longer rubber-coated handles allow better access to the frets over a guitar body.

1" (25.4mm) jaw width, 8" (203.20mm) length.

Not recommended for use with stainless-steel fretwire.

Essential for fretting
The Fret Cutter is one of seven tools included in our Essential Fretting Tool Kit, a compilation of tools you'll need for the fundamentals of fret work. Kit also includes our book, Fretwork Step By Step by Erick Coleman with Dan Erlewine.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fret Cutter
Fret Cutter
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 86 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 51 – 60 < 1  ...  5  6  7  ...  9 >
1 12-21-2011
Fret-Cutters

NOT GOOD! I don't understand why Stewart-MacDonald does not make these fret cutters out of a better case harden steel. It would be a good tool if they did. But they don't! so they are crap! don't buy this tool. they should be made to cut more than just soft fret wire.

John Warren  Torrance, Ca USA Read my reviews (2)
5 12-17-2011
Essential Tool!

Great, great quality from StewMac!

Wilmer Gingerich  Jamesport MO Read my reviews (76)
5 11-23-2011
Perfect for what I need nice Tool

Perfect for what I need nice Tool

Johan  Cuauhtemoc Read my reviews (3)
5 11-18-2011
Fret Cutter

these fret cutters are great

p gaudreau  canada Read my reviews (43)
5 11-06-2011
The Best!

I very much liked to use this tool!Very sharp! But don't forget that it is created for frets, not for nails! Use the Fret Cutter carefully and it will serve long time.

Armen Movsesian  Moscow, Russia Read my reviews (17)
3 10-26-2011
Fret Cutter

Fine tool - would like if made of high-carbon black steel so it would cut thru stainless steel frets without damaging the jaws!

ddanze  arlington va Read my reviews (5)
5 10-06-2011
Buy these.

I don't normally do these reviews but I have to say these fret cutters are great. I do a ton of fret work and these cutters make the job so much more pleasant. Thanks Stewmac.

Jason C  Norman, OK
5 10-04-2011
Fret Cutter

Works perfectly

Pat Green  UK Read my reviews (20)
5 9-09-2011
What A Cutter

Had been using a set of "nippers" I purchased at a hardware store. What a difference! The cutter I purchased from StewMac is cleaner & faster

Rex  Huntsville, AL. Read my reviews (2)
5 8-31-2011
Essential

Of all the tools on this entire website this is the one I wouldn't buy anywhere else. And that's after trying all the alternatives. A touch of downward pressure with the thumb of your free hand has you snip and - bingo - fret ends nipped off better than anything else. Top marks.

Ceri  UK
Displaying 51 – 60 < 1  ...  5  6  7  ...  9 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 7 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce