Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Fretting supplies : Pullers, nippers, sizing : Fret Cutter

Fret Cutter


Read 86 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Spend less time filing fret ends!
This is the best tool for trimming the ends off fretwire.

See details below

Email a friend
Fret Cutter

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0619 Fret Cutter Yes
$28.98


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

StewMac Wide Fretwire



Fret Puller



Fret Beveling File



Fret End Dressing File



3-Corner Fret Dressing Files



StewMac Wide Fretwire
Fret Puller
Fret Beveling File
Fret End Dressing File
3-Corner Fret Dressing Files



Details
 Pictures
 Video
A Stewart-MacDonald exclusive, our custom-made steel cutter has improved features you won't find on hardware store nippers.

The jaws are specially hardened for fret work, and they're profiled and flush-ground to cut the wire close to the fretboard. The result is a cleaner cut without pulling the wire, so you'll need to do less filing. Longer rubber-coated handles allow better access to the frets over a guitar body.

1" (25.4mm) jaw width, 8" (203.20mm) length.

Not recommended for use with stainless-steel fretwire.

Essential for fretting
The Fret Cutter is one of seven tools included in our Essential Fretting Tool Kit, a compilation of tools you'll need for the fundamentals of fret work. Kit also includes our book, Fretwork Step By Step by Erick Coleman with Dan Erlewine.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fret Cutter
Fret Cutter
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 86 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6  ...  9 >
5 5-18-2012
Best Tool.

Best Tool.I love it.

okokguitar  Songkhla Thailand Read my reviews (4)
5 5-17-2012
perfect¡¡¡

perfect for frets jobs, high quality tool , top notch product, thank you stewmac¡

lizard  chile , ancud chiloe Read my reviews (4)
5 5-15-2012
gostei

ok .. gostei

OTANIEL  CASCAVEL, PR, BRASIL Read my reviews (25)
5 5-10-2012
Like Buttah

I love these snips. I dove into my first fret job on a guinnea pig neck and bought all the necessities from StewMac. These cutters snip fret wire like they were "buttah". The leverage you get from the length of the handles makes the perfect mechanical advantage for the job. When you use the right tools you always win.

axe fixr  Richardson (Dallas) Texas Read my reviews (10)
5 4-09-2012
Fret Cutter

This is an excellent value tool. I have made hundreds of cuts and it still cuts cleanly and easily. I only cut "standard" wire though - nothing too hard.

Alan Pink  Australia
4 3-06-2012
fret cutter

Nice cut! but unfortunately, not made for hard fret fire. do the trick for soft wire and many "wire-like" cuting such as strings and electronic wire

Steeve Rock  Lévis, Québec, Canada Read my reviews (9)
5 2-24-2012
A Must have

If you are gonna work in any way with frets...you are gonna need the fret cutter. Don't bother trying to grind your own, just pony up and save yourself the time.

Ayers Guitar Co.  Phoenix, AZ Read my reviews (14)
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-16-2012
Fret Cutters

A little arthritis made cutting frets with small hardware store nippers difficult and painful. The Stewart-MacDonald nippers made it easy and clean, and made the rest of the job simple.

Dave of Pataskala  Pataskala, OH Read my reviews (2)
5 2-11-2012
Essential

To cut fret wire couldn't be easier, the right tool for the right job.

Ramer  São Paulo, Brazil Read my reviews (3)
5 2-11-2012
super handy.

so nice to work with this in bending frets and Cut!

TRy it, but be sure! use this only for his JOB!

jiROck Custom  Philippines Read my reviews (58)
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6  ...  9 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 7 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce